We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot tub, pool, beautiful building - everything just fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa to your Saves list
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boscundle, St Austell PL25 3RL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hot tub, pool, beautiful building - everything just fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Honestly if you want to stay on the south coast of Cornwall - just book this place. We stayed a week (and got a paid for upgrade to one of the suites, which was well, well, worth it).

The pool is gorgeous and you feel like a rock star chilling in the open air hot tub. Breakfast GREAT the only thing that I'd wish is that they'd offer an alternative to the full 3 course dinner in the evening, like a bar menu or something - then I'd eat there every night.

I will be booking again - and i honesly love this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    107
    26
    14
    9
See reviews for
84
310
11
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Amazingly beautiful hotel and very friendly staff. Amazing heated indoor swimming pool, towels provided and outdoor bath tub. Great variety of choice for breakfast, including smoked salmon. Room are expensive so my expectations are higher, ideally would like cooked breakfast to be served earlier before 8am.....we are early birds. There is much in the way of local restaurants I n walking distance and didn't really feel able to eat in the main restaurant due to cost and did not feel like a formal set course meal....perhaps a snack bar would be helpful. Beautiful grounds and would consider staying again if it was cheaper

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Location is a positive, walking distance to the Eden Project, took us about 40mins and there is a discount on the entry fee if you walk or go by a bike. It is also a short drive to Lost Gardens of Heligan. There is also a pub 5 minutes walk where you can get a decent pub meal.
Unfortunately the hotel did not live up to expectations after reading some of the reviews on this site. At breakfast, we constantly had to ask for either cutlery, cups for our tea and on the first morning they got our order wrong. On two occasions we did not have hot water for a shower and I did tell the receptionist on the first occasion and he told me that maintenance will deal with it. No one from the hotel gave us any feedback or an apology, second time it was on the morning we checked out. I did mention this to the receptionist and got an apology only after forcing my point.
The room we stayed in need a big update and although the bathroom and bed sheets were clean, other parts of the room were rather grubby.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely weekend spent at this hotel. The location is perfect, an ideal base to explore the local area. The hotel itself is excellent with well fitted bedrooms & great indoor pool & hot tub. We really enjoyed the food in the hotel's exquisite restaurant & I can thoroughly recommend the starter of scallops, the best I have ever tasted. All the staff are very welcoming & provide a first class customer service. Tea & cake on arrival are also a lovely touch.
This was our second stay & we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed at Boscundle just before Xmas and again in January, Amazing food, rooms,and hottub, especially on a frosty winters evening.The staff were all very friendly and very efficientand I think the chef had won a prestigous award in the south west.Everything about Boscundle Manor is to be recommended, especially if travelling as acouple on aromantic break.

Room Tip: all of the rooms are very individual in decor and ambience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

In January I treated by partner to his 40th Birthday with a stay at Boscundle Manor. We were so impressed to discover on arrival they had left a specially made birthday wish to him. Also we had got a free upgrade. The room was gorgeous, amazing shower! And the outside hot tub was lush. The service was brilliant too. Thanks Boscundle for the wonderful memories, Cherry

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Peaceful hotel in a beautiful setting. Very nice, spacious room although a couple of minor snags in the bathroom (mirror light not working and one shower head broken). However these are easily fixed. The duty manager was excellent and provided friendly and attentive service throughout our visit. Food was outstanding in the restaurant and good wine list. Breakfast was a bit slow and we waited a while for the easy things (toast and tea), however, they were very accommodating of dietary needs (gluten free) and there was a wide selection of good quality dishes to choose from. We would definately go back again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa

Address: Boscundle, St Austell PL25 3RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#5 Family Hotel in St Austell
#6 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one mile from Cornwall's famous Eden project and set in 5 acres of its own private, quiet grounds, Boscundle Manor truly is a wonderful oasis in which to relax and unwind. The first thing you notice is that the building really is as pretty as it looks in the pictures and the welcome you get from the staff right through to the complimentary pot of tea and slice of cake, puts you instantly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant St Austell
Boscundle Manor St Austell
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant And Spa St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.