We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good cider - shame it's not local” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Cider Barn

The Old Cider Barn
The Lizard | Hervan lane, Lizard TR12 7AU, England
+44 1326 241309
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 6 things to do in Lizard
Attraction details
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Very good cider - shame it's not local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We went there on a wet day when we decided to do all the stuff very local to Cadgwith. You couldn't ask for a more friendly reception and the range of cider and wine on sale is exhaustive (perhaps even exhausting aftvtasting them all!) There is a asonable range of local crafts on sale too, and some of the wood carving is exquisite. The only downside is that all the cider comes from Somerset so only the crafts and beer are local. While I understand the reasons for the cidre coming from two counties away it does slightly detract form the localness of the attraction. Nevertheless, worth a visit, if only saving you a detour to Lyme Bay on the way home!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbc, Owner at The Old Cider Barn, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
NOW, I Have just found my first cider maker here in Cornwall that will supply me with LARGE containers ready to sell of Cornish Cider, alongside all my other local makers that are bottling there delicious sparkling varieties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cider Tasting Farm with no cider to taste”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

What a disappointment. There were 2 thimbles offered to us (between us) of their cider to taste. Which incidentally is from Devon not Cornwall. When we decided to purchase the one we preferred they had none in stock! Obviously needed a trip to Waitrose! Lovely bottles of wine on offer but yet again, none available to taste. Looked like the young man at the till wasnt allowed to open a bottle. Made me chuckle when he allowed my two daughters to taste the lemon curd with a coffee stirrer. He looked petrified at the idea of how much they might take explaining it was very rich and you wouldnt need much! How can you possibly put too much on a plastic stirrer? Wouldnt waste my fuel driving there again. We had tried to visit a couple of years ago but it was closed. Sorry we made the effort to try again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbc, Owner at The Old Cider Barn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review, however we always have cider to taste so your title is very misleading. We provide free tasting for several ciders and meads and normally a wine or two. If you needed more than the given amount to taste the cider we would have been more than happy to give it to you. We stock over 15 different wines, so tasters can´t be given for each one unfortunately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Recently changed hands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The new Manager of The Cider Barn was very friendly and informative. Offering us good service and smiles. The Cider Barn itself is also a Craft shop, which time will tell is a good move or not...

We thought the Barn was nicely laid out with plenty of different Ciders (and Wines). We had the option to sit outside and sip our newly purchased drink which we did and thought that the `garden' area could do with some tidying up and certainly, if this was made more attractive, with more seating and good quality tables and chairs would attract more visitors. (The place was pretty quiet when we visited on two occasions). It's in a great location to attract passers-by and bearing in mind we visited out of season, it may well fill up mid summer..

A nice place to pop in and purchase a drink on your way back to your Hotel/campsite etc and to pick up some very reasonably priced local(ish) produced ciders and wines.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“funny”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

they didn"t know their product, but was amusing watching the two lady workers arguing over which was dry or sweet cider

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michbc, Owner at The Old Cider Barn, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, last year was our first year of business and staff training has been a priority especially with so many new products. We hope you found something to you taste eventually. :-)

The Old Cider Barn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cider, Art & Cakes............can it get any better???”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Make a regular visit to The Lizard Cider Barn whilst down in Cornwall during the Easter break and was pleasantly suprised to find it had got even better.
Apart from thw wide range of homemade ciders and wines, there are now chutneys and jams froma local producer plus a great variety of local art - some which are very reasonably priced. And as if it couldn't get any better the Cider Barn now incorporates a tea room / cafe with homemade cakes & all the usual fare.

The staff were very friendly & helpful. If you want to sample any wines before purchase then you only have to ask.
Great place & well worth a stop in whilst down in Cornwall

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Cider Barn also viewed

 

Been to The Old Cider Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Cider Barn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.