We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very luxurious, but still great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Anchorage House to your Saves list
Anchorage House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Nettles Corner | Tregrehan Mills, St Austell PL25 3RH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very luxurious, but still great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We stayed here for one night during our two weeks' trip through Devon and Cornwall.
The cat welcomed us in the conservatory where we got served some tea and home made brownies when we arrived.
Both the pool and the gym were in excellent condition and a pleasure to use.
The room itself was very nice and clean, as well as the bathroom.

Steve and Jane's attention to details made our stay not easy to forget: fresh cookies in the room, cold water in the fridge, loads of dvd's to choose from at night, the possibility to make a reservation at a recommended restaurant, fresh fruit and homemade muesli and compote for breakfast, flipflops and robes to make your way to the pool, and the nice chats with both of them. And I've probably forgotten to mention loads of other little things that made our stay a lovely experience!

Don't hesitate to make a booking for this b&b, because you get all your money's worth!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    7
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
139
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Having booked our stay at Anchorage House after an internet search I was a little concerned that our stay would not live up to the expectations created by the very impressive website.

I needn't have worried as the place was exactly as described and in fact better than expected.

We received a very warm welcome, afternoon tea at no extra cost and help with our bags.

Steve and Jane made us feel very welcome throughout our stay and as other reviewers have said they seemed to have thought of everything necessary to make our stay memorable.

We stayed in the "Stunning" room which was exactly that and simply cannot be faulted.

The beautiful and spotlessly clean swimming pool was a real bonus and I even found myself swimiming before breakfast which has got to be a first.

Nothing was too much trouble for Steve and Jane who clearly take great pride in their lovely home.

Steve was very helpful with advice as to where to park and what to do in Fowey and other nearby places even providing maps and offering change for parking meters if needed.

All in all a super stay in 5 star accommodation with warm and friendly hosts which I hope to repeat soon.

My wife and I have already bored our friends with our holiday snaps and are busy urging them all to stay at Anchorage House the next time they visit Cornwall.

Well done to Steve and Jane is all I can say!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford Green Essex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed here for two nights with my elderly mother with the express purpose of
visiting the Eden Project and it is extremely well located for this. Owners were
kind enough to suggest that the annexe room 'Desirable' would best meet her
needs due to her limited mobility and from that aspect it suited our needs well
and the walk in shower was a bonus. However we found the room 'intimidating'. We
have never stayed in a hotel or B&B where there is a tray inside the door asking
you to "leave your footwear here" The owners have furnished this place to a high
standard but that does not equate to comfort. We felt we to tidy up behind
ourselves all the time, eg.wipe over the sink after we'd used it, put everything
away and straighten the bed before we left the room and if possible levitate
across the rooms to avoid leaving footprints on the carpet.. There was a massive
plasma screen TV in the room but the chairs opposite this were impossible to sit
in and you slide out of them! The bathroom was open plan to the bedroom which means no privacy. The toilet is clearly visible from the door into the room and directly opposite a full length window opening onto the car park - so we had to keep the blinds shut all the time. We, made the mistake of arriving 30 mins early. Sorry but
when traveling distances you can't always time arrivals to the second and with
an elderly passenger who just wanted to check in and relax, it wasn't practical
to drive around to kill time. We initially received a frosty reception, however Jane did have the grace to apologize for this and served us tea in the conservatory. When it came to discussing breakfast the manner in which we were asked if we' wanted a cooked breakfast or would continental be OK and left us feeling that to ask for a cooked breakfast was putting Jane to too much trouble- As a result we opted for continental as we were too scared to ask for cooked! The buffet breakfast was OK. - but with only one slice of toast per person and no alternative e.g croissant or muffin. We felt as if we were being rationed! Steve and Jane seem to switch on the charm between certain hours. We arrived at 8.25 for breakfast which starts at 8.30, although Stevecould clearly see us waiting in the lounge there was no attempt to acknowledge our presence. No smile or good morning until dead on the dot of 8.30. Again we felt so uncomfortable we returned to our room. We were fortunate in that, since our room was separate from the main house, we could come and go as we wanted, but guests staying in the main house were asked to leave some time in the morning and not return until after 3.45, not very welcoming. Other B&B's we've stayed in furnish guests with a front door key. This B&B served its purpose but we won't be rushing back or recommending it. Granted it is a lovely house, beautifully furnished with nice extras (pool, hot tub etc.) but guests
need to feel welcome, comfortable and able to relax as well. Mimi the cat was
lovely though!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TommyandTuppence, Owner at Anchorage House, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
This harsh review was initially submitted with the overall Rating of us marked as a ‘3’ (Average), but when challenged by Trip Advisor because of non-objective and personal insults the Reviewer vindictively marked us down to ‘2’ (Poor). I think that most readers will agree that is a cheap shot and shows contempt for this review system. Even this revised review is unnecessarily hurtful, unwarranted, unjustified and wrong.
As soon as we met this lady I felt that our ‘Desirable’ room, which she had chosen after much deliberation, would not be to her liking as it quickly became obvious she was expecting the total luxury accommodation that all of our other rooms provide, whereas ‘Desirable’, although very chic and contemporary, is specifically designed to be wheel chair and handicap-friendly. Hence there is no door on the ‘wow’ factor wet room, raised toilet, huge open deluge shower, which both of these ladies definitely found useful, no wall-to-wall carpet, but wood grain tile with under floor heating and a large rug where the beautiful leather lounge chairs are positioned. These leather chairs are beautifully polished and perfectly comfortable, so how this lady could describe them as ‘slippery’ and ‘impossible to sit in’ is beyond belief. All the windows have slated blinds that can be turned to provide privacy while still allowing light in, and surely having to partially close the blinds on that one particular window closest to the toilet was not a big thing. And why did she think she had to keep the blinds blacked out all the time? You can’t see anything from outside because of normal glare. Even when that one window blind closest to the bathroom is closed it does not reduce the overall light to the room as there are three other windows and a full opaque glazed door in that room to provide more than adequate lighting throughout the day. She also worried about privacy for the toilet when the room door is open, but when would that ever happen? This room has a beautifully curved and sloping wall separating the bedroom from the bathroom, so her ‘privacy’ concerns should be limited to only the fact that there is no door to close the bathroom completely off. How much privacy do a mother and daughter, disabled person and their carer or husband and wife want? Approximately 300 other guests have stayed in this special room since it was built three years ago, including unmarried couples, and there has never been a single derogatory comment made about it until now. Only rave reviews. What does that say about this reviewer? If guests wish to book that room we always make sure they understand that it is an open plan room and it is not a typical closed off bathroom.
Cleanliness is very important here and as this room is accessed directly off the courtyard it would seem nice to have a tray to store dirty or muddy shoes inside the door. It is by no means an order to take your dirty footwear off, but simply a tray with a picture of shoes and the words ‘Please place shoes here’, which may serve to remind people that this is a good place to keep them. It’s not an order or a requirement. This woman has made our quest to provide clean and tidy bedrooms seem like a negative thing. We aren’t obsessive about it and there is no reference anywhere that could have caused this lady to ‘feel intimidated’ about keeping the room clean. Would guests prefer to have a spotlessly clean room or one that isn’t? How can a small shoe tray by the door intimidate anyone and make them feel ‘uncomfortable’? It’s just a shoe storage tray for goodness sake. Nearly all the guests that have used that room have happily used the shoe tray as a very convenient place to store their footwear.
This lady made several negative comments about our breakfast service. Our breakfasts are award winning and have been for many years. We have an extensive cooked menu (displayed in each room) for guests to choose from and our breakfast buffet is loaded with delicious things, mostly homemade. It includes things like muffins and bagels instead of toast if desired, so this lady obviously didn’t even bother to look at the menu, nor did she ask for anything different than granary toast each morning. In order to plan out breakfast and avoid wastage, I try to ask all guests each evening if they wish to have a full English cooked breakfast or any part thereof, or whether they would prefer the extensive cold buffet. I’ve never used the term ‘continental breakfast,’ because ours is obviously much more elaborate than that. It does not matter to me at all what guests choose. About 90% of our guests opt for a cooked breakfast of some sort, but these ladies said they only wanted our cold buffet and nothing cooked. She stated they felt ‘intimidated’ and afraid to ask for a cooked breakfast, but how anyone could feel intimidated by Jane, who is a tiny size 8 with a bubbly and friendly personality and only wants to make her guests feel totally happy and comfortable beggars belief. They could have had anything they wanted as did most of our other guests on those two mornings. This reviewer failed to mention the special dried fruit breakfast dish I offered and made for her and her mother. The lady certainly didn’t feel intimidated at breakfast when she repeatedly talked down to our helper by ordering hot milk, more toast and extra butter each morning in a condescending and rude way before even being asked if they would like more once those initial items were consumed. We only bring out two full slices of toast at a time so that it stays warm and doesn’t get stale, but continue to bring out more of everything whenever desired.
Breakfast starts at 8.30 and runs until 9:30, and this lady told us that she wanted to come over at 8.45. When they arrived early at 8.15 Steve was still rushing to get the buffet table set up and didn’t pay any attention to them as he was in the closed off breakfast room and they were in the lounge adjacent. He was obviously preoccupied and assumed they had just come over early to sit comfortably in our beautiful lounge reading the newspaper or magazines until he had finished and the breakfast room was opened. Obviously, If they needed anything, knocked on the door or indicated wanted to talk, he would have stopped and try to help. Instead of just sitting down and waiting until breakfast began, she abruptly marched her elderly mother all the way back across the courtyard to their room only to return minutes later as if she was trying to make a point that she could confront us with later (exactly as she has done in this review). We asked her repeatedly during their stay that if there was anything they needed just let us know. Nothing was communicated until this review hit us.
B & B’s don’t normally have help like hotels do with managers, waiting and kitchen staff, so we do nearly everything ourselves and every minute is precious. Why she should go into such elaborate detail about the hosts seeming to ‘turn the charm on and off between certain hours’; being ‘intimidated’ and feeling they had to ‘tidy up behind ourselves, wipe over the sink after use, putting everything away and straightening the bed before leaving the room, and levitating across the room to avoid leaving footprints’ is totally baffling, and says volumes about this reviewer.
Hotels are equipped for early and very late arrivals. She must have been comparing us with the hotel she had just stayed 10 days at before coming to us. When these ladies arrived early just after
3 PM we had only been home seconds from shopping. I like to welcome guests with the lights on throughout the house and in their room, and be all set to offer afternoon tea and homemade cake, which hadn’t been done. It is much more difficult for B&B owners who, after preparing all the rooms, than have to do all the running around to the store, laundry, etc, before guests arrive or return. That is why there has to be a specific check-in time we can always make and hope guests will honour. Nearly all B & B guests understand that and comply. We do provide front door keys to guests staying inside the main house. This lady had total early access to her room, which she took full advantage, and she was able to come and go as she pleased, so why did she even bring up the matter of guest keys?
We love our house and our business and we do succeed in making the vast majority of guests very happy and comfortable. Inspectors through the 19 years we’ve been in business have all made mention of how beautiful and welcoming our rooms are, ‘Desirable’ included, and that they are among the best they have ever seen. We are sorry that this lady felt so strongly that she had to write this non-objective, hurtful and unfounded review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We first discovered Anchorage House in 1997 and have returned a number of times. This is a beautiful house,lovingly maintained to an exceptionally high standard by fantastic hosts Steve and Jane.
Over the years we have stayed in every bedrom in the main house, they are all very luxurious with large comfortable beds, this time we stayed in the Charming room which lived up to its name.
We have always felt at home here and that we are returning to very good friends.
Jane and Steve are lovely people, very warm, friendly, welcoming and extremely helpful.
Their aim is to ensure you enjoy your stay and they always achieve this. We would never hesitate to recommend this marvellous house to anyone visiting Cornwall.
We are looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We have just spent six nights in the Sensational Suite and it was in every way sensational The bed was so comfy, the seperate lounge area was perfect to relax in or watch tv, the bathroom was pure luxury and there were so many thoughtful details that we were truly spoilt. Breakfasts which were served by a lovely waitress were very filling with a varied menu. We were able to visit many places as it was situated in a very central part of Cornwall, and Jane and Steve were always willing to supply you with information The house was immaculate and a pleasure to stay in. We also used the swimming pool which was lovely and relaxing after days out, this was beautiful (I want one) and spotlessly clean.Our whole experience of Anchorage house was exceptional and Jane and Steve should be proud to be able to offer such a first class holiday to guests.We hope to go back some day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We only booked this place via the internet as it was within walking distance of the Eden Project, which we were planning to visit, but I would now stay there anytime we're in the St Austell area and have already recommended it to friends & relatives. Fabulous rooms (poss the best bathroom we've had in any hotel ever !), wonderful breakfasts (I could live on the fruit compotes....), welcoming hosts, little touches such as a fridge in the room so the early-morning tea could be made with fresh milk rather than those pots of UHT stuff - I could go on. It's not the cheapest B&B in the area, but as a believer in you get what you pay for this was certainly worth £100 a night all-in. Just remember that if you ask mine host how long it takes to walk somewhere local - add 15 minutes to his estimation !!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

To see pictures of rooms and read the 'bumph' is always questionable until proven. In the case of Anchorage House what you see and read is what you get. Introductions commence with the warmest of welcomes by Steve and Jane to their beautiful home. Tea and home made cake for starters. The cleanliness and comfort of all the rooms leaves nothing to be desired. Jane's love of cooking and the freshness of food immaculately served in light ambient surroundings has to be seen to be believed. Nothing is too much trouble. The area is ideal for visiting many well known tourist attractions as well as good evening eating venues even when weather is inclement as was ours. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchorage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage House

Address: Nettles Corner | Tregrehan Mills, St Austell PL25 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Anchorage House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchorage House is a luxurious small, private, national award-winning bed and breakfast, and the ultimate in Cornwall, Eden Project and child-free accommodation, offering indulgent bistro suppers, huge beds and bathtubs, heated indoor swimming pool, small gym, free Wi-Fi and much more. Special attention to detail and flair are evident everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anchorage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage House St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.