We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we had pubs like this at home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polgooth Inn

Polgooth Inn
Ricketts Road, St Austell, England
0172674089
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 101 restaurants in St Austell
Price range: $6 - $28
Cuisines: British, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Rural Pub set in a scenic valley, serving great food, ale and wine.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wish we had pubs like this at home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Ate here twice while on holiday last week. The food was absolutely fantastic, lovely to have really interesting specials to chose from as well as a really comprehensive pub food menu. It was very busy both times but we had a very short wait for food and there were plenty of staff so service was excellent. The ladies serving were so kind to my children, finding toys, books and colouring to keep them occupied. If we are in the area again I would definitely visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    267
    109
    27
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We have visited the polgooth frequently when we are in Cornwall and always had great service this visit I got engaged and as we had our dog we choose to celebrate at the polgooth and they made it really nice for us staff were great and good was amazing I'm very fussy about food but no complaints!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“what a hidden gem !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

the hidden gem of my local, always a friendly and comfortable place to have a drink and lovely meal. Yesterday was even more exceptional, following my meal of seafood pancake i tracked down the chef Jamie to praise and thank him for the outstanding flavours and pleasure i felt after enjoying his creation. all the staff are attentive and friendly nothing seems to be too much trouble. A place to recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This pub served great home cooked food in generous portions and a good variety of choice on the menu. It was busy, even on a monday night but even so we got prompt and friendly service. Would go there again.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

So good it's really busy - so book in advance. Really crowded while waiting for table but when got to table was quiet. Lovely food, good service and a lovely pub. Had been years ago so returned and wasn't disappointed. Would recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polgooth Inn also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Polgooth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polgooth Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.