We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viv's Cream Teas - Fab!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viv's Tea Garden

Viv's Tea Garden
Tregut Cottage | Gut Hill, St Minver PL27 6RQ, England
01208 592149
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 restaurants in St Minver
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
“Viv's Cream Teas - Fab!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We just happened to be passing - pretty much at closing time - and thought we'd stop for a cream tea. Despite our late arrival we were made very welcome. We were tucked into a lovely heated little thatched hut and served a fab cream tea in lovely china with delicious homemade scones and lashings of clotted cream!. We were also given tester samples of different jams to try as there was such a lovely selection we couldn't decide!! Tea is topped up for free too so it's certainly a bargain. The staff were very nice and friendly and we also had a good chat with Viv who very kindly made up a 'takeaway' box for my elderly neighbour who was thrilled (and slightly surprised that we had managed to drive home for 6 hours without pinching it!) will definitely go back next time we are in Cornwall - thanks Viv XXX

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    65
    13
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely cream tea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stopped here towards the end of our holiday having passed it a number of times on our way to various places in Cornwall...Wish we had stopped there sooner We had a lovely cream tea...mine with cherry jam was perfect...The garden is really nice...would have given 5/5 but the loo was a portable temporary one ...and a bit of an eyesore in the garden...But I understand from the very friendly waiter that plans are being made for something more permanent...overall though a lovely place to visit

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great little tea shop, lovely garden, friendly staff - coeliac daughter catered for with meringue and cream. Sat in the summer house for our cream tea. Lovely jam and cream too.

Very unique setting, we all enjoyed it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Scones v wasps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Lovely cream tea, bone china, good service, but volume of wasps made us retreat inside. Dogs are welcome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Splendid experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Friendly and bespoke service, beautiful location, tasty and well presented cream tea with really good coffee. Yes there were wasps which is annoying but you have to accept that during British summertime. We were warned immediately when we arrived and offered the alternative of the summer house which is beautifully decorated and wasp free. Viv and her team were super and the jam is amazing - recommend the Gooseberry and Elderflower!!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viv's Tea Garden also viewed

 

Been to Viv's Tea Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viv's Tea Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.