We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasure to stay at Penmenner House” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Penmenner House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penmenner House
Save
You added Penmenner House to your Saves list
Penmenner Road, Lizard TR12 7NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Lizard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasure to stay at Penmenner House”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Penmenner House is a large Victorian House on the southern edge of Lizard village, with generous rooms, overlooking the lighthouse and coast a short distance, maybe 500 metres, away. Sheila is a helpful hostess, serving sumptuous breakfasts, beautifully presented, particularly delicious fruit salads and cooked breakfasts. The house has been decorated with a strong eastern theme and fragrance and has a splendid hall, with original tiles at the entrance (I assume) and a striking stained glass window on the landing. Some may find some of the colour schemes strong, but the house is very clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    4
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
43
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We originally went for 3 days but enjoyed our stay so much we ended up staying 5!From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Sheila.We stayed in the Atlantic Room for 3 days and the Lighthouse Room for the other two, both were excellent with fantastic views.The breakfasts were superb and set you up for the day.It was our first visit to the Lizard and Penmenner house and it certainly wont be the last.I would recommend this b and b to anyone.

Room Tip: The ensuite in the Atlantic was slightly small but more than adequate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you don't care about wi-fi and debit/credit cards, then this is the place for you! The house is absolutely outstanding! It's clean and tastefully decorated. The lounge is a real gem. We spent two nights in the Atlantic Room and really, the picture on the website doesn't even look like it: the reality is much better. It's nicely decorated, with towels matching the room's theme and two comfy chairs where you can relax drinking a cup of tea and looking at the ocean. Breakfast was very good. In addition to a full English breakfast, Sheila offers you the possibility to choose between salmon and eggs and fruit, a selection of cheese and croissant. When she found out that I'm Coeliac and I needed to eat gluten free, Sheila even bought me some GF muesli. Rates are not the cheapest, but the service is excellent and worth the price.

Room Tip: The Atlantic Room is perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Brilliant B&B, great breakfasts, great location, great hosts (inc cat!!!) Close to coastal path, 5 minutes walk to Lizard Village. Good base for a walking holiday.Only one problem - had to leave to go home !!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed three nights at penmenner house the hospitality was excellent , Sheila
arranged transport to & from the B&B ,we were greeted with tea & cake . Then shown to our room ,We stayed in the very comfortable Marconi room with excellent views of the sea & lighthouse . There was a wide range of breakfast ,the full English was second to none . We look forward to our next visit in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for a night while walking the South West Coast Path. The house is just a few hundred yards from the path and has views over the Lizard and the sea. Our host, Sheila, was kindness itself, arranging a taxi for the station the next day and providing tea and cake. My room was the 'Sunset Room' and was comfortable and clean with ensuite. The rooms are decorated in an eclectic mix of bright colours and with a strong eastern theme. Breakfast was a choice of full english or salmon with scrambled eggs - I chose the latter. There is a large sitting room for guests to use and a very friendly cat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Made us feel at home in this lovely big old house. Provided gluten free breakfast (on request). Perfect staging post for South West Coast path walk. Host happy to drive to Helford to pick up ferry in morning for those on the SW coast path walk for a charge (for fuel).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penmenner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmenner House

Address: Penmenner Road, Lizard TR12 7NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Penmenner House Lizard, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penmenner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.