We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horror stories” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlestown Shipwreck & Heritage Centre

Charlestown Shipwreck & Heritage Centre
Quay Road, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
01726 69897
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Attractions in St Austell
Type: Museums, Specialty Museums, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in an historic china clay building, this centre contains artifacts from more than 150 local shipwrecks.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“horror stories”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This Centre is explaining about the horrible ship accidents and the struggles the men at sea sometimes must go through

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    178
    47
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“A surprising afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Finding ourselves with an empty afternoon last Friday we decided to visit this shipwreck center. Before we left we read some reviews about the Shipwreck centre on here and were not excited to be visiting. We were pleasantly surprised!! Ok, so some of the displays are a bit dated and the dummies are not modern versions however it's a lovely place to visit and we learned about the local town - not just about ship wrecks. This new information made our walk around the harbour much more fascinating, trying to spot all of the secret things hidden from unknowing eyes. Also, our 13 Year old with Asperger's and ADHD was well entertained.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Ok, but a bit dated.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Thankfully not too expensive. Needs a bit of a lift, or at the very least a dust, as it looks a bit dated. However plenty to read and get to understand Charlestown a bit better. Don't get drawn in by the Titanic exhibition too much, its just a small part of the "tour" mainly with artifacts from Titanic's sister ships.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Plenty for all the family to enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Loads of interesting stuff in the museum but the children were so engrossed in completing their 'trail' that I didn't spend as much time as I would have liked! Well worth a visit whatever the weather.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Reminded me of suffering through school trips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It's ok and there are some very interesting exhibits and some not so interesting exhibits. There seems to be an unnatural love of the poorly dressed mannequin.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlestown Shipwreck & Heritage Centre also viewed

 
St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Charlestown Shipwreck & Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlestown Shipwreck & Heritage Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.