We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter West Coast Statesman - Incredible Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Statesman Rail

Statesman Rail
PO Box 83, St Erth, Hayle TR27 9AD, England
0845 310 2458
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in St Erth
Type: Scenic Railroads, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Hersham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Winter West Coast Statesman - Incredible Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Question - What Christmas Present do you give to someone who's 85 in order to avoid the pain of having to ultimately clear it out of the house later?
Answer - Your time and a wonderful experience.
The 2 day Winter West Highland Journey (From Bristol to Fort William) in Pullman class on Statesman Rail truly exceeded all expectations as far as the latter was concerned.
We ultimately set it up as a real family excursion with 7 of us involved and, although not cheap, the experience was worth every penny and it made such a change not to have to worry about driving and, of course, you see a completely different view from the train than from a motorway.
The quality of food and wine was definitely the icing on the cake ...I don't know how the chefs did it from such a small kitchen area but the food was consistently a scrumptious 5 star standard ..... I may even have to think about dieting for 1 or 2 days.
From previous reviews we thought we might suffer cold conditions in the train (and packed accordingly) however, if anything, the coaches were a little on the warm side at times ..... but that's not a bad thing in winter. The only downside, after such good meals, was that the temptation to snooze was quite great.
Having said that, we were extremely fortunate with the weather (clear and sunny) so the scenery was incentive enought to keep us alert.
Having extolled the virtues of the food, it would be unfair not to also say that the quality of all the staff on the train was excellent. They were unfailingly polite, helpful and attentive in every respect.
All in all, a truly incredible experience which I / We would have no hesitation in recommending ...... and, if you have the choice / money, travelling Premium or Pullman class. in this instance, really IS worth it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    13
    9
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Winter west highland statesman Feb 14”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Excellent trip with world class service from the dedicated train employee team who did everything possible to ensure that everyone on board had an enjoyable and memorable break. Nothing was too much trouble for the train stewards, who were professional and cheerful throughout the entire two day journey. We enjoy travel, and love Scotland, and Statesman Rail deliver the best of both. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We travelled Pullman class in December to Edinburgh for the day. It was a birthday treat for my husband and we can honestly say it was a great day out and excellent value for money. The train was spotless, the service from the staff excellent and the journey was an experience never to be forgotten.. The food during the journeys was of the highest quality, the carriage was elegant and the tables well dressed. It's not a cheap day out but it is well worth the money. Give it a try! You won't be disappointed!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Edinburgh Christmas Statesman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We travelled from Skipton to Edinburgh - what a wonderful experience. This journey was our first with Statesman Rail and certainly will be one of many. The train was immaculately clean - even flowers in the toilet. We pushed the boat out, with it been a Christmas present, and travelled first class - and it was. The warmth, furnishings, seats, flowers and even crackers were superb. The staff greeted us with warmth and Ian, our steward, looked after us so well we were very impressed. We now look forward to our next trip - see you soon Statesman Rail. Very well done - thank you for a lovely day out. With kind regards Sue, Peter, Carol and Ivor.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Edinburgh Christmas Statesman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Travelled 14th December 2013.
Great day out ,lovely aboard the train,staff well organised and helpfull. Arrived on time had 3hrs 40 mins in a wet and windy Edinburgh.To any one considering a full day out or even a longer trip I can thoughly recommend this company.
Well done Statesman Rail money well spent!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Statesman Rail also viewed

 
Inchbrook, Gloucestershire
 

Been to Statesman Rail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Statesman Rail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.