We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlyon Bay to your Saves list
The Carlyon Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in St Austell
Blaenavon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Carlyon Bay Hotel is a very well kept and managed facility and caters for everyone we have stayed here four times within te last year along with other hotels in the Brend Group. The hotel is spotless , modern and everything is provided, staff are very well mannered and nothing is to much trouble, food is goodandtherearetwo restaurants to choose from I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    183
    65
    17
    16
See reviews for
123
370
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

food & wine was excellent in all restaurants, service was also excellent and very attentive.

the two young women servers in the "taste restaurant" really need appreciation, well done girls.
doorman was very helpful and knowledgeable for places to visit.

the 2 poor things were the shower in the room, (gravity fed and was over a bath & curtain!!) and two single beds pushed together for a double which were at different heights!! for rooms that cost this much, a walk in power shower should be in place, a bit dated!!.

overall, a great time.

Room Tip: sea view rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We have been using this hotel for short 3 day breaks for at least 10 years, visit more than once a year and have never been disappointed. From the moment we arrive we are looked after. The rooms are very clean and fresh, the dining it top class. Wonderful lounge for resting after meals or for a quiet drink, superb spa facilities and this family hotel is deserving of its 4 star rating.

At a previous visit we took the family for our 40th Wedding Anniversary and the hotel staff were so helpful to my daughters in creating surprises.

Room Tip: Carlyon Bay inland rooms on second floor are excellent value and our preferred choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed at Carlyon Bay over the May bank holiday weekend together with our daughter and grandson. We had been there several times before and never been disappointed, but this was their first visit. The hotel is in a beautiful position with lovely sea views and within easy reach of many local beauty spots and interesting villages. Our rooms were the basic classic level and were small, but comfortable, well appointed and spotlessly clean. The restaurant food was excellent with a very reasonable choice of dishes and good value for money. With a teenager in the party we appreciated the flexibility of eating options available. All the well trained hotel staff were unfailingly friendly, efficient and helpful making us feel very welcome. We were able to make good use of the leisure facilities, in particular the golf and spa and also found time for a few spectacular coastal walks. It was a very enjoyable weekend for us all and I can certainly recommend The Carlyon Bay as an excellent short break destination.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Boys golf - excellent.
Girls days out in surrounding areas -fab!!

Food - very good.

Staff - Mostly all very very good.

Only one thing let hotel down and that was poor shower in bathroom.... sorry but needs sorting out for such a nice hotel in all other ways.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at carlyon bay in April for our wedding anniversary and from the moment we arrived everything was perfect.
The dining staff couldn't help enough and the evening meal was absolutely delicious which was included in the price of our room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Accidently went here really . We were on motorbikes and so wasnt sure if we would be welcome but indeed we were and the concierge/doorman was most welcomig. Fabulous place, fabulous lunch in an idyllic setting. Service top stuff. Only wish i could afford to stay there for a week

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlyon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.