We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“......Not bad but excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nepalese Gurkha Restaurant

Nepalese Gurkha Restaurant
36-38 Fore Street 1st Floor, St Austell PL25 5PA , England
01726 67390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 101 restaurants in St Austell
Price range: $17 - $34
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Wiltshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“......Not bad but excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Unlike the previous reviewer, hantsDavid, I have eaten Nepalese and Indian food all over the country and this one is up there with the best of them. The quality of the food is excellent, as is the service and, as for the quantity of food and pricing, only someone who had nothing to compare it with could possibly complain about it. How fortunate I am that this is my local restaurant and that I no longer have to travel to enjoy such a good meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    130
    36
    16
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Not bad but average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Never having eaten this type of food before, I was interested in giving it a try. I was not overly impressed by the food, and would put it as average, with some of the main specials as slightly overpriced for value and content of plated food or, lack of food!!! Service was with a smile but then, out of the 15 tables only two were occupied by 4 people, so we received a fast service. I now really need to try a similar restaurant to compare. Average starters approx £4-6. mains £8-13. Nan breads £2-3. we did not stay for dessert pretty much average charges. But its always worth a try. Every body has different tastes and standards. I will not be going back to this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly & happy staff, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We are regulars at the Gurkha, and have been since they opened. Recently we've been twice for the all you can eat buffet on a Sunday evening, stunning food, the buffet gives you chance to try food you normally wouldn't pick on the menu, everything was hot and fresh, including the naan bread and popadoms. There are 30 different dishes to try. great value for money.
From the first visit the staff have been friendly and welcoming, looking forward to going back again soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We took a risk because the exterior is pretty dire! Up the stairs you find a tastefully decorated restaurant.
The food was excellent, hot and tasty and even my my 11 year old son rated it (he's not easily impressed!)
It was good value too. I would go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
1 review
“Just the Best Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were here last Friday evening, we hadn't booked and were glad to get a table, it was very busy, a large group of maybe 20 on a leaving do and all other tables full, could not have had better service or food, love the ladies in their traditional dress, but special praise to Tamara, such a great waitress, so sweet and polite, a credit to your team, keep up the good work. Heather & Jason x

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nepalese Gurkha Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Nepalese Gurkha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nepalese Gurkha Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.