We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Woodland Houses” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate to your Saves list
The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in St Austell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Launceston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Woodland Houses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed here afew weeks ago with some girlfriends in the Woodland houses for a short break. The accommodation was excellent really clean and tidy, very spacious and comfortable. Being from North Cornwall it was a perfect base to visit further down towards St Austell, Mevagissey, Charlestown and The Lizard and we had a great time. The grounds were lovely and there was plenty of parking. I didn't have any treatments so couldn't recommend, but the Spa Pool was nice and looked out onto the walled garden (which looked in need of a little maintenance). The only thing I found really frustrating was trying to find a locker that worked in the changing rooms! We spent a good 10mins trying to find a locker where the code system actually worked (a lot of them didn't) and this sort of detracted from the 'stressfree unwind ethos' of the hotel?? You're desperate to get in the pool, but trying every other locker in the changing rooms to see if it works was not particularly stress free and somewhat annoying. Apart from that I would highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
The Woodland Homes are great for getting away with friends and family allowing you do go at your own pace. Sorry about our walled garden, this has taken a bit of a battering over the wet months from January to March as the clay underneath has left this are rather soaked. We are currently experiencing issues with regards to the lockers in the ladies changing rooms which we will be rectifying shorty so our apologies for the frustration this has caused. Hopefully we will see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    468
    166
    79
    28
See reviews for
210
782
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A great hotel for a family break, set in a perfect location for exploring a lovely part of the south Cornwall coast.
The hotel is located just outside of St Austell in its own large grounds; on the road to Mevagissey, which is great to visit in the evening.
Our family stayed in two Woodland Hotel Rooms which are spacious and very well appointed. These rooms are positioned behind/above the main hotel and are connected to the main hotel. At £105 per room per night (B&B) in the Easter holidays, we thought these were very reasonably priced - especially with the added benefit of the very pleasant spa (pool, gym, sauna & steam room).
We found the staff very courteous.
The breakfast was fairly limited, but fine.
We ate in the restaurant one evening and the meal was very good, modern cuisine.
The only slight disappointment was the housekeeping; the room was perfectly clean when we arrived but it did feel that the quality of housekeeping during our stay was fairly limited.
All in all, an excellent hotel in a perfect location and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your break with us and thank you for your kind comments and review. Sorry that the housekeeping was not quite up to our normal standards, not wishing to make any excuses as we should and must deliver our best at all times, but we have been recruiting for a new head housekeeper who will start in May, so this will improve back to our normal offerings. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Lovely atmosphere, helpful staff & comfortable modern clean rooms. Food good, drinks overpriced & spa treatments pretty average I thought for what you pay. I've definitely had better. But lovely facilities including pool, steam room, sauna etc. Which you can use all day after check out too - great if you're only staying one night.

I'd definitely stay again as it was very relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. It would be great if you could get back in contact as we are keen to see where we can make further improvements regarding spa treatments as we always wish to meet and wherever possible exceed our guests’ expectations. Delighted that you will be returning again and hopefully it will be soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

I would not class this hotel as 4 star, there seemed to be a lack of maintenance throughout the hotel & spar area, too many things wrong to mention them all! I would say it is very much over priced for what you get & we would not stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
We were extremely saddened that we were unable to make your stay special and that we had failed in delivering your expectations. I am assuming that you stayed when we had taken on a number of new employees that we recruit to see us over the Easter and summer months. This is never a seamless transition and can sometimes stop our usual high service levels until the team are fully trained. Our sincere apologies once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We have stayed a number of times and the accommodation is fantastic and the food is excellent. This is a great location for accessing many of Cornwalls attractions. Be aware though that many of the attractions for kids do not open until April. We were disappointed on our last visit though as we were charged £10 per night for a travel cot when we had been advised it was £10 for the duration of the stay,

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
This was indeed an administration error on our part and for this we are truly sorry. The cot charge had been set to charge nightly rather than a one off charge. However, this should have been noticed by the reception team. We did, however refund the difference when you brought this to our immediate attention. Our apologies once again for this human error and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights - first impressions were ok, we drove through the grounds, which although a little shabby, gave a good vista to the main house.

The area was impressive and the reception staff were great - very welcoming and informative.

However, we were a little disappointed with our room. Although well equipped, comfortable and modern, we were surprised to find the bathroom in the bedroom (see photo).Whilst we're not prudes, it's far from ideal, not least from the steam point of view. Also, we had a nice balcony but it was let down by being very dirty - residue from the trees all over the glass front, the decking could have done with a good clean and the table didn't get wiped over until our second day. If we'd have had kids, we wouldn't have let them out on the balcony.

Cleanliness appears to be an issue as there were also large cobwebs in the corner above the bath.

The main restaurant was nice, the service was good and the food was fine. However, the bar lacked any atmosphere - the kind of place were you can hear everyone's conversation so as a result, everyone spoke in whispers, which just made the situation worse. It's a shame as the bar/lounge covers 2 rooms but they make you feel less than comfortable and as a result, it it hadn't been for the outside area, we wouldn't have spent much time there.

Also, if you like Irish coffees beware as the manager insists on making them with Bailey's, not whisky, even after finding a barman who would do them properly, the second ones came out with Bailey's - very sickly! Well done to the "trainee" (using the managers words) who made the drinks correctly the first time!

It's a shame as the hotel could be good.

Ps you also need a car as it's about 1.5 miles from St Austell and 5 miles from Mevagissy.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Sorry that we failed to meet your expectations during your recent stay here at The Cornwall and for the shortfall in service standards with regards to cleanliness, atmosphere and drinks. The grounds are in the middle of on-going work throughout the Estate after the winter storms. The bedroom type that you are referring to is our Superior Woodland Rooms, which has an open plan bathroom with separate WC. These rooms are like marmite; you’ll either love them or hate them, and is very much a personal choice. Our Deluxe and Luxury Woodland bedrooms as well as the Whitehouse bedrooms are of a traditional bathroom/bedroom set up. We do make every effort to mention that these rooms are open plan on our website and at the time of booking. We are currently waiting on a new head housekeeper, and I can only apologise that our standards have slipped, but we will be on the case once again when we have this key position filled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Aside from the obviously beautiful hotel itself set in great surroundings, the rooms, spa and bar area are all excellent and perfect for a romantic getaway which I had with my wife. But the thing that made the stay memorable was the staff, especially at reception who helped us greatly when we had a slight issue while staying and went above and beyond themselves to ensure everything went smoothly during our stay. Never reviewed a hotel before but felt compelled to after this visit and would like to congratulate the hotel on fine staff, especially Robyn on reception and the Reception Manager (whose name I forget sadly!). As well as this expect amazing views and superb breakfast and dinner. Best hotel in Cornwall!

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony view of front of hotel offer fantastic view of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CornwallHotel, General Manager at The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
We are overjoyed that as a result of your romantic stay with us that you had the need to write such a lovely review. We do, as a team, try our utmost to go the extra mile and as the General Manager it is music to my ears that Robyn and Sam (Reception Manager) certainly did this for you both. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning four-star hotel, woodland homes to buy or rent and a luxurious spa set in 43 acres of glorious Victorian parkland – The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate is a true haven, within touching distance of many of the county’s most popular beaches and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel Spa And Estate St Austell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.