We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't like it too much...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Penmenner House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penmenner House
Save
You added Penmenner House to your Saves list
Penmenner Road, Lizard TR12 7NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Lizard B&B and Inns
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Didn't like it too much...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Stayed there in 2009 for a few nights in the smallest room which is really small (I believe it was the Sunset room). Bed wasn't too comfortable and cleaniness in the bathroom was a little issue. The room is small and the furniture not very high quality.

Breakfast was ok apart from the fact that at the first morning there were cereals and fruit standing on a table for self service (as long as we waited for the cooked breakfast). When my girlfriend and another guest took some of the fruit the host lady came in and rudly told them that the fruits were only for the "healthy option". Also, we didn't like that the host only walked barefoot during the house (at least when we arrived).
Location is certainly nice, but I assume there are nicer ones :-).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penmennerhouse, Owner at Penmenner House, responded to this review, September 18, 2010
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay.

We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms, and if any problems had been brought to my attention at the time they would have been rectified immediately, It is hard to comment one year after your stay!!
My sunset room is my smallest room (and priced accordingly) but is of ample size.
The bed (only 2 months old in October 2009) is a top of the range silent night bed, The furniture is pine and of good quality.
We are constantly complimented on the quality, quantity and variety of our breakfasts, as you will remember you will have been offered a cooked full English breakfast (meat or vegetarian), scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or fresh fruit salad, organic yoghurt with a platter of cheese - there sometimes is a short wait for a cooked breakfast as it is cooked freshly.
As to me not wearing shoes, this is a personal choice in my own home!!!

Once again I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, however the vast majority of feedback we receive is overwhelmingly positive, and I am sure that had any problems been brought to our attention at the time they would have been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    4
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

My girlfriend and I were looking for a place to stay on a May bank-holiday weekend. We booked quite last minute, and there seemed to be a fair amount of choice in the Lizard area, but we plumped for Penmenner because the lady seemed so lovely on the phone.

Our room was magnificent - views of the ocean on two sides, lovely bed, sofa - really a suite of rooms. Very light and airy, with a great bathroom. A bargain.

We were minutes away from the coastal path in one direction, and the village in the other. The pub the Witches Ball comes highly recommended - they were packed both nights, but still kept the kitchen open to feed us with freshly caught fish. There are lovely walks in both directions along the coast. The beach (Kynance Cove) on the western side of the peninsular was shut when we were there due to erosion, but that may have been sorted out soon hopefully.

Our breakfast at the hotel was lovely - we were very well taken care of. We could not believe that we were the only people who happened to be staying there on this bank holiday weekend - but we will be coming back with 8 friends to take up the whole place sometime soon! We had a look round all the rooms, and all looked lovely. There is also a huge and tasteful lounge downstairs, ideal for socialising with a larger group or family.

Very, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

My wife and I Try to get down to Penmenner House every year. We found this place by chance when carrying out my mothers wishes to have her ashes scattered in her beloved cornwall. Sheila who owns and runs the house,always welcomes you as part of her family and has a heart of gold . The rooms are extremly comfortable and clean and the breakfast are unbelievable.
If you only go to cornwall once, you would be making a big mistake if you did not venture to this area . Helston the nearest town is only 10 miles away.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

I stayed at Penmenner House with my husband and baby. I would thoroughly recommend it to all. The house is tastefully decorated, the rooms spacious and comfortable, the breakfast delicious and the location perfect! The most southerly guest house in England with sea views, a garden and in winter, a lovely warm fire! The house is 15 minutes walk from Lizard Point and the sea. We cannot wait to return, particularly in the summer, and explore more of the Lizard and Cornwall. We look forward to the warmth and hospitality of the wonderful Sheila, the proprietor :-)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We stayed for a short weekend this being myself, husband, 4 yr old and our dog. Ideally located for walks to the beach, lighthouse and other coves. Village 5 mins walk with 2 great pubs and a chip shop. Also a childrens play park. Accomodation great with rooms decorated to a very high standard. Plenty of tea making facilities. Fab breakfast with ample helpings. Overall a lovely welcoming place to stay, large lounge for your use so you can come and go as you please and dont feel that you are isolated to your room if the weather is bad. Would have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

Really nice lady runs the B&B, made us feel at home. Perfect place to stop while hiking South West Coat Path.
The rooms are huge, the house is fantastic. The breakfast was the best B&B breakfast we've ever had.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

We stayed at Penmenner House whilst visiting for a friend's wedding. Although we live nearby neither of us wanted to drive the 30 odd miles home. After reading the last review we were a little apprehensive. What a load of rubbish that review is!!!
The room was lovely and had a really comfortable bed and the bathroom was decorated with driftwood as opposed to the plastic the last reviewer talked about and had a really nice feel to it. The room itself was light and airy and the views were fantastic. Had a lovely breakfast the next morning and managed to get it down despite the hangover from the night before! Sheila who owns the place is a delight to talk to and is extremely welcoming.
There are plenty of places to eat and we have tried them in the past but we were at a wedding and so were fed.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penmenner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmenner House

Address: Penmenner Road, Lizard TR12 7NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Penmenner House Lizard, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penmenner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.