We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good as always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Pyramid

The White Pyramid
Trewoon, St Austell, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 107 Restaurants in St Austell
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very good as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Great food. Fair prices for the great portions you get. Best mixed grill ive ever had. Run by nice people. Good drinks choice inc local beers etc. Hand cut chips are yummy. Great specials and fish dishes. Deserts are great too if you can fit them in. Be sure to visit this place. Never had a starter so cant comment on that bit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Read about this in local tourist magazine and thought worth a visit. Mistake, location fine a couple of miles outside of St Austell. Booked in advance, trust me no need. We entered in the pub in the bar area, which was fine, taken to the so called restaurant through dingy corridors with broken and scabby furniture lying around the floor, alarms bells started to ring. Taken to this restaurant which also serves as function room, half tables laid the rest not. The restaurant could not have been any less attractive if they had tried, one other couple eating.
We had starter of mushrooms which resembled toast toppers, followed by trout which in fairness was ok, my other half had chicken breast in a cheese and bbq sauce. The chicken needed armbands as it was drowning in the bbq sauce, picture the BP oil spill in the usa a few years ago. The cutlery was dumped in front of me rather than laid out, and I was embarrassed to have to ask for a normal knife instead of a steak knife for my trout. Quality of service was pretty average. The prices were very expensive for what they offered.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sw
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“compliments to the chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

we have eaten here twice in the last week, the food is delicious, served quickly and
very politely.
Could not fault any of service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Bloody good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Superb food, well worth a visit. Steak was cooked as her indoors(chef) had asked, and I had the biggest piece of cod I have ever seen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I eat in this establishment on a regular basis, probably once a week or fortnight since the present landlords took over. I have never had a bad meal, the price is comparable to similar pubs but the portion size is more than adequate unless you have a serious over-eating disorder. I cannot understand the few negative comments I have read. The pub IS children friendly, the staff and landlords are friendly. I am not easy to please but The White Pyramid pleases me every time, and no, I have no personal connection to the owners. I just eat there, and enjoy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Pyramid also viewed

Charlestown, St Austell
 
St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to The White Pyramid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Pyramid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.