We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good new restaurant for this area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Griggs

Griggs
Pendennis | Lower Sticker, St Austell PL26 7JH, England
01726 69997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 110 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Griggs' Restaurant is set in the heart of Cornish countryside and is adjacent to our Country Store. Offering a large dining area and cosy sofa's for a relaxed feel as well as the option to dine al fresco on our balcony while you enjoy some stunning rural views of the surrounding farmland. With ample free parking and good public transport links, access to the restaurant is via a short flight of stairs or by lift.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A good new restaurant for this area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by the layout, menu and staffing. John had a very good steak and I had fish and chips and like the other reviewer I loved the chips. We will be going back to try the Sunday roasts!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hello, thank you for lovely review! We are glad you enjoyed your food and welcome you both back for a lovely sunday roast soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    57
    15
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My family and I visited the newly opened Griggs resturant for dinner on a very wet and windy night and were warmly greeted, the twinkly candles in the tables and low lighting gave a wonderfully cosy atmosphere even though it has a big capacity.

The food was great, arrived quickly, despite all being cooked fresh, where you expect a delay.

Among the choices it really is the options on the special board that make your mouth water.

My partner and I shared the most delicious roasted beet, balsamic cream and goats cheese salad. The flavours were amazing together.

We both enjoyed the freshness and individual flavours of the Beef Rangtan with wild rice which was all made from scratch we were told.

My sons steak was also great, being from the restaurants own beef stock.

All in all the food shone through on a cold wet evening.

Definetly worth a try.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Hello, Thank you for your lovely review and thank you for braving the terrible weather to come try us out! We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed our food, and the wine no doubt! ;) Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Griggs Restaurant is GREAT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I visited Griggs Restaurant for the first time on 9 November 2012 with my in-laws. We had among the 4 of us ham egg and chips, beef in a cream pepper sauce and Jambalaya. The chips were unbelievably good, crisp outside, soft inside and very large. For drinks we had a nice Chardonnay, a lager shandy, a pear Rattler (cider) and a diet coke. The service was outstanding, the food was well prepared and hot. For dessert we had Cornish ice cream, chocolate cake and millionaires shortbread. I have been visiting Cornwall near Truro for over 30 years and this restaurant is a really nice addition to many of the great places to eat in Cornwall. The food and service were superior and very impressive for a restaurant that has only been open for 1 month. I will be certain to return again on my future visits to Cornwall. One all important last piece of information - Parking is plentiful and free. For a Great Dining Experience you should visit Griggs. This Tennessean will definitely return!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry V, Manager at Griggs, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write our first review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and really appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you, friends and family back very soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Griggs also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Griggs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Griggs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.