We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa to your Saves list
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boscundle, St Austell PL25 3RL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in St Austell
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“An enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was the first time that we have ever mini-holidayed in England, and I must say it was overall a very enjoyable experience. We are a familly of 4 with two young children

The Boscundle is a very picturesque and quaint little hotel. It is certainly children friendly. The pool and jacuzzi are excellent for splash and relax. We used them everyday.

We were very lucky as the weather was excellent whilst we were there.

The onsite restuarant is good, only niggle would be that it felt a little slow at turning around courses. Not a huge issue really.

Staff are friendly. Guest tend to keep to themselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    99
    22
    14
    6
See reviews for
78
286
10
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights at Boscundle Manor (25-27 Sep) and would like to recommend this well run lovely comfortable hotel. With only a small number of rooms this feels more like staying with friends than a hotel! From the charming welcome to our final breakfast we could not fault this establishment. Excellent indoor pool and outside hot tub, a superb chef and welcoming staff - would definitely stay again. Thank you David and Sharon!

Room Tip: The cottages are secluded and private. Rooms in the main house charming. You can't really go w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great nights stay here stayed in "Joanna" and was a very pleasant visit. We were slightly concerned reading reviews on here after picking Joanna but couldn't find any faults and were very happy with the room and service. It's very close to the pool and hot tub that we were the only users of! Hope to make a return visit soon as it's just a 5min drive to the Eden Project! Thanks :-)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Boscundle Manor was apparently built as a house for a local Mine Captain. It is now a hotel and spa (which we didn't have time to try), with pleasant grounds in which there are cottages with further rooms. We stayed in the house. Our room (Elizabeth) was a good size, with an enormous bed, its own dressing room and a door onto the garden. The bathroom was well-equipped, but just a little cramped - some danger of hitting yourself on a shelf. My mobile phone struggled to get a connection, but there was free and reasonably good WiFi. We had a good meal in the restaurant, and breakfast in a very pleasant conservatory. Staff were friendly and helpful. All in all, a very pleasant overnight stop, and we'd be very happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had a lovely room in the original building. Breakfast was 1st class - Not sure what the diet comment on another review is all about because you help yourself to cold items and the friendly waiter will get whatever you ask for on the cooked breakfast so no problem. We had an omelette one day and I defy any one to be hungry after eating one of those.
The pool is excellent and so is the Jacuzzi (even in the rain).
The room was always cleaned and refreshed towels and bed made every day
Location is good and we were able to visit everywhere we needed to go in Cornwall with ease. Parking at the hotel was sometimes challenging but we always managed to get a space.
A good experience and rated "Average" only because this is about the most I have ever paid for a hotel room outside of London and I have travelled a lot.
I know location is important and that is perfect but at this level of cost the hotel needs to be paradise and it is not quite that yet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We had initially booked Joanne in the cottage but changed to Jasmine after reading reviews. Quite a trek to the cottage through the grounds which need cutting back towards the upper half. Room average but disappointed in the shower which is very small and has old kitchen tiles in it. No extraction in the bathroom and window catch needing repair. No mini bar as suggested - but fridge in the wardrobe which limited area for hanging clothes. Double bed is actually twins zipped together and no quilt on bed just thin sheet with old blanket and throw. Bed very soft if that suits. Light switch across other side of room from entrance which is difficult when coming in at night. Same in bathroom - pull cord over other side of room. Bland decor compared to pictures of other rooms shown on website. Jasmine definitely needs improvements to reach its full potential but is secluded away from main hotel. Manor itself looked lovely and pool looked inviting. English breakfast ok if you're on a diet and was nothing special. Didn't get to meet any of owners/management over the 3 days despite us having to complain as woken on the first morning at 7.55am by dog in room next door - although the receptionist sorted the issue, no apology came from management. Car park full every night if returning when restaurant open and had to wait till restaurant customers left till we could park. Cleaners seemed to only refill tea/coffee tin each day - no clean towels or clean bed linen and not hoovered. Our main concern was that when you leave your key in box in reception that reception is not always manned and box not behind desk so anyone could access keys to all rooms, especially cottage rooms which were slightly secluded from main hotel which were not very secure either with inside of room on full show due to mostly single glazed frontage. Overall not an unpleasant stay but was disappointed as not as special as made out to be in website and reviews but perhaps manor bedrooms better? Staff pleasant but not as "friendly" as made out. Only a couple of receptionists and waitress on first day seemed friendly - ish. Was hoping to return with family next year but will not be now as have stayed in better places for less money. I only hope the management listen to people's comments and make improvements where required as then maybe it would be worth the cost. My review is mainly about cottage room jasmine so cannot comment on main hotel's rooms which may be better.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Arrival very good, tea and cake was a lovely touch. Unfortunately we were upgraded!! Room smelt of damp, (Charlotte garden suite), looked more like a boudoir than a hotel room. Food OK, luckily others in the restaurant so you don't have to whisper too much. No WiFi unless in the main house. Definitely wouldn't return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa

Address: Boscundle, St Austell PL25 3RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#5 Family Hotel in St Austell
#6 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one mile from Cornwall's famous Eden project and set in 5 acres of its own private, quiet grounds, Boscundle Manor truly is a wonderful oasis in which to relax and unwind. The first thing you notice is that the building really is as pretty as it looks in the pictures and the welcome you get from the staff right through to the complimentary pot of tea and slice of cake, puts you instantly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant St Austell
Boscundle Manor St Austell
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant And Spa St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.