We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa

Save Saved
You added Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boscundle, St Austell PL25 3RL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in St Austell
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I took my family to Boscundle Manor to celebrate my son's 30th birthday. They couldnt have looked after us better. The rooms were charming. Pool was fun and relaxing and we made good use of the outside hot tub. The staff were very attentive and the dinner superb. My husband and I are looking forward to returning very soon.
One of the best hotels I have ever been to.

Room Tip: We had Joanna which was accessed by outside stairs - so dont use if you have mobility problems or wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    278
    78
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
59
241
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Boscundle was a find of a lifetime! The room was superb, high quality fittings, fantastic bathroom. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. The food was the best we have experienced. We will certainly return

Room Tip: Emily is a beautiful room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Enjoyed a relaxing stay. Dog allowed in our cottage which was self contained in the grounds. Good value for large bedroom kitchen and lounge. Spa small but relaxing. Outside hot tub and indoor pool. No treatments available over the weekend so need to prior book. Service and food excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Enjoyed my stay- was on my own -in Enid a single room. Had a brilliant hot stone massage. Although I didn't book the treatment in advance I would strongly advise as slots get booked quickly. Also had dinner in restaurant and again excellent. Would revisit when in Cornwall- the best location for the Eden Project.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay very much and would certainly recommend it to anyone and will certainly return. Warm welcome, high standards of decor and quality food in a beautiful location. A very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peaslake, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Boscundle is a real discovery. I'm writing this in the restaurant there after a very good meal, beautifully served. It lacks the mannered excellence of a first class London or Manhattan hotel but it is way superior to anything else round here. I've stayed here many times and never had a bad experience. Service is more charming than highly trained, but the food is everything you'd expect from a place many times the price. Rooms are comfortable, some of them pretty small, all of them playing Classic FM as you walk in. Very handy for the Eden Project up the road - a great idea for a weekend away,

Room Tip: There is a honeymoon suite in its own villa in the garden. Worth a try even for non honeymooners
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

It's a lovely place to stay, you get looked after like you're their only guest! Lovely old house, i guess they have 14 or so rooms, with a beautiful and warm indoor pool, and a hot tub you can use anytime :-) It's no marriot, so if you like the big city busy hotels, this is not, but if you want a quaint relaxing place to stay, it's ideal.
Only bad points, the rooms are getting a little tired, our bathroom did smell a bit musty (we had the rebecca suite) and we couldn't get the shower to give warm water, (was really hot or cold) and the Jacuzzi bit of the bath didn't work, but like i said, it's not a newly built Hilton.

We stayed one night for our wedding anniversary, the dinner was lovely in the evening, (It's a small restaurant- a steak was £28 i think) the portions are small but beautifully presented, and music played gently in the background. They've got a super piano in the entrance hall too :-)

There isn't a particular view as such but that's why it feels so cosy. So it's 4.5 stars for me just because of our tired bathroom, but the service rounds it up to 5 stars (plus we got an upgrade as it was our anniversary!) Breakfast is one of the best i've ever enjoyed!

Room Tip: Each suite has a name to it, we had rebecca, was fine :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa

Address: Boscundle, St Austell PL25 3RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
#5 Family Hotel in St Austell
#6 Business Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just one mile from Cornwall's famous Eden project and set in 5 acres of its own private, quiet grounds, Boscundle Manor truly is a wonderful oasis in which to relax and unwind. The first thing you notice is that the building really is as pretty as it looks in the pictures and the welcome you get from the staff right through to the complimentary pot of tea and slice of cake, puts you instantly at ease. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant St Austell
Boscundle Manor St Austell
Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant And Spa St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boscundle Manor Hotel Restaurant and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.