We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lowen Behold!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bosinver Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bosinver Farm Cottages
Save
You added Bosinver Farm Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Trelowth, St Austell PL26 7DT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lowen Behold!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I recently stayed a winter week, a kind of creative retreat, at the wonderful low energy house that Dave and Pat have created at Bosinver. From the moment that you cross the threshold and are greeted by the screen detailing the energy currently being harvested from the ground pump and solar panels you know you have entered a very special space indeed. There is an immediate sense of warmth and welcome in this haven of tranquility, insulated from the outside world by the thick straw bale walls. It's hard for photos to do justice to the fantastic living space that those walls enclose. Even on a grim, grey late November day the house is flooded with natural light, largely down to the massive expanse of the central section of the pitched roof which is entirely glazed through the two stories of the building. Although it is an ultra modern structure it has a timeless feel to it and almost feels like it grew out of the ground of its own volition. The hefty oak beams which form the house's skeleton and give it this sense of rootedness were reclaimed from a former mental institution in Bodmin. Not only recycled, here they have undergone an almost alchemical transformation in providing the backbone of a house whose name, as well as being derived from it's Low Energy nature, is also the word for "happy" in Cornish. This atmosphere of cheerful well- being is enhanced further by the carefully chosen and fully coordinated colour scheme that carries it's gently uplifting theme throughout. Local materials and workmanship abound too - from the slate floor edged with beach pebbles to the individually crafted and hand wrought doors and latches and bespoke pieces of furniture, some of which appear to have been made of driftwood washed up on some cornish beach. A former milking stool now passes muster as a lamp stand and even saw service as the perfect laptop support for use while relaxing in one of the comfortable armchairs. Indeed, ease and comfort is what Lowen does best. Stoke the wood burner up, stretch out on one of the sofas and on a clear night you can gaze at the stars through that glass roof. Or sit on the terrace during a storm , protected from the elements by the eaves of roof and listen to all that water gurgling through the down pipe to fill the tank that supplies some of the grey water needs of the house. We even braved the cold to dunk ourselves a couple of times in the bubbling hot tub outside. Then at the end of the day one of those warm, extremely comfortable marshmallow- topped beds awaits. I guess it's obvious that I loved it here, as did the friends who were only to keen to make the drive from London to pay a visit once they'd seen the photos I posted online ! We''ll be back.....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    6
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
157
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in Veronica. Well equipped and beautifully presented. No problems with road noise.
Lovely walks in the grounds and plenty for the children to do. Cottages in good location and well spaced out with lovely gardens. Staff very helpful. A visit to the Eden Project is a must for all ages. Excellent good value food available in the restaurant there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here in September 2012 and it was a fab holiday, our nearly 4 year old son absolutely loved it and I'm quite sure we will be returning. The weather wasn't the best but it didn't stop us from doing anything especially the pony riding and feeding the animals each morning. It is a great location if you want to explore Cornwall. Newquay. Mevagissey and Padstow are not far. We stayed in Buddleia and it was perfect for us as we have a 10 month old baby that is crawling everywhere so as this was a bungalow we had no hazards of stairs etc plus we had the views of the paddocks and ducks coming to visit us eery morning for some crushed up Cornflakes. St Austell is a nice little town and has a great Soft Play for when the weather is bad. If you are thinking about booking then don't hesitate as this is a truly fab holiday and you'll kids will love you for taking them there!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My husband and I have been together for ten years and our only UK holiday prior to visiting Bosinver had been a particularly wet and miserable visit to Scotland. So it was with much trepidation that we booked our week in Cornwall with our little boy (18 months), deciding that we didn't want to face airport queues, delays, lost baggage etc with a little one.
From the moment we arrived at Bosinver we knew we'd made the right decision. We felt immediately at home in Rose Cottage, a very secluded spot, lovely decor and a really cosy cottage feel. We had traveled for 6 hours, so got little man off to bed and opened a bottle of wine to toast our first evening and husband ate 90% of the delicious cream cake we found in our fridge on arrival!
Up early, which gave us time to play with the toys thoughtfully provided in the cottage, before heading out to explore the play barn and walk the short distance to Polgooth to buy some supplies for lunch. (note; the path was a bit churned up following the wet summer we've had, so we struggled a bit with the buggy, but it was manageable).
We spent all of our first day exploring Bosinver, we tried out the big slide and zip wire, found the Gruffulo in the woods and had fun on the trampoline and in the play park. Our little boy was thoroughly exhausted and in bed by 6pm!
The rest of the week followed a similar pattern; up in time to feed the ducks, chickens, goats and sheep, collect the pony from the field in the mornings, then out to a local attraction in the afternoon (of which there are many). We visited the Monkey Sanctaury near Looe, the Eden Project, The Seal Sanctuary, Gweak and Lappa Valley. We also spent time on the beach.
Pat and farmer Dave are excellent hosts, quietly attentive to your needs and requirements, lots of useful information provided in the cottages and always ready to offer advice on places to see and things to do. You get a real feeling that they really care about their guests and this results in Bosinver being a wonderful place to stay.
We are not the type of people who like to return to the same place year after year and between us have clocked up quite a few stamps in our passports, however, Bosinver has changed that and we are already looking at dates to return next year.
This is a real family destination, where children and adults can share a sense of fun, relaxation and total enjoyment!

Room Tip: All cottages are beautifully designed and have excellent facilities, those further down the lane int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed with our 3 children (8, 6, and 1) in Trerose in August and this was the best family holiday we have had. The cottage was superb with excellent facilities and plenty of space for all of us. We were very impressed with how much there was for the kids to do at Bosinver itself: play areas, feeding the animals, adventures in the woods, and more. The soft play area with a treadmill for grown-ups is a great idea! We found plenty to do in the local area: Eden Project, lunch & shops at Fowey, beach at Porthpean, Lost Gardens of Heligan... we definitely did not want to come home! St Austell nearby has supermarkets etc within easy reach, but you can relax in your cottage with views of the countryside. If you're looking for a place to stay with a young family, Bosinver is definitely one to try.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place has a number of different cottages to rent to suit couples and families. Warm welcome from Farmer Dave on day one. Lovely clean cottage with modern facilities. On site activities for the children - feed the animals, egg lay, pony trek, indoor and outdoor play areas. Excellent

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a magical stay at Bosinver, we stayed in Well Close cottage, which looked out over the fields and had bunnies hopping around in the garden outside our window! The cottage was beautifully decorated and had everything you needed, from kites, games, toys, along with a very welcoming cream cake in the fridge for our arrival! Our 4 year old had plenty to do, trampoline, playground, indoor playbarn with soft play, outdoor pool, then a wood with streams, accompanied by zip wire, which the adults enjoyed, too! Definatly recommend to anyone with or without children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bosinver Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bosinver Farm Cottages

Address: Trelowth, St Austell PL26 7DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bosinver Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Gold award for best self catering in the South West Tourism Excellence Awards and Cornwall Tourism Awards 2012/3. Individual detached cottages sleeping 3-12 in a peaceful secluded valley near the sea, the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan. Excellent facilities for families including new indoor swimming pool heated by solar energy, sauna, play barn, adventure playground, zip wire, tennis court and fishing lake, woodland trails and friendly farm animals. Wild Kids Club sessions for den building, pond dipping and campfires in the wood. Award winning village pub and shop only a short stroll away. Mumsnet Best UK Self Catering 2013. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bosinver Farm Cottages St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bosinver Farm Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.