We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lighthouse tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lizard Lighthouse Heritage Center

Lizard Lighthouse Heritage Center
Cornwall TR12 7NT, Lizard TR12 7NT, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 6 things to do in Lizard
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With the help of a generous grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund, Trinity House renovated the Engine Room at Lizard Lighthouse, retaining some of the old engines. It now also features new exhibition material, an audio visual room and a number of interactive displays. The Lizard Lighthouse Heritage Centre was officially opened in 2009 by HRH The Princess Royal. The distinctive twin towers of Lizard Lighthouse mark the most southerly point of mainland Britain. See displays depicting Trinity House's history, housed in the original engine room. It was commissioned in 1752. For over 250 years, the lighthouse has provided a welcoming landfall light to vessels crossing the Atlantic Ocean. Tours of Lizard Lighthouse are organised under licence from the Corporation of Trinity House.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lighthouse tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Cheerful staff who are trying hard to make you feel welcome. Of more interest to adults but we went during half term and they had set up a game for the children with a prize if the answer was correct. There is also a play pit where children can build a lighthouse. The visit up the lighthouse is not for the claustrophobic and the last stairs are very steep. Fascinating though and we had a friendly, informative guide. It can be very windy so be prepared! Does make you realise what a task the old light keepers had when they had to clean the glass from the outside - not for the faint hearted.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    36
    5
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Chat to the Lighthouse Attendant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The main heritage center is small but cheap. You'll have to work hard to keep the children's interest for more that a few minutes. Open the display drawers to see all the goodies crammed inside.

Pay more and you get to climb the lighthouse. It's more interesting - but it's the talk from the Lighthouse Attendant that what makes it worthwhile (we had Don).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Kids (and us!) enjoyed the visit to the lighthouse. The tour of the actual lighthouse was very interesting, specially the history of it, our children were so surprised that the lighthouse was built nonetheless by a pirate!
Worth the visit!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I Was In My Element”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Being an ex seaman I have always had a fascination for lighthouses so a visit to one is always on the cards when the opportunity presents. John the tour guide is very knowledgeable about the Lizard light house with it's history and future and Trinity House in general but all things maritime as well. He will take photographs on your own camera to record the visit. It turned out that John and myself are two ex radio officers which made the visit all the more interesting and the hour spent up the tower and in the grounds was all too short before he had to take the next visitors up the tower. An added bonus afterwards in the shop was Jeremy the seagull banging at the window demanding to be given his lunch. We were told that this is a daily occurence. A most worthwhile visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, England
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent, well worth it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went to the Lighthouse as we have always been interested in these amazing buildings. As you enter the staff are welcoming and very friendly, we decided to take the tour (if you are National Trust Members you get 10% off) and we joined a family with two young children. Our tour guide (thank you very much John) was very welcoming and informative and gave all of us the time needed (our group was made up of adults, 2 young children and us two who are not that fit). We learnt lots about the operation of the lighthouse and how things were run in the past plus very uptown date info. Once at the top (it is fairly easy to climb as not that high) John took a photo for each group and ensured he answered all questions and again outside he offered to take photos of each group. Very well worth the visit and I would recommend this to all.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lizard Lighthouse Heritage Center also viewed

 

Been to Lizard Lighthouse Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lizard Lighthouse Heritage Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.