We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms and Breakfasts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Blazey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Prideaux, St Blazey PL24 2SS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 St Blazey B&B and Inns
Holywood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms and Breakfasts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Set in a green garden, next to the walled garden of a big house, with ornamental standing stones, and visited by a woodpecker and a pheasant, this beautifully constructed extension to the owners' own home is peaceful and yet exhilarating. You enter the glass roofed dining area where a wisteria weaves its way across the walls, and are greeted by the hostess Kath, who was responsible for designing the rooms. Green oak uprights and beams frame the white rooms, with greenery above in the balcony, subtly lit up from the side. An enormous bed dominates the room, with muslin curtains, purpose build closet, side tables and tiny kitchenette, supplied with earl Grey tea or whatever you desire, sliced lemon, a little bundle tied with string and containing delicate sweet biscuits. In the curved en-suite, a huge walk-in shower and modern curved wash-basin, and underfloor heating makes it a pleasure to walk around barefoot!

Breakfast is served at the old-fashioned dining table, order your eggs and bacon the way you wish, then help yourself from a huge platter in the centre to pick your choice of mushrooms, sausages, tomatoes etc. Afterwards, Kath joins you for a coffee of your choice and a friendly chat about the local places to see.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southbank, London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

Stunning property in a beautiful secluded location. Feels truly unique and the room was one of the best I have ever stayed in. The perfect place to stay if you are visiting Eden. Kind, thoughtful hosts, fabulous breakfast and a real attention to detail. Faultless.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

We discovered Gardens Cottage via a small review piece in The Guardian on 'unusual' places to stay. We wanted to go to the Eden Project for my Dad's 60th and so chose somewhere close. Gardens cottage couldn't be closer, it's just 15 minutes walk through the lanes. It's also well placed for all the other delights of the area from The Lost Gardens of Heligan to the pretty coastal town of Fowey.

Kath and Ivan - the owners truly re-defined personal service - but without being intrusive. The 3 x double bedrooms which are all their accomdoation worked perfectly for us as we were 6 as a family.

The rooms were all beautifully furnished, lovely designer bathrooms and immaculately clean. Each had DVD players, full sky TV, lovely in room coffee/tea making, stereos and even welcome biscuits homemade in the fridge.

Kath's emphasis it seems on the nothing is too much trouble philosophy - i.e. real, true service. It's not particularly cheap as how you might classify a 'standard' B&B - but really ithis is no standard B&B in factt I'd say it's not really a B&B at all, you are welcomed to Kath and Ivans home. From the minute you arrive they were warm, friendly, funny and kind.

They remembered each of us by name, remembered each of our quirks at breakfast each day and we loved it so much we stayed another night. And oh what a breakfast! From kath's stunning full english, the fabulous homemade fruit platters, muesli, to the steaming coffee on tap, to the huge selection of homemade jams with her homemade bread. You definitely didn't need lunch after this breakfast feast.

She even baked my Dad a cake for his birthday. A fabulous banana cake quite the nicest I've ever tasted.

Each night they lit twinkling candles throughout the conservatory which is yours to use throughout your stay. With lovely gentle music in the background. They arranged all his birthday cards and really made us feel like it was our space the whole time.

To be honest I could go on and on. I would definitely recommend it - especially if you are a group of 6 as it's just like having your own home from home, but much better!

Kath and Ivan make an art out of Bed and Brekafast and deserve alot more reviews on Trip Advisor. I'll certainly be recommending them to ALL my friends.

Try it!

  • Liked — The Owners
  • Disliked — Putting on half a stone from the amazing breakfasts!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

I cannot speak highly enough of Gardens Cottage. This beautifully renovated Gardeners Cottage has been a labour of love for owners Kath and Ivan.

They have considered every tiny detail and make you feel like royalty.

There are only 3 rooms, so there is a very intimate feel about the place. Each room is different but equally beautiful.

We arrived in late afternoon to find Kath and Ivan waiting with a hot cup of tea and biscuits. Exactly what you need after a long journey. We were shown around and asked what time we would like to eat breakfast....

We woke up to the smell of fresh bread and frying bacon. My husband and I stay away alot, but the breakfast served by Kath beats everywhere else we've stayed. Legendary!!!

Cereal, fresh fruit salads, selection of juice, yogurt, with tea or coffee. Then came the hot course served on a huge silver platter. All the usual cooked breakfast favourites, but a little bit special. Then, once we'd eaten so much we couldn't move, came the homemade bread and homemade selection of jams and marmalades. We didn't eat again until teatime!

My husband was ill during our stay with a nasty cough. Late one evening, there was a tap on the door. Kath had heard him coughing and made up a tray for him with a very sophisticated looking hot toddy. So kind!

Sadly, (although we understand why), they cannot accommodate children, so we haven't been back since our son was born, but we are both longing for another stay!

If you are booking this B&B, you will not be disappointed!!

  • Liked — Everything - the attention to detail was exceptional!!
  • Disliked — LEAVING!
  • Stayed March 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2007

Gardens Cottage is a wonderful example of a luxury bed and breakfast, with large, light and airy rooms and patio doors. The beds and pillows are amazingly comfortable, there is a walk-in shower, CD system and minibar with ground coffee and hand-made chocolates. The breakfasts are something else: home-made marmalades and jam, compote and mueslis, locally-sourced items for the cooked breakfast and an unlimted supply of ground coffee and tea. Bliss for a short stay and within (long) walking distance of Eden Project and St. Blazey rail station.

  • Liked — Wondereful rooms, brteakfats and friendliness of the owners
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: Prideaux, St Blazey PL24 2SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Blazey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in St Blazey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gardens Cottage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list