We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for touring caravans but avoid the apartments.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Valley Holiday Park

Sun Valley Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun Valley Holiday Park
Save
You added Sun Valley Holiday Park to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Pentewan Road, St Austell PL26 6DJ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great for touring caravans but avoid the apartments.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here in an apartment to meet up with friends in a touring caravan. Although clean, our apt seemed to be decorated in the 1970s. The very old tv blocked access to the only window in the lounge so no view. Same tv lost sound around every 5 mins or so. Reported but not remedied. Bed rather hard and only two chairs so had to use our camping chairs when we had guests.
Staff were lovely and the site seemed very nice for tourers, with great showers.
Agree with others that you can easily miss the entrance as its not well signposted. Table tennis tables are idiosyncratic to say the least, having warped with the weather.
Didn't use other facilities.

Room Tip: Avoid apartment no2. Others may be gems, who knows???
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisawillumsen, Manager at Sun Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
many thanks for your comments,Sunvalley resort has recently been subject to new ownership
and we will be working incredibly hard to address all the issues mentioned in your reveiw.
A substantial improvement program is already underway including the purchase of new caravans,clubhouse updating etc and hope to continue onwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    19
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in the annexe to the bungalow for a week in August. The place was very big, good value for the size but the decoration and furniture were totally bizarre. Almost like when they knew they needed something, they went to the car boot sale and bought anything vaguely appropriate, irrespective of whether it fitted or matched.

The bungalow wasn't particularly clean and had a MASSIVE damp problem (which could be smelt) - we had a dehumidifier on 24/7 which needed emptying out twice a day (capacity 1 litre) - this wasn't mentioned to us upon check-in and to be honest is not really very acceptable.

Park is reasonably well situated for St.Austell and Mevagissey and is about 25 mins walk from Pentewan beach. The best beach (Caerhays) is about 8 miles away though - the helpful staff on reception will give you a leaflet on beaches if you ask.

(Stupidly) paid £20 for a week's wi-fi access - on the payment screen it warned that it was slow and would only be good for surfing and email. Fine, I needed it for work email. It was utterly unreliable and useless for 80% of the time. Shocking that anyone could want to charge for it. No mobile signal to speak of on the park either. The park across the road (Little Winnick) had fast wi-fi, so there's no excuse for Sun Valley having slow internet. Every phone junction box you drive past in St.Austell and the local area says that they have superfast fibre broadband, so they are ripping people off and lying to then, making excuses that the local area has slow broadband.

Other than that, the park was OK - not great, but OK. Staff are all nice and friendly. Club house is OK too, entertainment only twice a week and even then it's not amazing but what do you expect?! Reasonably priced beer though. Didn't try the food but it looked acceptable yet uninspiring.

Pool was pretty good for a park of this type. and was open until 9pm which was great.

Did I mention not to pay for the wi-fi? :)

I'd probably not stay here again as there are a lot nicer parks in the local area.

Room Tip: Caravans looked to be better than bungalows and apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunvalley R, Manager at Sun Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Sunvalley resort has recently been subject to new ownership
and we will be working incredibly hard to address all the issues mentioned in your reveiw.
A substantial improvement program is already underway including the purchase of new caravans,clubhouse updating etc and hope to continue forwards
With regard to your comments about wi-fi can i direct you to Highspeed broadband in Cornwall website where it will confirm to you that the local area broadband (pentewan) is indeed incredibly slow,and to suggest that myself or any of my staff would be "lying or ripping people off" is highly offensive.If another local park enjoys faster speeds it will because they have less users sharing it
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband, son(14) & myself spent the last week of August 2013 staying in a 2 bed holl.home. It was ready early which was nice BUT the shower was being repaired as we got there. Although fixed it was too small to hold the(unwinding)shower hose which frequently fell out of the holder during our stay. The pressure/temp control was a bit dodgy too.The remote control for the t.v/set top box was missing too. On reporting this a gentleman appeared quite quickly with a couple that didn't match the telly so obviously wouldn't work. He was very apologetic & when I suggested that they should have flat screens by now told me that the park was in the process of being sold which meant NO money was being spent by the owners at that time! We DO spend most of the day out & about but do like to watch a bit of T.V in the evenings which was next to impossible as the t.v was so old. It made an awful noise and couldn't pick up BBC 1 or 2 at all! The separate toilet was a bonus until we realised that a very nasty smell was emanating from it ALL THE TIME. Obviously the plumbing needed sorting out too! Although the indoor pool was a nice size, it was over chlorinated and the lack of a life guard was a worry. Despite all the signs up around the walls there were lots of unsupervised older kids in there: jumping, somersaulting and 'bombing' into the pool. Also playing with a football. When my husband pointed out that this was not allowed he was ignored. Health and safety anyone? I have to say that ALL the staff we spoke to/dealt with were lovely, and the parks location was fab'. The mile walk into Pentowan was great, the beach was nice but bitty/rocky,(wear beach shoes as both me & my son cut our feet). We did have food from the take away on the Friday night which was tasty and very reasonable.To conclude I hope that whomever buys Sun Valley has LOTS of dosh to spend 'cos it desperately needs a large injection of cash, and some major T.L.C. As is, its ok if you just want to crash, BUT if you want a bit more comfort you need to pay more and go elsewhere. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisawillumsen, Manager at Sun Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
many thanks for your comments,Sunvalley resort has recently been subject to new ownership
and we will be working incredibly hard to address all the issues mentioned in your reveiw.
A substantial improvement program is already underway including the purchase of new caravans,clubhouse updating etc and hope to continue forwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked this holiday park the week prior to our stay and it was all we could get. To start with you'd miss it if you blinked as the signing isn't very obvious from the road. When we arrived in our caravan it was clean but there was a damp musty smell which never really went. Also there is no allocated parking space for every caravan so it is a case of whoever gets back first. There was a car park not far away so it wasn't so bad luckily.

There isn't really that much to do on site for kids but fortunately my 10 year old daughter made friends the first day so she was entertained for the week. There's a decent sized pool which was warm and not too deep which we made regular use of. There's a club on site but only has entertainment two nights a week, even then there still aren't that many people in. The bar shuts by 11 and the children's play area shuts by 10.30. The bar staff were very friendly

There are tennis courts on site which stay locked, you have to get a key from reception and pay a fee to play. We played a few times but didn't notice many others using this facility. There's a shop on site for essentials but it isn't very well stocked. Fortunately there's an asda supermarket within a mile down the road.

I can't comment on the food or chippy as we didn't use them.

You can't get any phone signals on site at all but there are public phones near the entrance.

My daughter did have a good time and we did make the most of it but I don't think we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisawillumsen, Manager at Sun Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
many thanks for your comments,Sunvalley resort has recently been subject to new ownership
and we will be working incredibly hard to address all the issues mentioned in your reveiw.
A substantial improvement program is already underway including the purchase of new caravans,clubhouse updating etc and hope to continue onwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex. UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Clean, tidy and located to see all of Cornwall.

The caravan and park were all meticulously tidy, nice pool for kids, table tennis tables need to be inside and renewed.

Helpful staff. Th beds were very short in the caravan otherwise a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisawillumsen, Manager at Sun Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
many thanks for taking the tiime to reveiw,we hope to see you all again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We did not have a clue what to expect having not holidayed like this before. There was my husband our daughter, 2 other friends and their 2 children in an 8 sleeper caravan. We booked direct with sun valley who were very efficient. The caravan was well equipped with plenty of storage and seating for us and 2 bathrooms! shower was a nice size too. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The evening entertainment was great for the kids, the pool was lovely and warm and very clean, the whole site was well kept and it is all lovely and close by. Mevigissey is just down the road by car and well worth a visit. We all really loved this holiday from start to finish, fantastic! Note: actually on the site the reception for mobile phones and the t.v signal is not great which can be an advantage! we were down in the valley, perhaps a more elevated position of caravan would have more signal if required. We travelled out to visit places most days and had plenty of reception once off the campsite. Also there is an asda just down the road which we found handy to top up on food when required :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisawillumsen, Manager at Sun Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We are really glad you had a lovely holiday and hope you choose sunvalley in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a lovely park to stay at!! We have just come home from spending a lovely week at Sun Valley and I cannot fault the park and its staff. I would like to give a special mention to Ange and Abbie who are the kindest, loveliest people and helped us endlessly in a mix up with our booking. Both Ange and Abbie and the Manager couldn't do enough to help us, They were brilliant!!! My children loved the park, pool, amusements and soft play area within the park and spent all the time they could in the pool, which was lovely and warm. The clubhouse was lovely and the food was good. We will be visiting again and I recommend the park to friends and family. See you next year :))

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisawillumsen, Manager at Sun Valley Holiday Park, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
many thanks for the lovely review,very gratefully received and we hope to see you all again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Valley Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Valley Holiday Park

Address: Pentewan Road, St Austell PL26 6DJ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 29 Specialty Lodging in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Valley Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Austell in Cornwall is host to this Quality in Tourism 4star Holiday Park and AA 5 pennant Campsite. With landscaped grounds, indoor heated swimming pool, well equipped caravans and campsite, bar and Restaurant.Set in a stunning valley location close to all major sights in Cornwall ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sun Valley Holiday Park St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Valley Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.