We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Fish Again - disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Trebonney Fish And Chip Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Trebonney Fish And Chip Restaurant
21 Fore Street | Roche, St Austell pl268ep, England
01726890529
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 107 Restaurants in St Austell
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
“No Fish Again - disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Third time to the shop and no fish again, had run out, feel sorry for the staff working there appears not enough fish being ordered. The previous time it had run out there was a whole long list of things that had run out. I am local and have never known it run out before. Please make sure there is enough fish, after all it is a fish and chip shop!!! Had to resort to other local fish and chip shops all three times

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duncan j, Owner at Trebonney Fish And Chip Restaurant, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
jubes1234, I am sorry you were disappointed, on the day you visited us, we had been extremely busy, which was not predicted and could not have been forseen, also at 7.45pm, and so close to closing time, there will always be a chance that cod has sold out. We always try to prepare enough fish fresh each day, to ensure the freshness and quality is as high as possible, so unfortunately the issue is not related to ordering, we have to plan ahead, and cod is always cut prior to opening each morning. We also have other fish available, such as Hake, (a white fish of the cod family and very tasty) Haddock, Plaice (battered or breaded) Rock Salmon, Scallops and cod roe, which is possibly the largest selection of fish available in the area, we also take telephone orders, so if you are intending to visit us later on, you are very welcome to call and reserve your order for collection at your convenience, I appreciate your custom and feedback, and I hope you will continue to visit us, and take advantage of phoning your order in advance. Kind regards, Trebonney Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    3
    1
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roche, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“BAD SERVICE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Visited this establishment on TUESDAY 14TH JAN at just shy of 8PM. WAS Told they were closing as had run out of stock.. the shop was supposed to close 8.30. THE girl on duty said'' Well, we do have homes to go to you know ''
If this shop had enough stock, the girl would have had to be there, working. What a very unfriendly/unhelpful attitude this female had to customers who were in this shop at this time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duncan j, Owner at Trebonney Fish And Chip Restaurant, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Our opening hours are Monday - Thursday 11.30 - 13.45 and 16.45 - 20.00, Friday and Saturday evenings we close at 20.30. So the fact that you arrived around closing time, is why the shop was closing. In order to keep the quality of our food as high and fresh as possible, (fish doesn't stay fresh for long) we prepare everything fresh each day, We have been very busy, and arriving at closing time? its no surprise there would not be much left, at 8pm on a Tuesday in January. I have spoken to all staff who were on duty that night and they have no recollection of your experience, and considering you have left a poor review previously, but you have not left any other reviews, would suggest you are BOGUS, however if not, please feel free to call into the shop and discuss your experience in detail, I would be more than happy to discuss matters with you. We go to great lengths and expense to ensure our food s of the highest quality, by using the best cooking mediums, the best quality fish and potatoes, all staff are trained to ensure our food is always fresh and of high quality, so complaints are very rare indeed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We simply happened to pass this fish and chips shop on our way home.
The portion size is very large and the fish tasted very nice. Nothing to complain. Price seemed reasonable too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Top Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

If you want fish and chips then you just can't go wrong with this place good price good sized portions and absolutely top quality, I can't praise this place enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Austell,Cornwall,uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“eexcellent fish and chips s .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

batter on fish cooked to perfection chips golden brown very reasonable price and friendly staff . we go there quite often ....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trebonney Fish And Chip Restaurant also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 
Looe, Cornwall
 

Been to Trebonney Fish And Chip Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trebonney Fish And Chip Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.