We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and relaxing time at Boscundle Manor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa to your Saves list
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boscundle, St Austell PL25 3RL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in St Austell
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful and relaxing time at Boscundle Manor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Our 2 night stay at Boscundle Manor was a joy from start to finish. We have travelled a lot as a couple but this was the first with our 8 month old driving down from London . Staff were very friendly and motivated just what you like to see no matter what time of day we saw them. Arriving late at night we were offered an evening snack without hesitation and what a delicious plate of sandwiches they were too!

Claire Louise was particularly helpful and friendly and is an asset to the hotel as we're all the staff that made our stay very special

Our first night was Spent in the Agatha Suite which was a self contained cottage - a lovely room and private but we much preffered staying in the Emily room as it was more in the hub of the hotel and allowed us to use all the amenities pool spa etc without any issues with our little one.

Staff were great with the little one down to customizing the high chair and providing complementary swimming nappies! They really have got customer service down to a fine art

Finally the food - we ate dinner once at the hotel and it was quite simply one of the best meals we have eaten not only in hotels but in many restaurants in London so credit to the chef for such delicious and well presented meal.

The grounds are lovely and the entrance to the hotel makes you think 'this is going to be very special'

All in all would I reccomend Boscundle - if you have read this far I think you know the answer and with out a doubt we will be coming back next time we holiday in Cornwall.

Room Tip: Emily room is lovely if you don't need/want a bath as it has a shower only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    98
    22
    14
    6
See reviews for
78
285
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Another visit to this wonderful hotel and it never fails to impress. You are greeted like returning friends. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The facilties and rooms are first class and like most visitors, the hot tub and indoor pool are a delight and rarely busy. We had a part to attend at Eden, so didn't enjoy dinner this time but breakfast was again lovely. I cannot express how fabulous this hotel and staff are. A real benchmark for other Hotels!

Room Tip: in wetter weather, try and get a room inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had popped down to Cornwall for a last minute break over the weekend. Hotel all booked we came across a Travel Zoo deal for a 6 course taster menu at the Boscundle Manor.
With Travel Zoo, you have to phone the hotel or restaurant direct yourself and make the booking, not a problem, but we had left it a little late. So when we phoned the Manor to book ourselves in, they were already very busy for the night we required, but the lady on the phone checked with her manager and they squeezed us in for 8:30, a little later than we hoped but we were just glad we managed to get booked at all.
On arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly Maître De, who showed us through to the bar/lounge.
Pre meal aperitifs were ordered, before we were shown to our table in the main restaurant. My Gin & Tonic was the best presented drink I have ever had, the cucumber was shredded rather than sliced and what a difference.
Like the rest of the Hotel, the restaurant is decorated and dressed in a warm and friendly manner, you very quickly feel at ease.
Six courses were brought to our table over the course of the evening. From the Ham hock terrine to the Strawberry & Champagne jelly, every single mouthful was exquisite. I am not a big fan of Duck, but the Breast of Cornish duck deserves a special mention. I can’t imagine enjoying a better dish.
Towards the end of the evening, the last two dishes were served by the head chef herself, a bit different but not a problem, in fact, it made a nice change to prim donna Chef’s parading around at the end of the night.
Here I go again with my observations. But before I go on about the things I found strange or annoying, my wife and I will return to Boscundle Manor, in fact we have already looked at dates.
First think I found strange, the table we were seated at was right next to a beautiful chest of drawers, but on the top of this chest of drawers was a mini music system with an AUX lead plugged into an iPod mini. The music was fine for the setting, but the “cheap looking” music system with its two speakers sat on the floor was not. For very little money, a professional installer would be able to hide this system away and fit the speakers in a more discreet way.
Then there was the coffee. A 30 minute wait for two cups of coffee at the end of the meal is just a little too long.
The evening had been fantastic; the staff were all very professional, the food was beyond my expectations. So when we are the last people in the restaurant, why does it take so long to make a coffee?
But like I said. Observations. They didn’t distract from a beautiful evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for just one night with our two young children, we could not fault it and would have loved to have been able to stay longer. The room was beautiful and huge, with lovely fleecy sleeping bags laid out for the kids. The decor was exquisite and the pool and hot tub were a real hit. Inspite of the restaurant feeling fairly formal, they could not have done more to make us feel at ease with our over tired children being a little noisy and a little fussy. The little touches like the Molton brown minis and all the lovely choice at breakfast were really appreciated. Very welcoming and helpful staff too.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Sharon & David hosted our daughter's wedding weekend. They brought superb attention to detail, making the arrangements so easy for us and our guests. We felt as if we were having a large house party. All the staff were so discreet, yet gave full attention to everyone's needs and requirements. The food was outstanding, the rooms all one could ask for, making the occasion magical for everyone.

Sharon helped so much with advance planning, resulting in a perfectly smoothly organised wedding day, allowing everyone to take fully in the occasion. We cannot thank them enough

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

After an earlier disappointment elsewhere in St Austell this was superb. The welcome and the attention of the Hungarian barman/maitre d'hotel was excellent. This was even with a wedding party elsewhere in the hotel which he also handled with skill. Excellent food and wine and a really nice evening, he even phoned for a cab. Highly recommend but cannot comment on the rooms as stayed elsewhere. Will stay there next time in that part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

went for a birthday weekend .Stayed in the Agatha cottage in the grounds that are very well kept and very peaceful .Although there was a large function taking place we were very well looked after. We felt the staff were really quite splendid and nothing was too much trouble .The food was excellent ,probably the best kippers that i have had for breakfast!. We would thoroughly recommend it for a special treat.

Room Tip: Check whether you are in the main hotel or one of the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa

Address: Boscundle, St Austell PL25 3RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#5 Family Hotel in St Austell
#6 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one mile from Cornwall's famous Eden project and set in 5 acres of its own private, quiet grounds, Boscundle Manor truly is a wonderful oasis in which to relax and unwind. The first thing you notice is that the building really is as pretty as it looks in the pictures and the welcome you get from the staff right through to the complimentary pot of tea and slice of cake, puts you instantly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant St Austell
Boscundle Manor St Austell
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant And Spa St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.