We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating tour and good beers!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Austell Brewery

St Austell Brewery
63 Trevarthian Rd, St Austell PL25 4BY, England
0845 2411122
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Activities in St Austell
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating tour and good beers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I had a jolly time at the St. Austell Brewery. The staff were friendly, helpful and made us feel welcome. We had tour guide Mike, who was quite opinionated and very entertaining. The tour itself was engaging and open - we felt we could ask questions and proffer opinions - and I came away knowing a lot more about the beer I was about to sample!

Sampling was a fun and almost theatrical experience with Mike behind his purpose made bar waxing lyrical about the pros and cons of a stout or an IPA. It also made me very enthusiastic about getting into the proper bar and trying the two half pints worth that came with the ticket price. I polished off a 1913 and a Trelawny and they tasted better with Mike's words spinning around my brain.

Couldn't have asked for more for the price we paid and I would love to return by train and make a full day of it!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    55
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I booked a tour here for my husband on a weekend away. His favourite pint is tribute and Mike made our tour so memorable a huge thank you for making our tour so interesting

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“all you need to know about brewing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

chose to do the brewery visit on a very wet Monday as it was all indoors, but enjoyed the experience immensley. our tour guide nick was a friendly host full of facts and figures, and he included everyone in his discourse. The sampling session proved popular with everyone and bar area is bright and welcoming. if you are looking for an unusual present, you can have a label made up for a variety different beers with your own personal message - excellent!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Samples, samples, samples!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We visited this brewery when staying with friends in the south of Cornwall. It was raining heavily at the time, so we went somewhere dry and warm!

Although we weren't able to go on a tour (they were all booked), we found the museum interesting and worth a look around. Amongst the information about the brewing process, we discovered an old invoice for hops that had come from just a few miles away from where we live. This was when large family groups travelled down from London to spend time picking and having a break from the city. Small world.

Although we didn't want any food at the time, an extremely helpful and friendly lady behind the bar (Anne? Apologies if the name is wrong. We were the group of 4 talking to the Australian lady on Monday 17th Feb) asked us if we wanted to try any of the beers. So, of course we said yes, expecting perhaps a small taster of each in a shot glass, maybe. What we actually got was a generous sample for each of the four of us for each beer. This was amazing and probably got any other visitors there thinking we were planning for a lock in. And of course, we bought quite a few in the shop downstairs...

Even if you don't try the beers, the brewery is a great place to visit and recommended. Though of course it would be a shame not to....

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent experience for all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Visited late yesterday too late for the tour but a really helpful lady gave us a tour of the museum and an insightful history which she did without requests. She kept the shop open past 5.30 so she ensured our personalised beer labels were printed and applied. Having suggested we visit the bar upstairs, we enjoyed the sampler beers.
This brewery has kept small and friendly at its heart. Amazing experience for grown ups and interesting to keep the little ones happy.
Review from our 6 year old "A real big fat YES".

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Austell Brewery also viewed

 

Been to St Austell Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Austell Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.