We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carvery Sunday lunch excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Cliff Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Cliff Head Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Cliff Head Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in St Austell
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Carvery Sunday lunch excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

From the very welcoming staff, the lovely location, the quality and quantity of the food every aspect made our Sunday lunch a delight. We were blessed with a superb day - and without rain, but despite that good luck we would highly recommend a visit for the carvery to anyone. My husband is still reeling at how much meat I was given ( and ate!). The carvery chef went to special lengths to ensure I had a nice rare portion of the beef, the vegetables were nice and firm and a good selection and the sauce and accompaniments of a high order. All round a really good value for money meal - thank you

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Cliff Head Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Makes you feel hungry just reading your lovely review. Our Head Chef really enjoyed cooking, serving and chatting to our carvery guests - it was a great success. He provides the same high standard of dining for all our functions, whether it’s a romantic meal for 2, a wedding breakfast for 60 or a Civic Ball for a 100. So do give us a call if you have a future event as we would love to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    120
    78
    37
    24
See reviews for
54
194
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very disappointing stay, the executive room we booked several weeks in advance was, due to a booking error allocated to someone else. We were offered a much inferior and very small room, the very reason we took the trouble to book a larger room
We eventually were offered a family room, not ideal, we were also offered a morning newspaper as compensation and we declined as we felt this did not compensate for the let-down.
The receptionist said the manager was out at the moment and she would ask the manager to contact us on their return, this never happened, in fact we did not see a manager the whole time we were there
We found the staff less than friendly, no eye contact from the reception staff, nor did they greet us at any point during our stay, we found the whole stay very unpleasant and decided to leave a day early.

Room Tip: Caution, just because you book in advance does not guaranty you will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cliff Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay, but pleased to say that a number of changes have taken place between your stay in March 2012 and your review in January 2013. The restaurant has been redecorated, several of our bedrooms redecorated, new beds, new mattresses, redecoration of our lounge and work in our reception, as well as a new Management Team with a new General Manager and new Head Chef. We do hope you will consider visiting us again so you can view these changes, perhaps on one of our Garden or Walking Breaks or perhaps revisit Eden - that has changed too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solihull
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Had a few days here again and found it to be better than last year.The staff are still as good and so are the breakfasts.We had the room next to the one we had last year and there has been many good improvements made.the room was not big but was well furnished and a fantastic 5 foot bed ,the mattriss was very very good.They also have WI-FI.Well done all at the Cliff Head.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cliff Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
It was lovely to see you again and we are pleased you noticed the changes we are making - it all takes time but will be worth it. So pleased you liked the new mattresses - they really are comfy aren’t they. Our friendly team looks forward to welcoming you back - see you soon and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinderford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have been an Eden Friend since 2002 and had decided to take my artist partner Jackie to the Eden Project and enjoy a spot of ice-skating at the same time. It was the last chance for us to "break something" before Christmas!
With that in mind I chose the Cliff Head Hotel in St. Austell because it was a short drive away from Eden.
I must admit that finding Sea Road (and the Hotel) in the dark was a bit challenging, but we eventually made it. And what a warm and friendly hotel it was.
After checking in we made our way to our warm and cosy bedroom with an unexpectedly large bathroom. Jackie made use of the bath while I unpacked. The room was quiet and we didn't know it until the following morning but our room had a sea view too.
Before dinner we sat in the lounge with two glasses of rose but were soon wandering around looking at the exhibition of paintings by a local artist. An impressive display of work.
There weren't that many people staying when we visited so we were offered the opportunity of eating in the lounge. Instead we plumped for the restaurant.
The food wasn't as spectacular as some meals that we've enjoyed in other hotels but it wasn't anything to complain about either. Our three courses were appetising and well presented ...and after our long drive from the Forest of Dean were just what we needed. We took a "nightcap" in the lounge and looked at more of the paintings on show.
Breakfast in the restaurant was being served to a few more guests. Our Full English was waitress ordered and waitress served, far better than pre-cooked food sweating under lamps on a side table.
Our brief stay at the Cliff Head Hotel had certainly met our needs and will be a place to return to on our next visit to the Eden Project.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cliff Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed the original artwork by local artist Lozena. We pride ourselves on being a traditional hotel with a warm and friendly welcome and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon and thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A really really lovely location- away from any busy roads. The street the hotel is on is amazing in itself, lined with hydrangeas and the sea. Service in the hotel was faultless, breakfast delicious and varied. Our room was large enough (we had two dogs with us) although the bathroom was a little awkward to move around in. The hotel is a little stale in parts, but I think it reflects the budget. The whistling wind and sounds of the sea at night more than made up for the bathroom's shortcomings and tired decor. Truly can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cliff Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
We would love you to return often too. Cornwall has such lovely coastal walks and the coastal path is just opposite the hotel, perfect for your two lovely dogs. Book direct with us and if you found the room ideal for your dogs we will do our best to book you into the same room. See you all soon - and thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I recently hosted an evening dinner for 60 persons at The Cliff Head Hotel. First class service and food. Attentive service despite the howling gale and flooded roads which reduced staff numbers available.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cliff Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you - your review is appreciated. Lisa, my Events Manager, has considerable experience and certainly wouldn’t let the weather spoil an event. We cater for a variety of events including Weddings, Anniversaries, Parties, Christenings and Conferences, so do let Lisa know if she can help you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Staff very friendly, we asked for softer beds, the usual being very hard on a solid base, as my wife has had back surgery, and we were given a room no.58 on the ground floor which we could not fault. The bed was very comfortable the facilities we found good with lots of instant hot water. We asked for skimmed milk and were given it in a jug for our room as well as on the table. We heard one woman complain at the breakfast session because some things had run out and had to be replenished but that's to be expected and it did not take long for the chef to rectify this. Some people have no patience and complain at the smallest thing. She was even muttering the night before about her evening meal and yet when the waiter asked if everything was o.k. she said yes. We had 2 meals in the restaurant at night which were fine. There was a reasonable choice of food and cooked very well. As for being dated, in these very bad recessionary times it would cost many thousands to refurbished such a hotel and although it was painted over wallpaper it was extremely clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you need it, away from kitchens and main areas and not next to children and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt R, Manager at BEST WESTERN Cliff Head Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
What a lovely review - thank you. I do hope your wife is on the road to recovery. Chef will be pleased you noticed we replenish our breakfasts - rather than leaving it all out. We like to provide guests with a quality fresh hearty breakfast. Please do come back and visit us again and we will do our best to provide you with the same comfortable room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Cliff Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Cliff Head Hotel

Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Cliff Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel in the heart of Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Cliff Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Head Carlyon Bay
BEST WESTERN Cliff Head Hotel St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Cliff Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.