We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polgooth Inn

Polgooth Inn
Ricketts Road | Polgooth, St Austell PL267DA, England
+44 1726 74089
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 110 Restaurants in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, British, English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Award winning cosy Cornish pub situated in a beautiful valley near St Austell and the Eden Project serving great food, wine,ale, and coffee.
Lyon, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Absolutely amazing food, big portions & so fresh. It wasn't too expensive either. Really great atmosphere, cosy yet not stuffy. The staff were so friendly, too. I'd definitely recommend it, our waitress was the best. Superb!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
What a lovely review for us to read, many thanks for this. We are gald you enjoyed your time with us. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    162
    38
    18
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“first class service and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I experienced a tyre problem on the way and as such we were late in arriving. The staff were very sympathetic and held our table open. The manager kindly offered the use of the pub landline as I had no mobile signal.We had excellent food, with great service. Our waitress was extremely helpful with arranging a taxi during a very busy period. Many thanks again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
I am pleased that you managed to get to us after your problems and thank you for this kind review. Our staff always go that extra mile to ensure everyone has an enjoyable experience with us, please come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We had the inn recommended to us by a friend, so were expecting good things, however this meet our expectations and more. The service was excellent, Millie our waitress was polite, chatty and always smiling. The food was outstanding, cooked to perfection, hot plates and good portions. The staff in this establishment have been trained to an extremely high standard, excellent teamwork, communication and nothing was too much trouble. I have worked in the hospitality industry for over 15 years, and love to find an establishment that is ' doing it right' - keep up the hard work guys. We hope to visit again when we are next in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for finding the time to write these lovely comment's - I will pass them onto my staff. I am glad you found our food outstanding and filling, we take pride in making sure our food and customer service is exceptional and appreciate this positive feedback. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great people great food great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This fab pub has ticked all the boxes with an excelkent location top class menu and cosy atmosphere. Well done polgooth never fails to impress.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
This is lovely to read and very much appreciated, I am glad we ticked all of your boxes and you found our menu 'top class'! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Garry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Best meal we had in the week we stayed in Mevagissey. Wish we found it sooner. Fantastic service and very good value for money . Kids portions were good size.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polgooth-Inn, Manager at Polgooth Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for this kind review Garry, let's hope you get the time to visit us more often next time you are down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polgooth Inn also viewed

 
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Polgooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polgooth Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.