We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally divine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austell's

Austell's
10 Beach Road | Carlyon Bay, St Austell, England
01726 813 888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 107 Restaurants in St Austell
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Austell's is an open planned restaurant with a raised level eating area for the guests to view the chefs working! We pride ourselves in innovative cuisine with an informal, relaxed service!
Truro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Totally divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We decided to take our little 14 month nephew out for his first restaurant experience! We were greeted by a lovely smiling Team of staff. The restaurant decor is beautifully contemporary and outstandingly clean with sparkling glasses. It's great as you can see the Chef's in action especially good if you're as fussy as I am about cleanliness! Little Jack had ham hock which he just loved, we also had a divine fish dish of bass, I had steak which was tasty and perfectly cooked and served. Fresh bread was served complementary, warm and interestingly tasty. The whole evening was superb in every respect. Food heaven. Thank you.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradcapa, Manager at Austell's, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thankyou very much for your review! is it possible for you to contact us regarding the seafood masterclass. regards brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    629
    49
    16
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“First class, top notch nosh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you judged this establishment on it's outside appearance you probably wouldn't set foot inside the door. It's part of a row of shops, that in all honestly look quite drab, but do not let this put you off. This restaurant is far from drab. From start to finish the restaurant was first class.

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly waitress who took our coats from us and offered us the choice of drinks at the bar, or to go straight to our table. We opted to go to our table. We could choose any table we wanted (you can even sit overlooking the 'open' kitchen to see your food being prepared). We actually chose to sit near a radiator as we'd had a chilly day exploring the Eden Project.

The service was professional, we felt very comfortable and relaxed the whole time. One of our party had special dietary requirements and the staff went out of their way to cater for her.

The food was exquisite! Very well presented and cooked to perfection.

For starters I chose gnocchi with goats cheese and almonds, my main course was a Cornish rump of lamb and for dessert I opted for the mouth watering caramelised lemon cream on short bread with a lemon sorbet (which was brought to the table 'flaming' to caramelise it)!

Highly recommended for couples, friends or families with older children.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Honeymoon evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

The most divine food we have ever eaten and we've eaten in some brilliant places! We arrived to a warm welcome and complimentary champagne served at the bar. The service was perfect and our waitress was so attentive. Our table was beautifully decorated for us making it so romantic and personal for us whilst away on our honeymoon. The home made bread was delicious, and my starter of belly pork and scallops was a dream! From start to finish the meal, atmosphere and service was perfect and we have already set to travel back and celebrate our anniversary. Highly recommended to everyone, and we traveled down from Wales following reviews on trip advisor and it was well worth it- thankyou Brett and Emma and all your wonderful team! X

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall,UK
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“As good as ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We ate at Austells for my bithday which happens to be Valentines day. This was our first visit since Brett and Emma returned last year. We avoided it in their absence due to bad reports with the other owners.
Its really as it was when they were there previously. Top class in every way.
We had the special Valentines menu on the Saturday night, and it was amazing. Each course was an assiette, for two, and consisted of a selection of incredible flavours in the shape of 'tasters'. It was really a meal with a difference, quite memorable. The starter was a selection of duck dishes, and the main was seafood based, followed by a delicious dessert offering.
I have never had a meal of this type before, and i hope they do it more often not just for Valentines weekend. I did hint this to Emma on leaving, so fingers crossed. I hope it was popular as its a great idea.
Austells is just superb, i just wish i had more birthdays so we can justify going there more often.
Silver wedding anniversary later this year so that will be a return visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Foodie's Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Situated in comfortable store front space this place is terrific. Just when I was really tired of overblown gastro-pub fare and over-the-top rich, poorly conceived restaurant food, we ate at Austell's. I was reminded that the British gasto-revolution had not gone completely awry. The food was excellent, creative, and made with fresh ingredients. I wasn't in the mood for any of the starter choices so asked the chef to make me a salad with the proviso, "surprise me"... and he did! It was interesting in both texture and flavor. The service is excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Austell's also viewed

 
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Austell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austell's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.