We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SIMPLY STUNNING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sue's Cream Teas

Sue's Cream Teas
Eglos Farm | Ruan Minor, Lizard, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 10 Restaurants in Lizard
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: 50.004872,-5.206034 on Google Maps
Restaurant details
Description: 50.004872,-5.206034 on Google Maps
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SIMPLY STUNNING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I have been visiting The Lizard for 5 years and every year we have seen the sign for Sue' s Cream Teas and always promised ourselves one but never got around to it. We did this year though and WOW!! Beautiful home made scones, lashings of delicious jam and cream and the most delicious pot of tea (drunk from a proper china tea cup and saucer). Sue is the best part of it all though - a wonderfully friendly, funny and lovely Cornish lady that's been running the business for 14 years. She is a joy to spend time with. Sue's Cream Teas is a real jewel in The Lizard's crown.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    0
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Scones are more like lead balloons! Quantity over quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

After reading the reviews on trip advisor, I was expecting great things from sues cream tea's but unfortunately the scones didn't match our expectations.

In fairness the price was very reasonable, the host was friendly, and the portions were generous. However the scones were very heavy and didn't taste like they were made that day. Disappointed the jam wasn't homemade or of higher quality (like jelly and quite tasteless) but a very nice pot of tea. Would happily pay more better quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another very satisfied customer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Nothing to add to the wonderful reviews except more praise! Freshly made scones, lashings of jam and cream and a stunning selection of teas, I'm in cream tea heaven! Stupendous value too!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum - Yum and Scrum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you want a fantastic cream tea, with gert great Scones and masses of strawberry jam and clotted cream,then this is the place to go. Open from 1pm - 6pm everyday except Saturday. Your hostess Sue is as Cornish as you can be, always full of chat and laughter,very welcoming and happy. Don't forget, jam first and then the cream, the Cornish way.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“I visit every year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I come here every year with my family. It desnt get any better. Beautiful home made locally sourced food that really tickles your tastebuds.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sue's Cream Teas also viewed

 

Been to Sue's Cream Teas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sue's Cream Teas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.