We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most magical venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa to your Saves list
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boscundle, St Austell PL25 3RL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The most magical venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

My partner and I held our civil partnership ceremony at Boscundle in August 2008. To arrange the most perfect of ceremonies we had the pleasure of staying at the hotel on a number of occasions leading up to our big day! Sharon Parker was a fantastic wedding planner and made the most important day of our lives simply perfect!

The staff were wonderful and attentive at all times and during our exclusive use of the property leading up to the big day they made our families feel very welcome and very much at home! Even our 3 dogs were made to feel like cherished guests enjoying the pigs ears the chef had roasted especially for them!

All of our 90 guests were effusive in their praise for the event and the venue in equal measure! The whole weekend, and indeed all of stays at this hotel were magical!

This really is a Cornish treasure!

Cant wait to pay Sharon, David and all at Boscundle a visit sometime soon!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    107
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
84
311
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

Boscundle manor is wonderful we did not stay but went for my birthday and dined at the restaurant which is just divine
The atmosphere cuisine are simply first class.
St.Austell lacks decent restaurants but Boscundle Manor fortunately is one of the best we have. They make you feel very welcome and if they know it is a special occasion they will go that extra mile.
Food is wonderful we started off with delicious canapés followed by are starters of scallops and soup then onto our mains with sea bass and fillet of steak with cleared plates all round I was looking forward to trying a desert but my husband had organized a birthday cake which was made on the premises especially for me couldn’t quite manage a dessert on top if I was giving out Michelin stars I would award it to them.
Thank you for a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Excellent all round .....Take care over Ian's paoched eggs !!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

We were visiting the Eden Project and thought it would be nice to stay the night before as we were going to be doing alot of driving. Searched on Trip advisor the evening before for accommodation around the area, phoned the hotel for availability but didn't actually book anything as we thought we would decide where to stay when we arraived at our destination.
I phoned the hotel when we arrived and they were most helpful. The staff could not do enough to accomodate your needs and were extremely friendly. The evening dining room was very relaxing and romantic, meal was delicious!! and the breakfast really set you up for the day.
We stayed in the Charlotte room which was great as it was away from the hotel situated in it's own cabin, so was lovely and felt very private.
Overall the our stay was made very welcome and relaxed and I would love to have the opportunity to stay again, next time though I will take advantage of the swimming pool, hot tub and spar!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Stayed at Boscundle to celebrate wedding anniversary. Booked Emily room, good size room in the manor house on the first floor overlooking the fountain. Housekeeping at bit disappointing, the dirty wet towels placed in the bath to be changed were just folded up and put back on the side and the teabags were not replaced, but both problems were sorted out quickly when brought to the staffs attention.
Nice indoor pool and robes provided as no changing area. Breakfast is in the conservatory and good food served. You can pick as much or as little of the full english breakfast as you want and although baked beans were not on the menu they were added to the plate on request. Staff friendly and helpful, Ian always dashing around getting you fresh pots of tea and the basket of hot toast.
Hotel in good location for the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens. Fowey is also worth a visit and take a boat trip around the harbour.
Had evening meal at the hotel for one evening which was nice enough but also tried Austells which was excellent and the Pier Hotel in Charlestown which was reasonable pub grub.
Overall a very nice hotel and we had a pleasant stay despite a power cut one night, so had to go out with wet hair and no hot water the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

The owners and staff were so helpful and kind. My husband had a broken leg and the hotel could not have been more helpful, concerned and thoughtful. There is a lovely atmosphere in the hotel, the place is spotless and beautifully furnished and the hot tub and indoor pool were just what was needed for a bit of 'me' time. I booked a spa treatment but couldn't keep my appointment as my husband's damaged leg necessitated a few unscheduled hospital trips, but next time we visit I will book myself in for a lot of pampering.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

The website for Boscundle really does promise a dream stay and on most levels we werent disappointed.
On arrival we were served with fabulous tea and cake and although our room wasnt ready, we were made to feel comfortable in the splendid lounge.
We were shown to our room (one of the cottage rooms) which although ticked many of our boxes unfortunately had an interconnecting door which proved to be very noisy when you have a whole other family the other side! If your budget allows, i would suggest a more expensive room without the worry of a disturbance.
The room was clean and the robes, toilettries, fresh milk were welcome,however on a couple of days while we were there, housekeeping was a bit hit and miss - no clean cups or fresh milk and bed barely made (best bit about hotels!!) and no towels even though i had put in bath for a change. However, this was not every day so it was probably one of the days we noticed that the hotel was very short staffed. One day breakfast was served by one poor chap to 14 guests as he was trying to check guests out and run reception - giving information to guests on how to walk to Eden while juggling plates and taking orders! Perhaps this was the day he made our beds!!
Location is fab. Eden by car is 10 - 15 minutes and looked easy to walk.
Restaurant food was good (maybe a bit pricy, £35 for 3 courses) but they cater for children sensibly offering us a pasta dish as an alternative for our children.
Breakfast was fair. A couple of mornings there were food options listed missing which was frustrating, but as always the staff were attentive and tried hard to put right any problems.
We did have a problem with our toilet in our room but we were told that 'it been like that for ages' and although we suggested we would prefer it to be fixed (we were a family of 4 for a week in one room) there was no handyman available and no one came to see to it. Again, maybe because we were in one of the 'cheaper' rooms it didnt matter to them so much but it bugged us when you are paying nearly £200 a night.
The pool inside is stunning and definitely worth a try. Hot tub is also good and they are happy for children to use it which is nice. We didnt use the health spa but it looked nice.
The grounds are super and the place is very relaxing. I would recommend Boscundle but maybe do your research about your room first, particularly if you need peace and quiet.
Thanks to the staff we did see who helped make our stay such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa

Address: Boscundle, St Austell PL25 3RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#5 Family Hotel in St Austell
#6 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one mile from Cornwall's famous Eden project and set in 5 acres of its own private, quiet grounds, Boscundle Manor truly is a wonderful oasis in which to relax and unwind. The first thing you notice is that the building really is as pretty as it looks in the pictures and the welcome you get from the staff right through to the complimentary pot of tea and slice of cake, puts you instantly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant St Austell
Boscundle Manor St Austell
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant And Spa St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.