We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely wish it had been warmer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lizard and Kynance Cove

The Lizard and Kynance Cove
Lizard, England
01326 561407
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in Lizard
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Attraction details
North Tawton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“lovely wish it had been warmer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The weather wasnt great the day we visited but the rain held off when we got out of the car to venture down the hill to the cove, but the windy weather didnt stop the people on the beach having fun, loads of people in the water surfing and beach was fairly busy but this didnt spoil anything, I can imagine in calm waters and sunshine it would be even more stunning.
Theres no fee to visit but a charge in the car park which is free to N.T members

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    81
    10
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tideswell
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Simply Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Don't be put off by comments re the walk to the cove, there are two paths from the National Trust car park, one steeper than the other, the longer one has car access to the beach cafe. The beach is fab, we were lucky with the weather. The baguettes from the beach cafe were enormous and could easily have been shared!! Its a magical place.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

A hidden gem, beautiful views well worth a visit.
We didn't walk all the way down as I had just broke my arm and the steps and rocks would not have been a good idea. But we still managed to wander around the top of the cliffs and take in the beautiful views. A must see for all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful, so peaceful,come back every year.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

On our annual stay at St. Ives we always set a day aside to visit the Lizard, parking at the National Trust car park. A short stroll to the furthest point on the Lizard, taking the breathtaking views.
We normally spend 2-3 hours here, watching the passing ships en route westwards for America, Ireland, and the west coast of Britain.
It is so peaceful here, and to use an often used quote 'there's nothing here but scenery'.
I usually spend a few minutes chatting to the N.T. attendant who passes interesting news of recent happenings round the Lizard.
Nearby is a unpretentious cafe, that serves excellent cream teas, along with other cakes.Sitting outside enjoying the cream tea, taking in the view must be experienced.
All in all the Lizard is well worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Kynance Cove -a pure delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

It may be a challenging walk to get to the cove but when you are there it is superb. Great beach and great waves

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lizard and Kynance Cove also viewed

 

Been to The Lizard and Kynance Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lizard and Kynance Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.