We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality at a very reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langdale House

Save Saved
You added Langdale House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Langdale House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   1A Southbourne Road, St Austell PL25 4RU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top quality at a very reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Langdale house is an excellent B&B and well worth a stay if you're looking for comfortable, but affordable accommodation in the St Austell area.

I had the Fowey room, which was a reasonable sized double with very luxurious finish and an en-suite that is bigger than most family bathrooms! The bed was very comfy and the room had all you could need, including complementary (reliable) wi-fi.

Right from the word go the place felt very homely and Chris, the owner, made me feel very welcome and provided useful info on the local area. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful!

All in all a very relaxing stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
32
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Made a quick trip to St Austell,and was hoping to return same day, so hadn`t booked anywhere to stay, Langdale House was recommended by the staff in local pub, checked in to twin room, by couteous young lady, every thing about the Langdale was 5 star. I have never been in a B&B like it, the decoration and furnishings are first class, the beds are amasing, every thing was not only clean but sparkling, the en-suite had a proper shower cubicle, with a shower that really got you wet, this was also sparkling clean, all in all really first class accomadation, would recommend it to anyone. But maybe need to book in advance as I`m sure it will be full every night later in summer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I was warmly greeted by Chris on arrival with the offer of a cup of tea, which was exactly what I needed after 3.5 hours travelling.

On closing your bedroom door you can be forgiven for thinking you are in a hotel and not a B&B. The bedroom was well put together and the attention to detail, with the obvious womans touch on the decor and furnishings, is not to be ignored, and I can honestly say that I have never slept in a more comfortable bed.

What a stunning ensuite! Unusually the shower cubicle is very large as is the shower head, I could have stayed in there for hours. The shower cubicle also had the bonus of a handheld shower head, as well as the large fixed head, which is ideal for washing your hair if you don't want a full shower, or for showering the kids.

The delicious Full Cornish Breakfast, which was served in the light and airy breakfast room, was filling and kept me going for most of the day.

In short Langdale House is a must as a base for exploring Cornwall, and I for one will definitely be visting again!

Thank you Chris and Ameena for a fantastic stay x

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My father was coming down to celebrate my wedding anniversary, I was given details of Langdale House through some friends. Dad found the B & B to be lovely and clean and he had the room Valley View which it is, the view in the morning is lovely on a clear day you can see for miles. He enjoyed the large breakfasts which set him up for the day. He will definitely be returning here again when he next visits.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

me and my work buddies stayed in langdale house as we were working close by and only found it by chance on internet last minute,being the first guest i am so glad we did as it was the best b&b i've stayed in. Good points :- shower (amazing, fast) ,room (well decorated, comfy beds, large tv, beds made and changed everyday), wifi (fast, good connection), breakfast (very large, lots of choice) and the staff were very freinldy and couldn't do enough for you. overall it made our working week a pleasure and no doubt would return in an instant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed in Landale House for 3 nights, the owners Chris and Ameena were very kind and helpful during our stay, nothing was too much trouble. The room was beautifully decorated and the views were lovely and relaxing. The bed was very comfortable and we didn't wake up with a back Ache unlike many hotels. The en-suite bathroom was excellent with a drench shower which added to the luxury as well as the 40ich TV , plush carpets and wonderful Breakfasts. We would highly recommend Langdale House to stay and we hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This was such a great find, I stayed for business but would happily (and shall) return here for leisure. Warm welcome, comfortable beds, lovely bathroom, excellent breakfast, superfast Wi-Fi, the list goes on!

Can't recommend enough, thank you so much!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Langdale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale House

Address: 1A Southbourne Road, St Austell PL25 4RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Langdale House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale House St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langdale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.