We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anti-vegetarian” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hellarcher Farm B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hellarcher Farm B&B
Save
You added Hellarcher Farm B&B to your Saves list
Lizard TR12 7NN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Lizard B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Anti-vegetarian”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

The owner of this B&B is anti vegetarian (and vegan, I suppose). She just didn't get it that I didn't want fish or eggs for breakfast, but equally I didn't want the Continental breakfast on offer either - I don't like fruit, cheese, cereal or yogurt for breakfast but that wasn't ok with the owner. She literally stormed out of the dining room, slamming the door, clearly cross with me for only wanting a vegetarian cooked breakfast and it was pretty obvious I was being talked about in the kitchen as the voices of her kitchen helpers suddenly lowered. A terrible host. The property wasn't particularly clean, either, but I could have put up with that if the owner hadn't been so rude. I left immediately after the aborted breakfast fiasco, packed and checked out without bothering to say goodbye, and didn't ask for a refund on the second night that I had paid for. I just wanted to leave. I went and had a superb cooked vegetarian breakfast at Roskilly's where I was made to feel very welcome, as usual.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    8
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
12
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I have a special affection for the Lizard peninsular, so visit there quite often. For some time, on each of my visits, I have stayed at Hellarcher Farm. From the very first Jenny has made me feel a welcome guest. There is always a warm greeting with a cup of tea and a scone on arrival and subsequently plenty of valuable advice should I need it.
Jenny is for ever helpful: a flat battery on my car was resolved when she summoned a contact to give me a tow. The alternative, involving a breakdown truck, would have been expensive!
I cannot speak too highly of the breakfasts; for such a meal in an upmarket restaurant/hotel one would pay a sum nearly equal to half the cost of one night's B&B at Hellarcher Farm.
When I leave there is always a snack for the long journey home.
I look forward to my next visit to The LIzard and Hellarcher Farm.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We were able to check in whenever was most convenient for us and tea and cakes were brought up to our room on arrival. We were made to feel very welcome. The breakfast was amazing and really set us up for the day. I would recommend Hellarcher farm to anyone looking for a homely, friendly stay with a personel touch. I happened to mention prior to arrival that it would be my partners birthday, only to be surprised with a lovely homemade birthday cake complete with candles. We felt that Jen our host really went above and beyond to make our stay special. Our dog was also made to feel very welcome!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

This place feels like home. Jenny is an excellent host, with a lovely pot of tea and homemade scones on arrival. Breakfast is amazing. I would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

After a warm welcome, we were given a large cafetiere of coffee and a tray of homemade scones and cakes and relaxed as we watched the sun set over the sea.
Breakfast was also quite a spread - and as we were walking the coast path, Jenny gave us each a small packed lunch.
The Lizard is a great spot and is much less commercialised than Land's End. If you have to make a choice, The Lizard wins hands down!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, Devon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

After a long days walk on the SW Coastpath we received a very warm welcome by Jenny , the owner. The tray of tea, home made scones and cake she brought to our room was so delicious. Breakfast is truly amazing with fruit salad, cheeses and a full Cornish breakfast. Jenny is very helpful and hospitable and as we left to continue our coast walk she gave us a little bag with sandwich and scone + banana for our coffee break.. A wonerful place to stay. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

On arrival from our walking on the coastal path, we were greeted with tea, home made scones and cake! This was so appreciated. Jenny was very helpful and had lots of tips on where to eat. We had a good night's sleep along with our dog, and we appreciated our leisurely soak in the bath.. Breakfast was absolutely first rate - cheeses, fruit salad, melon and home made jams. The cooked breakfast was very well made with two of everything, the poached eggs were just as I like them. Before setting off, Jenny then gave each of us a 'snack' for the day as we were walkers.. This turned out to be a cheese sandwitch, a scone and a banana! Brilliant value, I recommend Hellarcher Farm to people who appreciate real old-fashioned hospitality and good food

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hellarcher Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellarcher Farm B&B

Address: Lizard TR12 7NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hellarcher Farm B&B Lizard, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellarcher Farm B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.