We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well kept secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Providence Farm B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Providence Farm B&B to your Saves list
Providence Farm B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bodmin Road | Carthew, St Austell PL26 8XG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A well kept secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Lorraine greeted us with freshly baked scones topped with jam and cream and a pot of tea. From here it only got better. We stayed in the cornflower room, which was very comfortable, quiet and provided a sound night sleep on each of the 4 nights were stayed. The breakfasts were magnificent, giving a choice of continental or cooked or both! Lorraine and Patrick were very genial and modt helpful in suggestions. They showed a keen interest on what we had done each day, too. Their dogs are cute, too. Millie is the quiet one and Puzzle is the mischievous one. Thoroughly recommended as the perfect place to stay in that part of Cornwall.

Room Tip: All rooms are much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights (in the Cornflower room) in order to visit Heligan and Eden. It has the feel of an old farmhouse. The property is well-maintained, our room with its ensuite was spotlessly clean and a good size. The breakfast was traditional "full English" and well-presented. Very pleasant owners. Obviously you need a car as its fairly remote but it's less than 20 minutes to fishing villages etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This a fantastic b&b! Excellent location, central to all the main locations in Cornwall. This is a very well maintained property both inside and out, with excellent hosts. My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights and found Lorraine extremely helpful with suggestions for both days out and places to eat. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to friends and family!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for 2 nights over a weekend in August and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Lorraine & Patrick were great hosts and very helpful with regards to logistics, car & bike hire.

Their farmhouse is well maintained and we'd happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. Location was stunning, easy access to all of Cornwall's major attractions.

Lorraine & Patrick fantastic hosts, rooms very clean, breakfast how you like it. Eggs fresh as they can be straight from hens on farm.

Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My sister, daughter and I spent five days staying at this fantastic B&B back in August - the drive from our homes on the Essex coast down to St. Austell in Cornwall took six hours (with a couple of stops) but boy, was it worth it..... Providence Farm is magical, set in a tranquil wooded valley, with rushing streams nearby. The rooms were five star hotel standard, spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated, and well appointed - the hosts, Patrick and Lorraine, went out of the way to make us welcome even giving us their front door key so that we could come and go as we pleased. As for the breakfasts.... well, with their own laying hens, you can imagine how good the eggs and bacon were - !! Can highly recommend this place to stay, and are looking forward to booking our return visit in the Spring.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Providence Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Providence Farm B&B

Address: Bodmin Road | Carthew, St Austell PL26 8XG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Providence Farm B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Providence Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Providence Farm B&B St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Providence Farm B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.