We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B. Highly Recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lookout Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lookout Guesthouse
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Coed Duon | Carclaze Road, St Austell PL25 3TA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Newbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B. Highly Recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend away at The Lookout Guesthouse and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a luxury b&b in the St Austell area.

Jackie and Steve are excellent hosts. We were welcomed with a pot of tea and cakes on the balcony. Nothing was too much bother-cooling our champagne, offering advice on where to visit. Steve even gave us a lift to Austells in the evening.

We stayed in the Sea Room which had gorgeous views and an extremely comfortable bed. We were lucky enough to sneak a peek at the Garden Suite which had an ever bigger bed! Both rooms had lovely finishing touches.

Breakfast was delicious with plenty of options. Perhaps I should I have left more room for the Cornish cream teas in Fowey.

The Lookout Guesthouse thoroughly deserves the reviews it is receiving and we wouldn't be surprised if next time we book they have a long list of bookings. Get in quick!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Such a great review. Jackie and I do appreciate you taking the time to post a review here on Tripadvisor and as mentioned such a positive one at that. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Lookout Guesthouse and that you found your room so comfortable. Likewise we enjoyed having you with us. The Garden Suite awaits your next visit!! Good luck for the rest of your career path we are sure you will do well and many thanks for the PR info.

We look forward to seeing you both soon.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Where do I start ? There is so much to say about how great our stay with Steve and Jackie has been it's difficult to know where to begin. Firstly, their home is beautiful, nothing is out of place and there was not a speck of dust anywhere. We were met with a very warm welcome, tea, and Jackie's home made cakes that were delicious ! We had been recommended to the Garden Suite as we have a six year old daughter, and it was amazing in every way, as other people have said the bed is the biggest and most comfortable we have ever slept in. It was great to know that was waiting for us after a busy day exploring Cornwall ! The room is exactly as you see it on the guesthouse website and looks like something out of an ideal homes magazine, the standard is so high and has so many little details that separate it from the crowd.

Steve's breakfast skills are exceptional, all cooked fresh to order from high quality ingredients and sourced locally. There were also juices, cereal and fruit to compliment this and everything was delicious. It was all presented in the most professional way and it was fantastic to sit and eat breakfast looking over the amazing view of the bay.

We have stayed in many hotels, guest houses etc, but have never previously experienced the level of courtesy and personal service that Steve and Jackie have shown us. They have a wealth of information on the local area and not only recommended where to visit but also the best places to park and eat. We were blown away when Steve offered to take us almost to Fowey for our evening meal one night so we could both have a drink, which we gratefully accepted, and he also arranged for a taxi to be waiting for us to bring us back, that's service ! We must also thank them for their interaction with our daughter, she couldn't wait to get back to the Lookout every night to show them what she had bought that day and Steve and Jackie were always ready to talk to her and play toys with her ( I'm sure we will always remember naughty Digger the dog!)

This is the first guesthouse that has ever compelled me to write a review on Tripadvisor, but we had to share our fantastic experience with other people, and we would encourage anyone looking to book a guesthouse in St Austell to choose The Lookout without hesitation.

It would be unfair to call this the best guesthouse in St Austell, it's the best in the whole of Cornwall. Thanks Steve and Jackie for making our holiday a memorable one, we can't wait to come back and stay with you again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post such an in depth and positive review. It really makes Jackie and I so.. so pleased that you found so much at The Lookout to help you enjoy your stay in Cornwall. I will long remember that very ‘interesting ‘drive down to beautiful Polkerris cove when taking you to ‘ Sam’s on the beach ‘ for dinner…great fun.
You were super guests… we both most certainly look forward to seeing you sometime in the near future. Tell your daughter to keep an eye on that Digger and the rest of her toys!!

Many thanks once again.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Steve and Jackie are the greatest of hosts. The accommodation is first class, the location is great and the whole experience should be admired by all.
We will more than definitely be returning to the Lookout, and anywhere we choose to stay in the future has to seriously raise their game to impress us further. Oh... and the bed... WOW!

Thank you for a memorable stay and a fantastic weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Likewise Jackie and I very much enjoyed having you both with us at The Lookout Guesthouse. Many thanks for your kind review we get such a buz knowing that our guests have really relaxed here. Glad the bed was to your liking.
Hope all goes well with the job and look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The lookout guest house exceeded all our expectations. After a long trip, we were welcomed by lovely hosts, beautiful room, colorfull sweet pea flowers and great view. Jackie and Steve carefully thought about everything in detail. The room was exactly what you see on the photo. Stylish, cosy and beautiful. Great bed and towels. Very clean. Breakfasts were tasty.Our daughter loved their company. Dear Jackie and Steve, thanks for your hospitality on our first trip to Cornwall. We will be back.

Room Tip: garden suite was a perfection
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Jackie and I very happy you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Lookout Guesthouse. It gives us great pleasure that we could help in making your first trip to beautiful Cornwall so pleasant. We do so appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive review. As we have said before we do find it very inspirational. You are welcome here anytime. Good luck with your good work!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tongeren, Belgium
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My sister and I had a great time visiting Cornwall. St Austell was our last stop on our roundtrip of Cornwall and we couldn't have asked for anything better to end our journey. Steve and Jackie made us feel very welcome and gave us really nice addresses for places to eat and things to do. One night Steve even proposed to bring us by car to our restaurant so that we could have more than a drink or two. On our first day we were welcomed by freshly made muffins on the deck where you have spectacular views over the bay. Steve and Jackie were very easy to talk to eventhough our english wasn't always perfect. Breakfast was delicious and the beds were heavenly. If you want to visit Cornwall, we would certainly recommend you to stay at the Lookout Guesthouse. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Your review really inspires us. Jackie and I are extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay here at the Lookout Guesthouse. You were both wonderful guests. It was great that your sister managed to play Carlyon bay golf course. We agree they are fantastic views up there. We feel very fortunate to overlook the same area. It was good that you both managed to see many of the fantastic places on this part of the beautiful Cornish coast. Hope you have a well earned rest over the summer. We most certainly would look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had planned to stay at the Lookout Guesthouse for just three nights (23-26 June), but the Garden Suite was so beautiful that we decided to extend an extra day.

The central location was great for exploring Cornwall - Eden Project, Treyarnon Bay, Kynance Cove, Charlestown, Mevagissey, etc. At the end of each day, we would be looking forward to our comfortable beds and the next day's sumptuous breakfast! The sea view from the deck was breathtaking and helped to perk us up every morning.

Steve and Jackie were excellent hosts and made our stay most enjoyable. They would get bunny rabbit flowers for our little one and show her their mimosa plant in the kitchen. They were also very thoughtful and got the wife a nice surprise on her birthday!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Many thanks for your great review. Jackie and I are so delighted you found your stay at The Lookout so comfortable. It was a pleasure having you here as guests. You managed to see many of the sites of beautiful Cornwall in your short time here...brilliant. We trust the training course continues to go well. Hope to see you in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed at the Lookout Guesthouse for two nights in early July 2013. It was, without a doubt, the best guesthouse experience we both have ever had. Our hosts, Jackie and Steve, couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. On arrival we were offered tea and coffee on their beautiful deck. Steve and Jackie were so friendly and welcoming that we instantly felt comfortable in their home. Our room was beautifully appointed with spectacular views of St. Austell and its surroundings...not to mention the bed- easily the most comfortable either of us have ever slept in! I know what you're thinking, what sets this guesthouse apart from all the others? Well, not only were our hosts friendly and welcoming- they also went the extra mile to ensure we has a wonderful stay! Steve and Jackie made all of our dinner reservations and Steve personally dropped us to the restaurants on both nights! Jackie also was good enough to do some washing for us too :) They both were so accommodating to us! In short, beautiful accommodation+exceptional hosts=amazing guesthouse experience! Thank you both so much, Sam and Sean xxx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M, Owner at The Lookout Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Brilliant that you had such a good experience here with us here at The Lookout…likewise you were great guests. Glad the room and bed were so comfortable it really is important to Jackie and I that you feel relaxed during your stay. After hearing about your trip on the ‘ Sky Wire’ at The Eden Project I must give it a go…no more excuses. Hope you made it to Stonehenge on your way home. It would be good to have you with us again sometime in the future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lookout Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lookout Guesthouse

Address: Coed Duon | Carclaze Road, St Austell PL25 3TA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lookout Guesthouse 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jackie and Steve hope you will find all the information you require to inspire you to join them for a memorable stay in their welcoming luxury guesthouse in St Austell. The Lookout Guesthouse is a bespoke architecturally designed house with spectacular panoramic views over St Austell Bay. We offer a boutique Garden Suite and two beautifully appointed luxury guest bedrooms (The Sea and The Cove). All rooms complete with superb large en-suites. We are situated 5 minutes from the Eden Project and close to many of Cornwall's major attractions. Breakfast is served in our unique octagonal breakfast room or during the summer months on our decking overlooking St Austell Bay. Begin your day with a choice of fruit juices, cereals, muesli, fruit compote and yoghurt whilst you await your freshly cooked English breakfast. Alternatively, you can always try one of our specials, for example; scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, or poached eggs on a toasted muffin. With a pot of freshly brewed tea or a cafetiere of ground coffee you will be set up for a full day exploring the delights of Cornwall! Our produce is locally sourced from quality suppliers. Where possible, we strive to use Fairtrade products. As Jackie is a coeliac, a gluten free menu is always available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Lookout Guesthouse St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lookout Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Lookout Guesthouse to your Saves list