We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penmenner House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penmenner House
Save
You added Penmenner House to your Saves list
Penmenner Road, Lizard TR12 7NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Lizard B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a perfect place to stay and great value for money. The room décor was tasteful and the view into the ocean was even better. Surprised that this B&B was dog friendly as it was so clean and tidy. The owner was very welcoming and met our every need. The breakfast was extremely filling due to so much choice, good quality and most importantly delicious. Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    4
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We haven't even finished our two night stay at Penmenner House yet, but I really feel the need to leave a review. After a week driving around Devon and Cornwall, Penmenner House is by far the best place we've stayed at. Rooms are cosy and clean with spectacular views over Lizard Point and the sea, breakfast is absolutely brilliant and even include gluten free sausages and cereals. Still, the best part is Sheila, the hostess, whose friendly and welcoming manner made us decide to stay for two nights rather than the intended one night.
Johanna & Joe, September 2013

Room Tip: Go for the "Atlantic Room" if available. A double room with spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I can find no fault with our stay at Penmenner house at all.
We stayed in the Sunset room which was small but impeccably clean and certainly big enough for our needs (not only was it clean, it smelled amazing too). There was a great selection of drinks in the room (black tea, flavoured teas, instant coffee, fresh coffee and hot chocolate) along with a couple of shortbreads when we arrived and a bottle of mineral water!
Sheila was a lovely hostess and couldn't do enough to please - everything from offering us beers one afternoon when we were sitting in the living room playing cards through to customising the breakfast menu according to another guest's picky eating habits, nothing seemed to much to ensure her guests are happy.
The breakfasts were filling and delicious and (as other guests have commented) the big bowl of fresh fruit was particularly good. There was a selection of 4 (I think) cooked breakfasts and a excellent range of cereals, pastries and the fruit bowl were available for all to supplement the hot food.
The house is in a perfect location. For 2 of our days there we barely touched the car (only going places for dinner in the evening) just taking amazing walks around the nearby cliffs and beaches.
The final touch of class was getting our bill on the back of a beautiful post card of the Lizard - attention to detail and going the extra mile seem to be the natural way of things for Sheila and Penmenner House and we can't wait to go back again next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We recently stayed at Penmenner House for 4 nights on a short break. We stayed in the Atlantic Room, from where the view out to sea was amazing. You could lay in bed and watch the moon shining on the water at night - blissful!
Sheila is just lovely and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts were fantastic, especially the huge bowl of fresh fruit on offer every morning.
The decor of the whole house is amazing and very quirky and it feels like a home from home. Perfect location for the very short walk into the Lizard Village and for the fantastic walks around the coast.
The only slight negative would be the very small bathroom in the Atlantic Room; however, it is perfectly usable and certainly would not stop me staying there again.

Room Tip: The Atlantic Room has a great view (although bathroom is tiny!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Penmenner House is a large Victorian House on the southern edge of Lizard village, with generous rooms, overlooking the lighthouse and coast a short distance, maybe 500 metres, away. Sheila is a helpful hostess, serving sumptuous breakfasts, beautifully presented, particularly delicious fruit salads and cooked breakfasts. The house has been decorated with a strong eastern theme and fragrance and has a splendid hall, with original tiles at the entrance (I assume) and a striking stained glass window on the landing. Some may find some of the colour schemes strong, but the house is very clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We originally went for 3 days but enjoyed our stay so much we ended up staying 5!From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Sheila.We stayed in the Atlantic Room for 3 days and the Lighthouse Room for the other two, both were excellent with fantastic views.The breakfasts were superb and set you up for the day.It was our first visit to the Lizard and Penmenner house and it certainly wont be the last.I would recommend this b and b to anyone.

Room Tip: The ensuite in the Atlantic was slightly small but more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you don't care about wi-fi and debit/credit cards, then this is the place for you! The house is absolutely outstanding! It's clean and tastefully decorated. The lounge is a real gem. We spent two nights in the Atlantic Room and really, the picture on the website doesn't even look like it: the reality is much better. It's nicely decorated, with towels matching the room's theme and two comfy chairs where you can relax drinking a cup of tea and looking at the ocean. Breakfast was very good. In addition to a full English breakfast, Sheila offers you the possibility to choose between salmon and eggs and fruit, a selection of cheese and croissant. When she found out that I'm Coeliac and I needed to eat gluten free, Sheila even bought me some GF muesli. Rates are not the cheapest, but the service is excellent and worth the price.

Room Tip: The Atlantic Room is perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penmenner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmenner House

Address: Penmenner Road, Lizard TR12 7NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Penmenner House Lizard, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penmenner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.