We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a traditional B&B with a warm welcome” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Karmary Guest House

Save Saved
You added Karmary Guest House to your Saves list
Karmary Guest House
Karmary Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Karmary Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   6 Carnsmerry Crescent, St Austell PL25 4NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 98 St Austell B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“a traditional B&B with a warm welcome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Karmary is traditional B&B about 10 minutes walk from the station on a quiet street. The decoration was slightly dated and the ensuite was small (although thoughtfully laid out with a decent shower): the only toiletry provided was liquid soap. Breakfast is ordered the night before. We didn't have the cooked breakfast: the cold breakfast was traditional including a range of branded (Kelloggs) cereals, toast, fresh fruit and orange juice. The proprietors were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
10
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This B&B was a great stay for three nights over the weekend- clean, very comfortable bed, tasty breakfast and Bill and Sue were lovely hosts. I'd definitely stay again and recommend it to others. One thing to note is that they have no card facilities, so you'll need cash to pay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My daughter and myself stayed here for 3 nights to visit some Daphne du Maurier haunts, the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan.

Bill and Sue were extremely accommodating and helpful, the room was clean and nicely decorated, with a clean en-suite shower. Breakfasts were really good, not greasy and cooked to perfection!

I would recommend this Guest House to anyone wanting to visit this charming area.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker you may wish to request an upstairs room as although rooms are non-smoking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was a very good B & B. It is comfortable, clean and very welcoming. Bill and Sue are very friendly and can't do enough for you. Breakfast was excellent and plenty of it.
I would stay here again to visit Eden and Heligan.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Lavington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just returned from a mini break in Cornwall and stayed here with Bill & Sue. Don't be put off by the outside becuase inside is so clean and comfy and so very welcoming. The breakfast sets you up for the day and is cooked to order. Our room was beautifully decorated with ensuite and balcony. Bill and Sue couldn't do enough for us and their local knowledge was helpful. I even came down to breakfast on my birthday to birthday banners and a card, wine and chocolates. My partner and I would truly recommend this B&B and will do !

Room Tip: Double with four poster with ensuite and balcony ! Go for it, it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights as we thought it was a perfect base to tour around the local area. We found that the room was very clean and spacious and we particularly liked the four poster bed and the balcony with sea views. We found Bill and Sue to be excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. The breakfasts were fantastic with a good choice of menu, which could be selected on a daily basis. There was never a shortage of toast on offer and Bills jokes which set us up for the day. We would strongly reccommend this guest house to anyone who enjoys good hospitality and wants value for money. We would definately stay here again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Not luxury but good value for money. We needed just one night when we visited the Eden Project which is just 15 minutes drive away.

Bill and Sue were good hosts, were ready for us at the time we said we would arrive (18:00). The en-suit room was clean, bathroom was clean and breakfast was very good too.

Can parking on the road outside without restrictions.

Tips: The small b&b doesn't accept card payments (at least at the time we went). So we had to walk to town to find an ATM.

Good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Karmary Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karmary Guest House

Address: 6 Carnsmerry Crescent, St Austell PL25 4NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karmary Guest House 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Karmary Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karmary Guest House St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karmary Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.