We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa to your Saves list
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boscundle, St Austell PL25 3RL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in St Austell
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Pleasant break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My wife and I spent one night here at the end of July to celebrate our anniversary. We have two young children so we were looking for short, quiet, relaxing break having left them with the grandparents.
We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room which was quaint, comfortable and smartly laid out and decorated. The bathroom was well equipped and the shower of good quality. The bed was comfortable and the room was well stocked with the usual amenities.
We enjoyed a complimentary drink and cake on the lawn and headed for the spa. The pool was small but adequate, the hot tub worked well and was in a nice spot on the balcony area. Drinks were brought up for us to enjoy whilst we relaxed in the sun.
My wife enjoyed an excellent massage before we headed back to get ready for dinner. A party was occupying the entire restaurant so we ate in the conservatory which we had been advised about upon checking in. Being a warm evening this was a pleasant experience but I'm not sure I would have been so impressed had it been mid winter.
Unfortunately, when we retired to our room, we were serenaded for the next couple of hours by the singer and pianist brought in to entertain the aforementioned party. This was unfortunate as we were right above the party. I accept we were staying in a hotel (at one if their busiest times of year) and hotels accommodate functions as well as people such as ourselves and it is possible all other rooms were taken when we booked and that the hotel is an old manor house so walls and floors are thin but we might have at least appreciated warning and perhaps compensation of some kind for the disturbance.
That aside, we slept well despite no air conditioning (although an electric fan was provided in the room) and enjoyed a nice breakfast before heading off the next morning. All things considered, we enjoyed our stay at Boscundle and would happily visit again. It is very suitable for couples looking for a relaxing break, possibly not for families as there is nothing much for kids. But it is convenient for St Austell and the surrounding towns and seaside spots on the south coast.

Room Tip: Not Anne if you want peace. Although this may well not be a problem most nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    99
    22
    14
    6
See reviews for
78
286
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is well sign posted with brown signs from the main road and is tucked away in a beautiful, peaceful location
Our room, 1 of the cottages was beautiful and clean and everything we could have hoped for the staff were all very friendly and made us feel very welcome, would definitely recommend and will definitely be back, hopefully for longer next time

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nil
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

When we arrived the place was like the Mary Celeste.We had to tour the hotel shouting "HELLO" looking for some assistance. First impressions,are we in the LUXURY hotel advertised on the web site? The place was in dire need of some tender loving care. We had booked this place for three nights because it had an "award winning restaurant".... which we found out when trying to book a table, was shut for two of the three nights. Oh! and the bar was shut for the first two nights as well. Never again.

Room Tip: Pick another Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed here last year for a few days but had booked a 'family hotel' this year, however when we got to the 'other ' hotel it was horrible. We called Boscundle in our hour of need and they were brilliant. David found us rooms for the 4 nights and said he would make sure that there was a table for us for dinner that night.
We ended up staying in 3 different rooms and they were all great. The staff are all friendly, the food is great and the Manor is in a really quiet peaceful area. Just perfect, thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great stay in a really chilled hotel - albeit a bit short as only there for one night for the Eden Sessions nearby. Good facilities, friendly staff and a really great location. We will definitely be back some time soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Enjoyed a delightful two night stay in April 2014. the breakfasts, including one vegetarian, were very good. We decided to eat in the restaurant each evening and found both meals fully met hopes and expectations. We were very happy with our room and used our stay as a base to visit the local attractions. From our first arrival until our departure the staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and we would have no hesitation in booking again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

As you go up the drive to this hotel, it is very impressive & you can tell it is in a beautifully quiet part of the country.

The internet made the rooms look very impressive but we were a little let down by our room when we got there. The room was nice enough but definitely needed updating. We stayed in the Dorothy Manor room which was in the main building - I was disappointed to find sheets & blankets as opposed to a duvet. There were also carpets in the bathroom which never look completely clean. The room itself was very clean which was a positive and had some nice decorations i.e. vintage style radio - having said that, everythign was brown which made it seem very 1970s.

The service was really what made this trip stand out, the people were all lovely. They took our bags to our room & were very chatty.

Breakfast was impressive & delicious with a good selection of hot options.

Dinner was an impressive menu, however it was quite average on the plate. We had a package that included dinner but I think it would be overpriced for what it was if you were to pay for it.

We waked to the Eden Project the next day - took about 30-40 minutes so it is an ideal location for that - by walking you get £5 off the ticket price.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building don't require a walk through the gardens,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa

Address: Boscundle, St Austell PL25 3RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#5 Family Hotel in St Austell
#6 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one mile from Cornwall's famous Eden project and set in 5 acres of its own private, quiet grounds, Boscundle Manor truly is a wonderful oasis in which to relax and unwind. The first thing you notice is that the building really is as pretty as it looks in the pictures and the welcome you get from the staff right through to the complimentary pot of tea and slice of cake, puts you instantly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant St Austell
Boscundle Manor St Austell
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant And Spa St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.