We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful B & B in st.austell” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford House B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bedford House B&B to your Saves list
Bedford House B&B
2 Pondhu Crescent, St Austell PL25 5DT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“wonderful B & B in st.austell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

comfort, cleanliness and a very caring host. Thank you for a wonderful stay and the most comfortable beds and lovely spacious rooms. obviously a lot of hard work has gone into the décor of each room - it was a very restful stay

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of house - it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    6
    1
    6
See reviews for
9
8
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The room was great along with the ensuite- it was much better than a big hotel. The breakfast was yummy with a wide selection of cereal- i loved the sausage!
The owner was very welcoming and helpful and we enjoyed our stay at the b and b.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I booked a single room and when I arrived found I had been given a spacious twin room with a decent sized bathroom and a conservatory area off it, which was had comfortable sofas in it to relax on. Everything was clean, tidy and well looked after. I had to leave before breakfast was served in the morning, but Richard showed me where everything was so I could help myself to cereal, yoghurt, fruit etc and very kindly, as I was heading off to do a charity bike ride, made me some hard boiled eggs to take with me. I thought it was very good value for the room and I would stay here again if I was in the area.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back of the house and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were a little disconcerted upon arrival to find that the owner, Richard, wasn't there! We had his mobile number, however, and he arrived shortly after we rang, giving us a warm and friendly welcome. Our first impressions on entering the house was that it was well appointed and welcoming, and we were very pleased with our room, which was comfortable, spacious and decorated to a good standard - very attractive. En-suite shower room was also of a good standard and the beds were comfortable. There was also a sofa on which to relax when reading or watching TV. As well as a TV, a tea/coffee making facility and hair dryer were also provided, plus some toiletries. Although the days were sunny and bright, temperatures at night dropped to almost freezing, but the heating was more than adequate, plus there was plenty of hot water for showering. Substantial breakfast provided: a variety of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurts, full English, plus toast, orange juice, tea or coffee. The B&B is well located for trips to all the well-known local attractions: Eden Project, Charlestown, Mevagissey, to name a few. Don't forget, this is a B&B and not a hotel and should not be compared to a hotel (although it's a lot better than some hotels I've stayed in!). We rather enjoyed the personal touch, instead of the anonymity of a larger establishment, and we would have no hesitation in returning to Bedford House.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I booked this accommodation for 3 adults for 2 nights and 11 days later I received an email stating that the B&B was no longer available ... 4 days before we were due to travel! Perhaps this was a breakdown in communication between Trip Advisor and the guest house, however, from our perspective, this was truly appalling customer service.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Poor signposting for the B&B then the phone numbers did not work to get in, the heating was not switched on and the bedding was insufficient to make up for the lack of heating,3 of the 5 lights in the room had blown bulbs, the TV did not work properly and the breakfast was not what i would have expected from a B& B OF THIS STAR CLASS.
we will not be using them again on our now frequent trips to Cornwall to see family

Room Tip: Use another B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Friendly owner Richard gave us a warm welcome on arrival and recommended nice restaurant nearby. Room is spacious and beautiful. Clean and quite. We travelled with a 9 month old baby and she slept soundly at night. Definitely value for money!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bedford House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford House B&B

Address: 2 Pondhu Crescent, St Austell PL25 5DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bedford House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford House B&B St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bedford House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.