We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyon Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlyon Bay to your Saves list
The Carlyon Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in St Austell
Ashburton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Everything about the hotel was excellent, over and above what we expect. Of special note was the perfect temperature of the pool, the sauna shower and changing facilities all flowed for comfort and warmth, The table d'hote menu gave an excellent choice and never disappointed.The Brend family have got it wright.

Room Tip: we loved the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    182
    65
    17
    16
See reviews for
123
369
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Excellent hotel fascilities could not fault the food and the staff were as expected nothing to much trouble.
Rooms with a sea view are a must because the views are wonderful to wake up to in the mornings with a cup of tea.

Room Tip: Sea view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

First visit to Carlyon Bay. Was part of large group on a leisure break to play golf , weather day one was appalling, day two completely different golf in polo shirts first week of March. There has been an obvious recent refurbishment and the overall quality is superb. Can only reiterate other peoples comments in that the staff are first class from a simple good morning ( sadly lacking in U K hotels)to very attentive staff in all areas from the golf club , to reception , bars and restaurant .Rooms are kept immaculate by housekeeping including a turn down service in the evening.Food is very very good ( although some of my colleagues had some bad steaks which can happen anywhere) Excellent , we will be back

Room Tip: Get a sea view room , it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Having had a long and awful journey due to high winds and rain it was such a relief to walk through the door and be met by a friendly yet professional team. The room surpased my expectations and with the spectacular view this is my idea of heaven!.The food was excellent and the service faultless.As a lone traveller it can be difficult to pick the right hotel where your privacy is respected but you get just the right amount of attention to allow you to relax and enjoy the ambience. Although only staying for one night I wouldn't hesitate to book another stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Torrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

It is challenging to find the best words to describe our stay at the Carlyon Bay other than to say that it was most enjoyable made more so by the contribution from the staff at the hotel. We are always impressed by the standards of the Brend hotels and the Carlyon Bay lived up to and surpassed our expectations. The facilities are good and well serviced. The rooms are very comfortable. Food is excellent and the service provided by the friendly and helpful staff top it all off. There is absolutely nothing we did not enjoy staying at the Carlyon Bay for our short break.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to this hotel. The staff are always friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The room was lovely with great sea views. Food was good. Would certainly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewkerne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Have just spent 3 nights at the Carlyon Bay Hotel, Cornwall. Great hotel, excellent food, superb service from very friendly staff. 4 rounds of golf on the cliff top course with beautiful views out to sea. My wife, myself and the two friends we went with will all return. Will certainly recommend it to all my friends especially the golfing ones.

T A Lawrence

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlyon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyon Bay

Address: Sea Road, St Austell PL25 3RD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St Austell
#4 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#4 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyon Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Carlyon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
Carlyon Bay St Austell
Carlyon Bay Hotel St Austell
The Carlyon Bay St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlyon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.