We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab, dog friendly country hideaway.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Redgate Smithy B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Cleer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Redgate Smithy B&B
Save
You added Redgate Smithy B&B to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Redgate | St Cleer, Liskeard, Cornwall, St Cleer PL14 6RU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 7 Nights; Pay for 6
Ranked #1 of 1 St Cleer B&B and Inns
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fab, dog friendly country hideaway.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

A lovely country cottage retreat. Perfect location for exploring Bodmin Moor and Golitha Falls. Hosts were very friendly. Room was spotless. Good breakfast. Our dog Milly enjoyed exploring the lovely garden and playing with a fellow doggy guests. Would recommend to anyone and will return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
27
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Absolutely fantastic B & B. We stayed for four nights with our two dogs and could not have been made more welcome. We stayed in the Garden Room and had a view over the very pretty garden. The bedroom and bathroom were immaculate and included many personal touches, both for us and the dogs. The choice of breakfast and the quality of the food was first class and served in the conservatory overlooking the garden, which made for a wonderful relaxing start to the day. We love our cooked breakfasts and can honestly say that the Full Cornish is the best B & B breakfast we have ever had. Julie & Clive are lovely hosts and they make Redgate Smithy an exceptional B & B - we will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Redgate Smithy is the place we wish we'd discovered 10 years ago rather than last year. This was our second visit and we hope to be back later in the year. We have never had such superb breakfasts...even in a Michelin starred hotel. The "Eggs Royale Redgate Smithy" is to die for. The "Full Cornish" lasts you all day. "The "first course" consists of everything you could possibly wish for to start breakfast. Julie's homemade muesli beats any other muesli you care to name; then there are yoghourts, poached pears in cranberry juice and all the other more usual items only better! Coffee for one comes in a cafetiere for 2 and the marmalade is beautifully chunky.
Then there are all the other elements that make it the best....a glorious wild garden.....a naturalist's dream. There are birds to watch all through breakfast, a squirrel to chase away from the nuts(!). The house walls are full of lovely pictures and photographs including some great ones of Clive's. So many B&Bs have rubbishy prints from yesteryear that Redgate Smithy is a very refreshing change.
Julie and Clive are the most friendly hosts we've ever encountered and their rooms, beds and bathrooms are comfortable, spotlessly clean and welcoming.
Go on try it yourself next time you are in Cornwall...as long as your booking means we can't go!

Room Tip: We love the garden room best of all. Although it's not en suite its private bathroom is 3 steps...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed here for two nights over the May Day bank holiday. What can we say - it was one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed at - and we stay at a lot of them even if we don't write that many reviews! The rooms were comfortable and spotless. The hosts (including Brydy the dog) were so welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was delicious - and with so much choice on offer. Truly outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic stay! Fabulous food and excellent hosts, made to feel really welcome both us and our dog. Lots of personal touches such as tea and biscuits and a dog biscuit and blanket in our room and home made tea and muffins on arrival! Location is ideal as there is so much to do and see - plenty of beautiful walks within walking distance all routes and maps provided in your room along with a list of good places to eat that are dog friendly or not, so need to worry about leaving your 4 legged friend behind. Julie and Clive were so welcoming and friendly it was like staying in a home from home! Beautiful house with a typical English country garden feel about it. We loved it and will definitly be back! Thank you so much! Jennie, Ben and Penny (Essex, UK) 5th May 2012

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We chose Redgate Smithy as it was on a "Dog Friendly" website, & boy are they dog friendly! On arrival we were shown to the Garden Room, which had a dog blanket & bowl waiting for our pooch.
Julie & Clive had also put together great information in the room, including walks & places to eat that welcomed dogs.
Breakfast is fantastic - try the full Cornish if you dare! We didn't need to eat until the evening!!
The accomodation is cosy & spotlessly clean & Clive & Julie are wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them.
We'll definately recommend this to friends with or without dogs as it's a fab place to stay in a really great location.

Room Tip: The Garden room is lovely with veiws out over the gardens, it does have it's own private bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed there in 2010 and I recently joined Trip Advisor, so am writing my review now almost two years later - it was THAT GOOD! Clive and Julie are the ultimate hosts at a lovely property, in a perfect location. Oh, and FOOD!!! Let me say, this B&B serves the best food! Cornwall -- I can't sing its praises loud enough! I lost my wallet in the area and it was recovered with all of my cash, credit cards and everything! My only complaint is that our stay was too short. We had other locations on our itinerary and had to leave... we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redgate Smithy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redgate Smithy B&B

Address: Redgate | St Cleer, Liskeard, Cornwall, St Cleer PL14 6RU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Cleer
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St Cleer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Redgate Smithy B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redgate Smithy B&B is a 200 year old converted Smithy, situated just above the beautiful Golitha Falls on the southern edge of Bodmin Moor in Cornwall. We have three cottage style rooms available; our Double En-suite room, our "Garden Double" room (with Private Bathroom) that overlooks the garden, and a Single En-suite room. We provide an extensive and tasty breakfast menu, served in the light and airy conservatory overlooking the garden, and there are excellent pubs and restaurants locally for your evening meals. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redgate Smithy B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.