We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inclusive dinner rip off.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate

Save Saved
You added The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in St Austell
Bristol
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Inclusive dinner rip off.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Met by a non smiling receptionist and given directions to our room. At these prices someone should show you up. Room was looking tired already with bathroom taps missing their tops and stains on a chair. Whole corridor smelt of wood smoke.
Pet hate is the "Ryanair" approach to inclusive packages. Ours was dinner B&B and was amazed to be given a menu that does not appear on their website, nor on the board outside the restaurant and is not available to any other diners. Very limited choice and you have to pay £2.00 surcharge if you want the meat main course. Why have table d'hôtel menus and then charge supplements? Why not just have 1 a la carte menu that every diner can choose from?
Very poor value and I most cetainly will not return not recommend it to anyone. Much nicer honest places nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    510
    388
    136
    63
    24
See reviews for
175
644
15
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely hotel! Spent one night here for my boyfriends birthday. Made full use of the spa, it was so clean and what lovely staff! Our car broke down on the way to the hotel worried that we would miss our massages we had booked I phoned up and they were booked in for the following day no problem. The room was very spacious with a balcony. Breakfast was super! Will be coming back here without a doubt.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Unfortunately, only stayed one night on business but would definately return here again. Hotel set in very spacious grounds, well signposted from the road. Room itself looked the part although found it took a while for the radiator to warm the room up (was off when I got there). Bathroom very good and clean - all amenities as you would expect. Cooked breakfast very good as well although the continental selection was limited. Room had a balcony (with ashtray for the smokers amoungst you) and was very peaceful at night. Good wifi signal throughout the hotel. Only slight complaint would be the long wait for check out, only 1 person on the desk and quite a queue. If that's the worst thing to report on....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in early February 2013 and overall had a great experience at the Cornwall Hotel.

On first impressions the room was excellent, a very good size with plenty of hanging space and room for our luggage. All of the furniture and fixtures were of a very high quality and the bed was huge and initially seemed very comfortable; later however we discovered that the gap/ridge in the middle of the bed was fairly prominent however the mattresses, pillows and duvet were actually rather nice. We could see that our room also had a balcony and were excited to discover the views which we would be able to enjoy the next morning. For the first few seconds we were really happy, but then the heat hit us!

The previous reviewer mentioned that their room was boiling hot on arrival and I have to say that this is one of the few complaints I have about our weekend break. We arrived on the Friday night quite late to find that our room was unbearably hot. I imagine that the radiator was turned up to full once the maids had finished cleaning the room earlier in the day. Well this would have been at around 12-1pm, it was now nearly 10pm and honestly you could barely breathe!

We searched all over for a temperature control somewhere convenient but had no luck. In the end, despite the fact it was raining, we had to resort to opening the patio doors as this seemed to be the preferable choice between getting slightly damp and asphyxiation. Before too long we'd found the only temperature control in the room, which is on the radiator itself; and very well hidden behind a very heavy desk. Eventually after having to crawl under the desk and bend my arm around a bit, I was able to shut off heat. Having left the patio doors open for half and hour or so, the climate had dropped to a habitable state; we closed the doors and had no need to touch the radiator again for the remainder of our stay.

The room was very well equipped with an excellent bath and shower, a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities and a flat panel TV and great wi-fi reception. A few small gripes here however! Firstly we were kindly provided with bottles of still and sparking water on top of the desk and a fridge which was switched on, but entirely empty. The bottles of water had been basking in the heat of the room for some hours and were really quite warm. I can't imagine that many of the hotel guests arrive in their rooms longing for a tall glass of teped water, so why these were not in the fridge is entirely beyond me.

We switched on the TV to find that many of the channels you might expect were entirely absent, or very flaky. BBC 2 was entirely missing, as was ITV1. BBC 1 and Channel 4 had stuttery reception at best, however a heap of the lesser known and seldom watched freeview channels had crystal clear reception. Something I was very pleased about however was that the TV hadn't been restricted to stop you from plugging in your own devices (unlike some other hotels I've visited), so if you've come to The Cornwall Hotel with a laptop or tablet with your own movies and tv shows then you'll be able to watch them on the big hotel screen without any hassle. Whilst we're on the positives, the wi-fi in the rooms and throughout the hotel was very strong and fast.

The following morning we headed down for breakfast and as many others have mentioned this is simply fantastic. Service was really excellent, there was ample choice and everything had been layed out so that it was very clear what you needed to do. In some 'help yourself' type breakfasts in the past it's been a bit of a free for all, with people pushing in and a huge queue for the toaster! The 'system' at The Cornwall is very well thought out everything was very well stocked, avoiding these common issues. Further it was apparent that most of the items had come from local suppliers and were of a very high quality. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast experience both mornings.

We went back to our room to rest for a while before heading down to the spa. The hotel provides a lovely selection of teas and coffee, however only small pots of UHT milk are provided in the room. There is however a sign right next to the kettle stating that if you would like fresh milk that you can simply call reception and they'll bring some up, so that's exactly what we did. Some 45 minuets later we were still milk-less and by this time house-keeping had knocked on the door to ask if they could clean the room. Somewhat disappointed and a little thirsty, we headed down to the spa.

On arrival it was clear to see that the spa was going to be a highly enjoyable experience. With the exception of two little gripes, lockers and seats. The locks on the vast majority of lockers seemed to be out of battery, rendering them useless un-lockable cupboards. Having eventually found a locker which functioned, we met by the pool and spend just over an hour enjoying the pool with a great view, the hot tub, steam room and sauna. There was plenty of seating available around the pool, however etiquette in relation to the seating was somewhat difficult to understand... with nowhere else to leave towels etc all of the seats were strewn with other peoples belongings and towels meaning you actually couldn't actually sit down to relax anywhere without first moving other peoples stuff. It wasn't clear what the 'rules' were and it would have been nice if towel rails or hooks could have been provided, allowing people to use the seats for sitting on. However those small issues aside the facilities and atmosphere in the spa are amongst the best we've experienced.

The final area to comment on is the restaurant. Making some allowances for the odd tastes in 'art' (a selection of somewhat bizarre portraits, one seemingly of a clothed father sat in front of his naked teenage son), as I accept this is entirely subjective, we had an excellent experience here too.

All of the food we ordered was truly fantastic. We also had to pay for a few supplements and order some potatoes to go with one of the mains, however at the end of the meal we were in complete agreement that any extras were very much worth the price. We also enjoyed some excellent cocktails and found the service in the restaurant to be of a high standard.

I'm aware that the bulk of my review has focused on some of the negative aspects of our stay, this wasn't quite my intention when starting out and I think the 'very good' 4 star rating is entirely fair given a balanced view of our stay. We would very much like to visit the Cornwall Hotel and Spa again in the future; so much of the very best Cornwall has to offer is right on it's doorstep and overall we had a very pleasant stay. If however management at the hotel happen to stumble across this review, please take these comments in the constructive manor in which they were intended and consider how these gripes could be solved or avoided for future visits. It wouldn't have taken much for our entire weekend at this lovely hotel to have been entirely perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for two nights in January. We got a deal through my partners work, that included breakfast, one nights dinner and full use of the leisure and spa facilities. From the moment we arrived we were impressed with the beautiful grounds, excellent service at reception and then our lovely spacious room. The spa facilities were great and we both had massages that we agreed were the best we had ever had. We also made use of the gym and the lovely infinity pool. The evening meal was of an excellent standard with service to match. Breakfasts both mornings were great, though they had run out of some choices. Overall we loved the relaxed , cosy feel to the hotel and did not want to leave!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I booked this hotel through Secret Escapes for my husband's birthday and got a good deal including dinner on the first night although you need to be aware that the Plat du Jour menu does have quite a lot of supplements on it.

The hotel is easy to find and there are two car parks although at night the lighting around the car park is not very good at all as we discovered when we went out to our car.

On arrival there was rather a large queue at reception and it seemed to take ages to get checked in although the staff did apologise for keeping us waiting. The lighting in reception seemed rather low for when you need to look at things and generally lighting seemed to be low throughout the hotel.

We had a superior room as part of the package and this was on the second floor. Whilst there is a lift it does not take you all the way and you have to carry your cases up two flights of stairs which was OK for us but some people would struggle.

When we got to our room it was boiling hot and we couldn't stand it so we turned the radiator right down and opened the door on to the balcony to cool it down. We didn't need to turn the radiator on at all for the whole stay.

The room was huge and well appointed with nice decor and looked out over a wooded area with the car park beyond. The bed was large and comfortable and we did sleep well. We found the idea of the shower and bath being open to the bedroom area a bit strange. There was a separate toilet and sink. We also had tea/coffee making and a refrigerator in the room.

We tried the spa area and found this very pleasant, we swam in the infinity pool and used the steam room. It wasn't too busy at all. I had booked us in for mini massage and we got a 20% discount as part of the deal. This was all a very pleasant experience.

Our dinner was served in the Arboretum restaurant and whilst the surroundings were very pleasant I wasn't impressed that the goats cheese tart had burnt pastry, I did tell the waitress who said she would report this to the kitchen. My view is that in a AA rosette restaurant burnt food should not come over the pass. Also the parfait was frozen solid and very hard to eat, I did also tell the waitress about this but was assured this was normal! We also had to pay a supplement to get some potatoes to go with the duck leg which only came with mixed green vegetables, his seemed to be a way of extracting money for something that should have been included as a basic meal.

The breakfast was served in the Acorn Brasserie and I must say it was absolutely excellent on both days and in many ways better than the dinner. Whilst it is a help yourself buffet the ingredients were excellent quality and freshly cooked. You could also choose other items from a menu such as poached eggs or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. There was also juice, pastries, fruit and toast. I recommend the Hogs pudding.

For the second evening we tried to book the brasserie but it was so busy we decided to go outside the hotel. Reception staff recommended going to Charlestown which we did and visited Wreckers restaurant and would highly recommend if you like fish.

Overall the staff were friendly but when we checked out no one asked us about our stay which we thought was a bit surprising, although again it was horribly busy and only one staff member trying to deal with everything for sometime before help came.

Nice hotel but you can't help feeling that for a 4 star establishment there was something missing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband an I stayed here for three days. The room was beautiful and spacious and kept lovely and clean.
The restaurants are well staffed and the food was superb.
We had lots of treatments at the spa and all the staff there were friendly and helpful.
We oils defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate

Address: Pentewan Road | Tregorrick, St Austell PL26 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Austell
#2 Romantic Hotel in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning four-star hotel, woodland homes to buy or rent and a luxurious spa set in 43 acres of glorious Victorian parkland – The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate is a true haven, within touching distance of many of the county’s most popular beaches and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cornwall Hotel Spa And Estate St Austell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cornwall Hotel Spa and Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.