We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great way to spend a couple of hours!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Austell Brewery

St Austell Brewery
63 Trevarthian Rd, St Austell PL25 4BY, England
0845 2411122
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 29 things to do in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“What a great way to spend a couple of hours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We've been visiting Cornwall for many years and often said we should take the Brewery Tour but didn't, mainly because we didn't think our daughter would enjoy it. So this year whilst on holiday without her we decided we'd go. Took the tour on 12th August which was led by Grant. The tour is intended to take an hour but ours was closer to 1 1/2 hours. Grant made the whole experience very enjoyable, he was interesting and well-informed and took time to interact with the 12 people in our group. The tour ends with a sampling session of the excellent St Austell Brewery ales. You can sample as many or as few as you wish before exchanging your 'bottle cap' tokens, of which you get two, for 2 half pints of your favourite. The museum is very good and The Hicks Bar is a nice environment to spend an hour or two drinking real ale and eating good food. The bar is open to the public in the daytime to enjoy a well-kept pint or two even if you don't want to take the tour and the staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. On your way to and from the bar you pass through the shop where you can purchase a variety of wines as well as their beer and a variety of other items including local honey. The only thing I would like to point out is the tour is not accessible to anyone with mobility difficulties. We had a great time and returned later in the week just to drink more beer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    61
    4
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Cheers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Great brewery tour with a proper guide.
Good value-for-money food
Plenty of ales to taste and try,with a great view over the town and Cornish countryside.
All within ten minutes walk from rail station or bus service

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting visit... Make sure you book before you arrive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Visit on the 14th Aug for a booked tour led by Grant. A good 1 1/2hrs and really interesting - includes history of the brewery and tour of site and explanation of 'brewing'. Not suitable for mobility difficulties as lots of stair climbing in narrow areas and this is a working brewery so lots going on during the visit. Hicks Bar serves good food at reasonable prices or tea and cake. All staff were interested in ensuring tours went smoothly and visitors were having a good time. We enjoyed sampling the finished produce and tokens are given on arrival to exchange for a drink or 2.. a nice suprise. You need to book as tours fill quickly, especially on a rainy day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great visit great beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Arrived just after the 11.00 tour had set off but the young lady managed to get me on to the tour. Very informative guide (Mike) does seem to have a genuine love for his job and also for the older equipment that was still in the brewery. At the end of the tour free tasting of beer, recommend Tribute and also Proper Job, well stocked shop with prices not excessive as they can be in other attractions.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A brilliant afternoon out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

After attending an inexpensive, interesting and engaging tour at the brewery, we were not dissappointed with the service of the staff, the gift shop and the beer! Our tour guide, Grant, was very helpful as well as answering any questions we had. Hick's bar had a delightful atmosphere, and the free half pints of beer at the end of the tour went down a treat! A wonderful day out - we highly recommend it to anyone in the area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Austell Brewery also viewed

 

Been to St Austell Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Austell Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.