We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff,food and setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie's Coffee House

Charlie's Coffee House
79 Charlestown Road | Charlestown, St Austell, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 107 Restaurants in St Austell
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely staff,food and setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We enjoyed a couple of visits to Charlies during our week in Charlestown. We were always greeted with a warm and welcoming smile. The cream tea was to die for, the scones were out of this world. Our waitress, Penny, seemed to know the area very well and was happy to pass on knowledge about local beaches to visit. The coffeehouse itself was immaculately clean and very well presented. Its definitely worth a visit, even for just a quick coffee.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    17
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Splendid lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Our lunch today was in the small coffee house. The service was quick and menu had a good variety of food. I ordered the chicken with sweet sauce. Afterwards I was directed to the w.c which wasn't that good. Flies were swarming inside due to the open door I know this isn't the staff's fault, it was the last person who used it. The toilets were a bit dirty in fact. Overall it was a good lunch.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleurtuit, France
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great light lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Great friendly atmosphere and lovely welcome from Anne.
A real home from home. We had the Paninni and Anne, our waitress, couldn't do enough to please and was really pleasant & chatty which made our lunch all the better given the fact that we were rather shattered from our strenuous day...........

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely little find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was a lovely find! We were looking for somewhere to stop for lunch and found this little coffee shop on Trip Advisor. The two lovely ladies at the coffee shop made us feel really welcome and accommodated the fussy requirements of our two sleepy children! We had a quick sandwich and a cup of tea and were on our way again in no time! A lovely atmosphere and great food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

The best prawn sandwiches in the World , great service and atmosphere , cosy & modern , thats not easy to pull off , the cakes look wonderful & the wife tells me they are , as I always have the greatest prawn sandwich ever made :-)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Coffee House also viewed

 
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Charlie's Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie's Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.