We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly B&B - excellent value for money.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penmenner House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lizard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Penmenner House
Penmenner Road, Lizard TR12 7NR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Lizard B&B and Inns
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly B&B - excellent value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for a night while walking the South West Coast Path. The house is just a few hundred yards from the path and has views over the Lizard and the sea. Our host, Sheila, was kindness itself, arranging a taxi for the station the next day and providing tea and cake. My room was the 'Sunset Room' and was comfortable and clean with ensuite. The rooms are decorated in an eclectic mix of bright colours and with a strong eastern theme. Breakfast was a choice of full english or salmon with scrambled eggs - I chose the latter. There is a large sitting room for guests to use and a very friendly cat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Made us feel at home in this lovely big old house. Provided gluten free breakfast (on request). Perfect staging post for South West Coast path walk. Host happy to drive to Helford to pick up ferry in morning for those on the SW coast path walk for a charge (for fuel).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

My partner and stayed at Penmenner House for two nights, and we had such a fantastic experience there. We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite, which was just beautiful - incredible views of the sea, the most comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and living room area. We chose to stay there whilst attending a wedding near the lighthouse (a short walk away), and the B&B was the cherry on top of an amazing weekend. Sheila, the owner, was so welcoming and friendly, and went out of her way to make our stay extra special. Since a few of her guests had attended the same wedding, she even served breakfast (which was delicious) later than usual the following morning as she thought we might all need a lie-in! The whole house is gorgeous, and there was real attention to detail in our room - including mineral water, an excellent selection of hot drinks and big fluffy towels (which, along with the bedding, smelt so lovely that I had to ask what she had used to wash them!) We loved our stay here and we can't recommend it highly enough. We'll certainly be returning!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at Penmenner House for 2 nights in order to attend a wedding celebration at the nearby lighthouse. After a long day on the road travelling down we were welcomed by a very friendly Sheila with a pot of tea and cake, served in the very comfortable lounge.

We stayed in the Atlantic room with a view out over some fields and on to the coast. The room was beautifully furnished and very comfortable. Some may find the en-suite bathroom a little compact, but we had no issues. A range of teas, coffees and hot chocolate were provided in the room, along with a large bottle of mineral water. An extra blanket was in the wardrobe if required. Everything was also spotlessly clean.

Breakfast was delicious and a great start to the day (or to aid recovery the night after the wedding). Fruit salad and cereal was available whilst breakfast was being cooked. Tea and coffee was delivered fresh to the table. For those wanting a lighter option, there is the opportunity to request a lighter start to the day (eg smoked salmon and scrambled eggs) the evening before.

It would be remiss to write any review without highlighting and thanking Sheila for making us feel so welcome in our stay. As well as running a brilliant B&B, she also went out of her way to look after us and be helpful - even offering a late breakfast for us the morning after the wedding in case we felt a little fragile!

If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Cornwall whether - make it here, and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We went for the jubilee weekend and loved the views and walks right from the door. The breakfasts were lovely and we'd go back. I also wanted to add that I'm in my mid 30s and not someone who is pretty normal..I know there are lots of people who are really pedantic and I don't trust their reviews. Trust me, this place is just nice and a great location.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at Penmenner House for 3 days and was given a warm welcome from Sheila. Nothing was too much for her to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable and she even went out of her way to ensure our breakfast was extra special by ensuring we had a hearty meal before we set off for the day. We stayed in the Lighthouse Suite with breathtaking views and loved every minute. Will definitely return to Penmenner if ever we find ourselves back there and will definitely recommend it to others. Thank you Sheila for everything you did for us, you have a beautiful place and we are grateful that you are able to share it with others :)

Room Tip: The Lighthouse Suite was the best room by far for us with such stupendous views, comfortable bed, lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We we;re looking for a romantic place to stay, and after visiting The Lizard earlier in the year and falling in love with it, I thought that this is "The Place". So we looked for guest houses in the area and came across this one. We booked the Lighthouse Suite. It all sounded so nice. When we arrived we were greeted with a pot of tea and cake. Then we were taken up to our room. well, our faces lit when we saw the room. It was so enchanting. Beautifully decorated on a maratime/beachy theme. we were bowled over by the views from 2 large windows. The cleansiness was to a high standard too. Sheila asked us about breakfast and took great care to follow our wishes. The breakfast was second to none. The fruit bowl was full of the freshest fruits. The cerial selection was vast. And as for the cooked breakfast.... Lovely.
By far the best i've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Penmenner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penmenner House

Address: Penmenner Road, Lizard TR12 7NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Lizard
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Lizard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Penmenner House Lizard, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penmenner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Penmenner House to your Saves list