We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best.....2nd visit.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hillside House Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Austell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hillside House Guest House
Save
You added Hillside House Guest House to your Saves list
14 Hillside Road, St Austell PL25 4DW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 99 St Austell B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best.....2nd visit.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Not sure what I can add that hasn't already been said! Hillside House is simply the best ever! Stunning house, gorgeous bedrooms, divine breakfasts - Ellie and Dave, the perfect hosts in EVERY way. You have to stay here to believe it!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
135
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moers, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Hillside House and was absolutely perfect! We had a beautiful room with a wonderful bathroom. Ellie and David were perfect host and made us really fell at home. The breakfast was lovely, too. You can get everything you want. I liked Ellies porridge so much. Thank you so much for these wonderful days!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have just returned from a beautiful week in Cornwall. We stayed at Hillside House for 3 nights and it couldn't have been better. Great hosts, lovely breakfast (with an extensive selection!), stylish and beautiful rooms and house.

We would really recommend anyone looking for a base in Cornwall to stay here.
It's a boutique B&B where you can rest and feel at home.

Thank you Ellie and Dave! We'd love to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at Hillside House which must rank as one of the best B&Bs in Cornwall.

As I was unfamiliar with the area I picked out Hillside House based on previous reports on Tripadvisor and I’m happy to confirm all the superlatives in earlier reviews.
Our room was superbly decorated (the Polkerris) which added a real touch of luxury to our holiday. Nothing was too much trouble for our friendly hosts Ellie and Dave who were ready to recommend places to visit and restaurants to eat. (Be sure to visit 'Austells' in Carlyon Bay if you value good food and attentive service). As mentioned in earlier reports the breakfasts are also extremely good with lots of choice.

Definitely worth a stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

we stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Hosts Ellie & David are very welcoming and socially skilled, I have no doubt they would make even the most timid guests feel comfortable and at home. The house and guest rooms are very clean, well organised, furnished to a high standard, above all, everything works as it should. There is a no outdoor shoe policy in the house, which, from our perspective, is a welcome rule.
The breakfast menu is extensive, the food of excellent quality, well presented and plentiful.
Do yourself a favour, if you want a little pampering, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a lovely guest house, Ellie and Dave make you feel at home from the moment you arrive.

They went out of their way to recommend a walk (The Hall walk in Fowey), restaurants, taxi companies and other activities.

The location of the house is ideal, it is only a minutes walk from a bus stop which will take you to the Eden Project or about a 15 minute walk down to the train station. The room (Menabilly) was clean, comfortable and very well decorated. Breakfast was yummy and it was nice to chat with the other guests as well as Ellie and Dave in the mornings.

Thanks for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Although Menabilly has two single beds (both extra comfy), Dave and Ellie were happy to push these t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tromsø
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a pleasant stay i St Austell, very much because of Ellie and Dave. The room and breakfast were very good. Everything was clean and working. We felt really welcomed, and the hosts cared about you. The service was excellent, they even drove us to the railwaystation. We felt we stayed with friends.
The location very close to the town is perfect.
Jan Magnus, Norway

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hillside House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside House Guest House

Address: 14 Hillside Road, St Austell PL25 4DW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Austell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in St Austell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Guest House located close to the new town centre of St. Austell in Cornwall on the South Coast of the United Kingdom. Perfect location to visit all of Cornwall's major attractions. Ellie and Dave will give you a warm welcome and invite you to relax and enjoy their lovely home and make your stay, whether business or vacation, a relaxing and memorable experience. Ideally situated in mid-Cornwall to explore all the wonders Cornwall has to offer. After a comfortable night's sleep Dave and Ellie will greet you in the dining room where you can enjoy a hearty Cornish breakfast that will set you up for the day, whatever you choose to do. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside House Guest House St Austell, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hillside House Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.