We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok to eat at” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Project Cafe

Eden Project Cafe
White River Place, St Austell, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 107 Restaurants in St Austell
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: This is not a cafe at the Eden project, but in the local town, so a separate place completely although run by Eden.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ok to eat at”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I bought some scones from the basket that you could take away - they weren't the best...but they were cheap.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    51
    19
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice idea but appauling service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I very rarely write bad reviews and normally contact the business direct about bad experiences but on this occasion i felt i have to. Me my partner and my 2 yr old daughter sat down to enjoy a breakfast before cathcing a bus and visiting santa at the eden project. I noticed on the menu it said a free cup of tea if ordered before 11am before ordering i made sure i went up before 11am (10.55am to be exact) whilst ordering our breakfast i asked the waiter am i right in thinking we get a free cup of tea as it was before 11am he paused looked at me looked at the clock and did this a couple of times I did think to myself that this was strange at the time, I then realised what he was doing as soon as the clock turned 11 he looked back up at me and said 'no its just gone 11 so its not free' annoyed as i was i ordered the tea anyway. Please don't take me as being petty as its only a cup of tea and i fully appreciate there has to be a cut of time but it was the shear rudeness and manner of this individual was absolutley appualing his name was was Deryck. I have only mentioned times as i made sure to remember them to make a complaint but unable to do so on the website which i also thought was a bit crafty. Me and my partner have both lived in cornwall all our lives and this is such a dissapointment to be treated as we were bearing in mind the whole trip to eden including our local passes (as they had run out) cost us around £60 just to see santa for our little girl. All the staff at the cafe need to be spoken to and reminded that customer service is crucial to a successful business and espicially deryck.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Better value than you'd expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Considering the very high prices charged to enter the Eden Project we had expected the café to be a similar rip-off but were pleasantly surprised.
The food was well cooked and presented and was quite good value given that they have a captive audience on a cold and/or wet day.
However, the café situated in the Mediteranean Biodome intruded far too much on the space in that dome and served to underline how ordinary this is compared to the Rain Forest Dome.
The good news is that there is nothing to stop you taking in a picnic so in the summer months you need only be faced with the high admission prices (which we understand are being raised again in 2014 !)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Mediteranian Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

A wet and windy day is ideal for a quieter visit to the Eden Project if you dont like crowds.
A light lunch here was excellent. Its a small menu this time of year I guess. Pizza or paella, the latter was sold out at 1.15 and the portions still in the Paella pan looked super.
I would not normally report on a pizza but this really was excellent.
The "real deal" this is not a "Pizza Hut" or fast food joint pizza but fresh thin and very cripy base and excellent filling, even the tommato pure was delicious.
2 x bottles of St Austel beer and a pizza to share £15. Really hit the spot.
Well done Eden its 11 years since I last came and it really is still a wonder of the UK.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Well, what a surprise this was. When the breakfast arrived I felt a little short changed - it wasn't as big as I had expected. However I soon learnt that it was quality not quantity that mattered.
Every single mouthful was divine. Remember to toast yourselves a few hunks of the lovely bread whilst you wait for your plate to arrive and you MUST try the homemade ketchup - amazing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eden Project Cafe also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 
St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Eden Project Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Project Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.