We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Anchorage House to your Saves list
Anchorage House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Nettles Corner | Tregrehan Mills, St Austell PL25 3RH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 99 St Austell B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sensational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The name of our suite was 'Sensational' and that is exactly what it was. My husband and I chose a British holiday this year after spending 8 years living abroad. The choice we made of Cornwall and more specifically Anchorage House turned out to be an inspiration. We were cared for and cossetted, favored and fed, informed and inspired. All this amounted to a holiday where we missed no local hideaway or treasured restaurant. Steve and Jane really do put their hearts into their home and it is both which they shared with us on our two week visit.

Room Tip: Sensational is a suite and overlooking the garden. All rooms are quiet though, so its up to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    7
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
135
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I recently stayed at Anchorage House for my birthday and I could not have asked for better. Steve and Jane are wonderful hosts. I felt like I was at home with family. The rooms were immaculate, breakfast delicious, great pool and oh, the Jacuzzi....very nice!!! Wonderful recommendations for dinner were given and sights to see. Knowledge was endless and always given with such enthusiasm. Lovely, lovely place and we had a wonderful time. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Anchorage House in St Austell and had a most wonderful time. We had such a warm welcome by Steve & Jane who truly went out of their way to make us feel at home and thoroughly spoilt. The house and rooms are beautifully furnished and Steve and Jane have made comfort their priority. Breakfast was marvellous and in fact nothing was ever too much trouble. Both Steve & Jane were extremely helpful in letting us know of interesting places to go and see and so helpful in suggesting various restuarants and places to eat. Having just re married Paul and I had a stressful few months and to come away and stay at Anchorage House helpled all thoses stresses melt away with the wonderful swimming pool and amenities they have. We would highly recommend a stay at Anchorage House - the very best we have stayed in the UK and look forward to our next visit! Paul & Cyn Cooper

Room Tip: All the rooms are marvellous - whichever you choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We decided to try The Anchorage at the beginning of September, and what a good idea it was, Steve and Jane are the best hosts nothing is too much trouble, the room we stayed in was very clean, and breakfast was the best:-)) hope to go back very soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

we stayed here for two nights in the annex room. The room was large and contemporary,it was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. the breakfast was fantastic and such a variety and choice.Jane and Steve were very welcoming and full of knowledge of the surrounding area,places of interest,eateries. The location was excellent for getting to the Eden project[and walkable] and just a short drive to The lost gardens of Heligan. We will certainly be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed here in June 2012 and what a gem in Cornwall. Pure luxury and such elegance together with discreet friendliness and fabulous breakfasts.It was so close to the Eden Project, and the Lost Gardens of Heligon. Local knowledge of the owners was so helpful and it is a must stay when in this part of Cornwall.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We have just come back from staying a full week at this B&B, and have nothing but praise for it. We stayed in the annexe building, which is apparently less luxurious than the other rooms, but it didn't feel that in any way. The deluge shower is lovely and the massive bed is a real treat. Breakfast is delicious, and Steve and Jane are wonderful hosts: always friendly and really nothing is too much for them. They made bookings for several restaurants for us, including last-minute ones and where we had special requirements as well. If we need to stay in this area again, then we will almost certainly use Anchorage House! Oh, and the pool's lovely as well ... beautiful indoor one that's perfect for swimming lengths in.

Room Tip: The annexe room (desirable) is perfect if you want that little bit more independence in terms of com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage House

Address: Nettles Corner | Tregrehan Mills, St Austell PL25 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anchorage House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchorage House is a luxurious small, private, national award-winning bed and breakfast, and the ultimate in Cornwall, Eden Project and child-free accommodation, offering indulgent bistro suppers, huge beds and bathtubs, heated indoor swimming pool, small gym, free Wi-Fi and much more. Special attention to detail and flair are evident everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage House St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.