We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlyon Bay to your Saves list
The Carlyon Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in St Austell
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“first time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

found hotel clean and the staff very friendly ,evening meal in restaurant was excellent and also the breakfast ,the staff in the spa bar and restaurant could not do enough to help and made us feel very comfortable and relaxed ,the only thing is that I suffer from back pains and the mattress felt like a herd of elephants ran down the middle of it so I kept rolling back to the middle which resulted to a poor nights sleep ,other then that would return no problem and would recommend this hotel to family and friends on my return I will ask if they have a firmer mattress.

Room Tip: sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for writing a review following your stay. I was pleased to read about you impression of our very friendly staff and also your “excellent” evening meal in the restaurant. I was sorry to hear of your back problems, i can assure you our mattresses are regularly reviewed. Please do speak to our reservations team when placing future bookings who will be happy to try and fulfil any requests you may have. We shall look forward to welcoming you here in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    182
    65
    17
    16
See reviews for
123
370
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was our third visit to the hotel and I must say we are never disappointed. The location is stunning and, as golfers, we feel you would be hard pressed to find a more spectacular course than that at Carlyon Bay. The accommodation, the food and the standard of service are second to none and the facilities offer something for everyone. The staff are friendly, efficient and very professional with nothing being too much trouble. We will certainly be spending more holidays there, it is worth the effort of the long journey from Manchester. We had a 7 night stay in a deluxe room with fabulous views, it was everything we wanted.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review and all of your wonderful comments. Our championship golf course is extremely popular with our regular guests and local members. Its diversity sets it apart from the rest with spectacular views over St Austell bay. We hope that when you return to stay you will have an even better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guantánamo, Guantanamo, Cuba
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Have just returned from a three night stay, to celebrate our 20th Anniversary. Upon arrival we were told that our room was not ready and would we like to store our luggage in their secure locked room, we handed it over to the doorman, who took it away. We returned about 2 hours later, after having some lunch, to find our luggage left un-supervised in a busy corridor near the restaurant . When we went back to reception they re took our luggage, saying it should have been locked away and they would send it up to our room once it was ready, they didn't really apologise and we didn't make a fuss. However, on our last day the weather changed and my wife went to put on her Ralph Lauren Cardigan/jacket but couldn't find it. The weather had been beautiful and she was sure that she hadn't worn it. To be on the safe side we went to reception to ask if she had left it anywhere and if it had been handed in. We were told to come back in 20 minutes so that receptionist could phone all the various departments and personally check the lost property. Upon our return we were told that sadly it had not been handed in. My wife then said that she didn't think that she had worn it anyway, but had definitely bought it, and maybe it went missing when our luggage was left untended. I then mentioned CCTV. The receptionist then went away and returned in seconds with my wife's cardigan/jacket which she said she had just found behind a pile of boxes!!! On a positive note, the food was excellent, although the service was poor. The spa and pools were lovely and spotlessly clean and the treatments and service my wife received in the spa were excellent. I would just recommend that you keep your luggage with you or store it in your car if your room is not ready when you arrive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. We were very pleased to hear you enjoyed the spa and pools during your stay and I was also very happy to hear that your wife enjoyed the spa treatments. I apologise for any confusion over your luggage and your wife’s cardigan, however i was pleased to hear that it was later found. I will pass the comments about this onto our management team, where this will be investigated further. We hope to welcome you back to The Carlyon Bay Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Returned to this lovely hotel knowing that the service would be second to none. So many people on hand to help us and wonderful attention from all the staff. My 91 year old Mother and I are not golfers but loved the Spa facilities and buggy ride across the golf course to the private beach. Food - fabulous.
Thank you, everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. It was lovely to hear you and your Mother were able to enjoy our facilities. I will pass on your thanks to the staff and we hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Just experienced a fabulous three day stay at this hotel in a party of four. The superb location, facilities, and all members of staff including the gardeners made this a first class hotel. The food and service alone makes this more than a four star hotel and now that I have discovered this hotel I shall be returning. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: If possible get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank for you very kind review about the hotel and our staff. We are lucky to be in such a spectacular location and work very hard to maintain the high levels of customer service and the quality of the facilities. We are delighted to hear you would recommend us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

What a fabulous Hotel!...We have just returned from a four night stay at This Hotel...it was our first
Stay at The Carlyon Bay ...from the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more attentive & courteous whilst also being personable ...we were upgraded to a sea view room...the room was clean & pleasant...the restaurant staff were impeccably dressed & observed the upmost in etiquette whilst being very friendly. The reception team & management were first class.The facilities were very good..Tennis, spa, golf ..with racquets/clubs available...lovely surroundings..the setting was perfect. nothing was too much trouble...it's my Birthday today & I was sad to leave...I would definitely recommend this hotel & look forward to returning soon. Fabulous

Room Tip: Rooms to the first floor are generally quieter & may give you a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Firstly i would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your review and i hope you have had fantastic birthday. Your feedback is very rewarding to read and i will be sure to pass your comments onto the management team and staff. I am sure everybody from the “impeccably dressed” restaurant staff to the “first class” reception team we be thrilled to read your review. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Beautiful setting and fabulous service throughout. Enjoyed the hotel facilities and excellent food at breakfast. Clean and comfortable room with an excellent view. Good spa facilities. Highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrendHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Carlyon Bay, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Your comments with regards to our beautiful setting and fabulous service throughout are very pleasing to hear. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and also for highly recommending us, we look forward to welcoming you to The Carlyon Bay hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlyon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.