We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cream Tea with stunning views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Polpeor Cafe

Polpeor Cafe
Lizard Peninsular, Lizard, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Lizard
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: At the end of the Lizard Peninsular
Banchory, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Cream Tea with stunning views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

A superb place for afternoon cream teas, very prompt service & superb cream teas. Fantastic views. Reasonably priced as well. Only loses a point for no toilet facilities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    31
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Traditional Pot of Tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Whenever I visit my Son and Daughter in law and Grandsons in Mullion Cornwall, a visit to the Polpeor Cafe has to be a must. There is much written about the the wonderful food,staff and views at this delightful venue but I must applaud them for their Pot of Tea which is presented so well and includes an additional pot of hot water ( a rarity these days) and tastes first class.
I am sure that by now you must realise that I like my tea:( Correct )and I must say I have been fortunate enough to drink some excellent and some awful tea all over the UK and much further a field.
So once again Well Done Peter and Team as my idea of heaven is a nice cup of tea.

Tony and Judith THOMAS
Swansea.
ABERTAWEMAN .

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good breakfast - no toilets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stopped here for breakfast one morning whilst on holiday because we had seen some good reviews for the place. The breakfast here was OK, and plenty of it - but be aware that if you need to visit the loo (and especially if you have difficulty walking), there is a walk up a hill involved and some steep steps, just to reach the public toilets in a shack some distance away from the cafe. I was under the impression that customer toilets should be provided in cafe's and restaurants. This cafe could really do with getting this sorted!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Fish and chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The best fish I have tasted in my life. Superb views, food absolutely fabulous.Very friendly and great service. Prices reasonable considering the location. Keep going back there every year.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

This place is sat overlooking Plpeor cove so you haveamazing views. We had acream tea which was one ofthe best I have had in Cornwall. Arrived quickly and the service was friendly. Menu looked good and reasonably priced although £1.80 for a glass of milk for my son was a bit steep. Overall highly recommended. On a separate note, beware of the private company which patrol the car park. They will pounce as soon as your ticket expires with a £100 fine and the guy is very rude. Wouldnt mind so much if the fine went to the lifeboats but it doesnt. Park in the national Trust car park if you can and walk over, its worth it.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polpeor Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Polpeor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polpeor Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.