We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie's Coffee House

Charlie's Coffee House
79 Charlestown Road | Charlestown, St Austell, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 107 Restaurants in St Austell
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

What great staff and a great menu, beautifully served. They only specialise in a small menu, but for breakfast, lunch and dinner it is always excellent. A good reason to visit

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    17
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“What a little beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

How cute this little coffee shop is. Don't be put off by size as they are huge in terms of service and quality of food. Only problem is its hard to get a table as it is so popular. Great cakes and huge sarnies !!! I loved it !!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great environment and friendly staff.
There was a wide range of drinks on the menu, which was great. We were, however a little disappointed at the food menu, but had not realised there was another Charlies in Charlestown until after we left

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“More a 'doorstep' than a sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were 3 veteran 'teashop' visitors who had been here before so we knew what to expect, and were not disappointed. Staff for whom nothing was too much trouble, a cosy environment, scrumptious cakes, and sandwiches to take away which really hit the spot on the coast path. Among the best!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was our first time in Charlie's Coffee House, having been to the Boathouse down the road a few times, and really liking that thought we'd try here for a cream tea.
All I can say is why can't everywhere be like this? The staff were simply brilliant, it's a lovely place with a nice atmosphere and any thoughts of just a cream tea were soon gone once we'd spotted some of the food on offer.
The portions were massive, the food real quality and nothing too much trouble from the really friendly staff.
We went late in the day, as this place always seems fairly busy, but I can see why now!

We'll certainly be returning very soon!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Coffee House also viewed

 
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Charlie's Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie's Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.