We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tregongeeves Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tregongeeves Farm Cottages
Save
You added Tregongeeves Farm Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Tregongeeves Lane, St Austell PL26 7DS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Affligem, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Splendid!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed for 1 week in Quakers cottage with our 2 childeren (8 and 11).

Judith and John are the perfect hosts : they really make you feel welcome, always in for a chat, very helpful when it comes to tips about things to do in the area (both closeby as a bit further away). Although our childeren do not speak any English (being young Belgians), they had good fun helping Judith in the morning with feeding the animals or collecting the eggs.
They also enjoyed the games room and swimming pool, visiting them daily.

Tregongeeves Cottages are ideally situated near Saint Austell; within an hour's drive in any direction there are plenty things to do. We visited Tintagel (a lot of stairs!), enjoyed the beach in Padstow, went to Saint-Ives and visited Lanhydrock.
If you like walking, the south coastal path from the Lizard Point to Kynance Cove is just wonderful.

The cottage is everything you expect and more : gorgeous, very clean, well equipped. Judith and John obviously have put a lot of effort in making people feeling at home and thought of everything, even if you would be travelling with very young children.

We really loved it, and will definitely return for another holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently spent a fantastic family holiday in Lovedays cottage. I don't think there is much more to add to all the 5 star reviews on here other than to say it is all absolutely true. Our children (2 and 5 years old) loved it so much that they cried when we had to come home. Judith is a perfect host; warm, welcoming, friendly, and very knowledgeable about the area. The children absolutely adored her and she always took the time to chat to them when they were playing around near the cottages. The cottage was lovely; tastefully decorated, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The location is perfect for exploring the area with The Eden Project, Mevagissey, Fowey and The Lost Gardens of Heligan all just a short drive away. The facilities are brilliant. The animals are friendly. I almost don't want to tell anyone about this place because it will be permanently booked up at this rate, but Judith and her family work very hard to make it a perfect holiday destination and they deserve all the praise they get. We'll be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wing, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have recently returned from spending two weeks at the beautiful Tregongeeves Farm Cottages. The location of the cottages is brilliant for visiting loads of attractions in the area so there was always something to do and somewhere to go even when the weather wasn't great. The cottages themselves are amazing, we stayed in The Gallery, it was amazing, beautifully done out, extremely clean and everything you could possibly want with a family, stairgates, steriliser, toys, books, high chair too much to mention it was great! loads of room for our little ones to run around, we could have quite easily stayed for longer!
Our children loved collecting the eggs every morning with Judith and they loved feeding the other animals it was a pleasure to watch them spend time with her. The swimming pool was a hit as was the recreation room, everything you could wish for for a perfect family holiday!
Judith and her family are brilliant, so accomodating and couldn't do enough for us it was like home from home, there has been so much love and thought put into everyones stay you can't help but want to return again and again. Thank you so much!!!
Russ, Emma & Family

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teesside
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our first proper foray into self-catering and Tregongeeves cottages have set the bar high for any future comparisions.
We were in the cottage (Quakers) next to Janet R below, and yes there were 4 generations staying including a baby but we couldn't hear any noise whatsoever inside the cottage.
The cottage was spotless with a lot of nice added touches both inside the cottage and around the general area e.g. free loan of bucket and space, tennis rackets etc. and was very baby friendly with provision of stairgate and cot plus lots of emergency bottles and other periphery.
Have a look at the website and give Judith a call if there's anything you want to know, a very friendly hostess.
The only mistake we made was booking for a week....I guess we'll just have to go back for two next time !

Room Tip: Quakers has one double and 1 twin plus enough space for a cot in the twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous week spent in at Tregongeeves Farm Cottages, staying in Donkey Mill. There were four generations of us - from 8 months to 80+ - and this place was simply perfect. The attention to detail made all the difference. After a six hour journey, we were treated to a home made cream tea, and provisions for breakfast the next morning. The cottage was well stocked - plenty of towels, games, books, cleaning equipment and toilet rolls - an odd thing to say but we have stayed at plenty of places where we have needed to go shopping immediately in order to get the bare essentials - these were all taken care of - including bread and milk - so thoughtful. The swimming pool was great. We thought it might be a bit cool, but the temperature was just right. The Jacuzzi was an added treat. We had fun in the recreation room - again fully equipped with plenty of games for rainy days. We enjoyed fresh eggs every morning and loved feeding the animals on the farm. Judith was very friendly and helpful. The cottages are well positioned to explore the surrounding area. Couldn't recommend the place more highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon england
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
486 helpful votes 486 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

There are many ways to extol the virtues of these cottages, we have known both their caravan site for many years and the last couple of years their cottages. Judith and their family have always given us both excellent and thoughtful service throughout the years. We discovered their caravan site first when we had a camper van and wanted somewhere that did not have a noisy club house, we progessed to their caravans and a couple of years ago to their well equipped cottages.
We have spent two relaxing Christmas's in one of their cottages for two and have felt pampered from the moment we arrived, the fridge was filled with breakfast goodies and one can buy eggs warm from the chickens when required and if you don't feel like cooking a real homemade pasty.
For us to swim on Christmas Day was an absolute treat and the adjacent leisure room has all that you need to keep a family of all ages amused on days when the weather is poor.
Unfortunately this year our plans excluded a visit but hopefully we will soon be able to return and enjoy what we consider the best holiday cottages in Cornwall.
As a base for exploring Cornwall, it is perfect, with Truro only twenty minutes away in a car, in the evenings with the comfort surroundings you can plan the next days adventure. Over the years we have compiled a notebook of the best pubs to visit for lunch, for our 'grey cell' are not as efficient as they used to be ! Beautiful beaches to comb or relax on make a perfect holiday, but to return to relaxing and well equipped surroundings, completes the perfect holiday.

Room Tip: For couples Swallows is perfect. The site does show what is available for families, all are excelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Tregongeeves is as close as it can be to perfection - with 5 Star accommodation, great playroom, indoor pool and, of course, the animals for the children (and some of the grow-ups if they admit it!).

We enjoyed our second stay in Lovedays, which we all loved last year. This time we were here for our daughter's 9th birthday (at her insistence) and she's already planning the same for her 10th! As for the wonderful Judith, she is the best property owner we have ever met. Judith welcomes everyone as personal friends, she is always ready with helpful information and local tips and is happy to act as 'Pied Piper' for the kids each morning when she takes them to feed the animals. She even presented a homemade birthday cake and some beautiful fluffy socks to Katie for her birthday - where else would you get that?

We will definitely be returning and would award more than five stars if we could. The only problem of course is that we really don't want too many people to know our secret!!!

Room Tip: We had a look at all the rooms last year before we left and ,rest assured, whichever you pick they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tregongeeves Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregongeeves Farm Cottages

Address: Tregongeeves Lane, St Austell PL26 7DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in St Austell
Hotel Class:4 star — Tregongeeves Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self catering cottages set around a flower filled courtyard. Close to the Eden Project and Heligan Gardens, with the South Coast beaches just 3 miles away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tregongeeves Farm Cottages St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tregongeeves Farm Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.